We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #260 of 457 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not my usual NY Hotel, but the location and one of the going deals made it a convenient choice booked at short notice - worked perfectly. Large room (especially for NY), sleek contemporary styling, responsive staff made the stay very pleasant indeed, and a great starting point particularly for those new to NY. My one issue was paying for a premium WiFi connection - I would expect a Hotel, particularly one marketing to business travelers, would include free WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,348
    1,829
    904
    344
    213
See reviews for
1,022
1,274
271
1,028
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Walking into this hotel, we were pleased by the modern and spacious lobby. The staff was very helpful and our check in was quick and seamless. The hotel room was a good size, and had everything we needed ( except maybe a coffee maker for the mornings). The bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely view of grand central station.
The biggest problem came when over the weekend the hotel played host to a dance competition on their ballroom floor. This meant that the lobby, elevators and hallways were overtaken by many young dancers and their parents, many of them not even guests of the hotel. A number of times we waited 6-7 elevators to find one that has enough room for us. What we found quite terrible was that the hotel staff allowed the dancers and their friends and family to essentially overtake the lobby during the competition, running around, and sitting on the floor, eating their lunches and basically lounging. We found that this took away from the nice ambiance of the hotel and really took away from the ability of the guests to fully enjoy the facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I was in the city on business and found the Grand Hyatt to be the least expensive 4 star hotel in the city. They recently remodeled and it looked it- the room was comfortable and large for NYC standards. Check in was easy and checking out was even easier. All the services were amazing except the concierge could have been more helpful but that's a small sacrifice for the value and location of this hotel. If you go - stop by the restaurant for a stake and fries - really really good. Also a well equipped gym if you are up for a work out. Definitely will consider staying there for my next trip.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

First let me say i travel globally and stay at Hyatt hotels all over the world. I have been a platinum member for a least the last five years , maybe longer. I have stayed in this hotel on three occasions over the past three years, once after its recent reservation.

How anyone could ever believe this a five star hotel is beyond me.

First. No 24 hr room service. I am not expecting a banquet after 11pm but it might be nice if someone could knock me up a sandwich.
Two. The constant delegation of responsibility to another person or team is annoying beyond belief. When i call a front desk i expect a single point of contact.
Three. Attitude. What i would expect from a three star hotel. Enough said.
Four. Services. No shoe cleaning , sparse toiletries that were hardly ever replaced. No shower gel but soap? It isnt 1950. Heating that is set to only go up so far so i froze the first two nights while they said they couldnt do anything. Then finally someone comes up and changes the setting so that it can go higher. Glad they did. I dint fancy sleeping in my clothes another night. The cleaning was ok for me but all my other colleagues said their rooms were filthy at least twice.
Five. Upgrade. My "upgrade" was to the room i paid for. My colleague who isnt a hyatt member got put in a suite and i got told nothing available. She checked in after me.
Six. Laundry. Hysterical. Took them two days to pick up one bag of washing.
Seven. The pinnacle. Get a note pushed under my door on Sunday night from the general manager stating that the room service wasnt going to be available for the next three nights due t renovation. I had been there for a week. Didnt they think to tell us sooner?

I am not a picky person but i know what i like. I know i dont like this hotel. There are a least five other hotels in the area that for fifty bucks a night more you dont have to take this nonsense. Do yourself a favour and stay in one of them.

Best regards

Room Tip: Stay at the setai or the library. Anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear IainBF,
I am very sorry to hear of your experience at Grand Hyatt New York. At your convenience, please email qualitynycgh@hyatt.com so we may speak with you directly and address all the issues you pointed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just back from a 2-night stay and very happy with my selection. Hotel is in a perfect location for travellers, I got off the LGA shuttle ($13) and it dropped me 50 feet from the front door. Check-in was a little bizarre as its mostly kiosks now with a person standing behind waiting for questions. The guys checking in next to me seemed to be a regular and he wasn't too happy with it but for me it worked. Less than 3 minutes and I have my key and up the elevator. Room was spacious and modern and it must have been a renovated room as everything was touch-type lights and updated. Furnishings were modern and I will say the bed was fantastic. Didn't eat at hotel but nice selection in the "Market" but a bit pricey. I walked down to the Grand Central Market (2 minutes) for snacks and you won't be sorry, wonderful. Lobby is buzzing much like the city so fun to people watch but noisy!!! I had no issues with the elevators. I will say you can walk anywhere in Midtown from here and the ease to get into Grand Central makes this place so convenient. Check out a breeze and the EWR shuttle ($16) was only a block away. Concierge had a small line but helpful. I would recommend the Hyatt.

Room Tip: They have a room choice selection on the check-in kiosk but of course it didn't work for me but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed there last October for 4 nights. Had a great stay and found the staff all very helpful. Our room was exactly and what we imagined from the pics on their site. The Hotel itself is in an excellent location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

In one sentence: it is good, but it is not five stars.

And now, all the details:

Location: Very good. It is connected with the Central Terminal Station, wich has a "shuttle" (subway with just two stops) right to Timesquare. And lots of trains and metro lines to everywhere. And tons of restaurants close by, with no need even to exit to the street. Very convenient.

Rooms: Good size for New York. Not as "brand new" as I thought, as the hotel says it is fully renovated. But not bad, regular, kind of four stars. Rooms are pretty clean, also, with acceptable service. My sister (and her husband) were first sent to an old (and ugly, bad) room, but she complained and got a very good one (better than mine, ouch!).

Internet: Works most of the time, good enough. Free at my room.

Club Room: Depending on your room, you get 24 hours access to Club Room. This is fantastic, you can get water, juice, fruits, different kinds of food, all day long. Nice for a stop before going to bed, or to start the day. Get it! But the gardes, as seen in the website, is not open during winter (and yes, I'd like it to be open to see the snow).

Service: Nice people, but the hotel is huge, and you may get a line.

Elevators: Horrible. At peak times, it may take 10 minutos to be able to get in an elevator. Don't even think of forgetting something at the room: it may take 15 minutes to go up and down again. Annoying.

Food: Surprisingly good at the hotel restaurant. I got some Thai Shrimps that were fabulous.

Concierge: Forget it, there is a line at all times. He wont help you very much.

Hall: Fun, it is so big, with so many people arriving and going, and waiting for other people, that is fun. It is definitely not exclusive, not five stars. It is very touristic, And there is even a "closing shop" with banners of "Going out of business, everything 70% off" that look like perfect tourist traps. Very weird. I wouldn't expect this even in a one star.

Transparency: I asked by e-mail if I could send some shipments (like from Amazon) to the hotel and they said just ˜sure˜, but didn't say they would charge for it. I found out at checkout. Price was OK, but should have been said in advance.

Taxis: Great, always available just in front of the hotel.

Price: It is expansive, but... it's New York. It is a reasonable price for New York.

Room Tip: I enjoyed Club Room a lot. If possible, get a room with access to the Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.