We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #259 of 456 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just back from a 2-night stay and very happy with my selection. Hotel is in a perfect location for travellers, I got off the LGA shuttle ($13) and it dropped me 50 feet from the front door. Check-in was a little bizarre as its mostly kiosks now with a person standing behind waiting for questions. The guys checking in next to me seemed to be a regular and he wasn't too happy with it but for me it worked. Less than 3 minutes and I have my key and up the elevator. Room was spacious and modern and it must have been a renovated room as everything was touch-type lights and updated. Furnishings were modern and I will say the bed was fantastic. Didn't eat at hotel but nice selection in the "Market" but a bit pricey. I walked down to the Grand Central Market (2 minutes) for snacks and you won't be sorry, wonderful. Lobby is buzzing much like the city so fun to people watch but noisy!!! I had no issues with the elevators. I will say you can walk anywhere in Midtown from here and the ease to get into Grand Central makes this place so convenient. Check out a breeze and the EWR shuttle ($16) was only a block away. Concierge had a small line but helpful. I would recommend the Hyatt.

Room Tip: They have a room choice selection on the check-in kiosk but of course it didn't work for me but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    1,764
    870
    335
    208
See reviews for
986
1,225
265
983
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed there last October for 4 nights. Had a great stay and found the staff all very helpful. Our room was exactly and what we imagined from the pics on their site. The Hotel itself is in an excellent location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

In one sentence: it is good, but it is not five stars.

And now, all the details:

Location: Very good. It is connected with the Central Terminal Station, wich has a "shuttle" (subway with just two stops) right to Timesquare. And lots of trains and metro lines to everywhere. And tons of restaurants close by, with no need even to exit to the street. Very convenient.

Rooms: Good size for New York. Not as "brand new" as I thought, as the hotel says it is fully renovated. But not bad, regular, kind of four stars. Rooms are pretty clean, also, with acceptable service. My sister (and her husband) were first sent to an old (and ugly, bad) room, but she complained and got a very good one (better than mine, ouch!).

Internet: Works most of the time, good enough. Free at my room.

Club Room: Depending on your room, you get 24 hours access to Club Room. This is fantastic, you can get water, juice, fruits, different kinds of food, all day long. Nice for a stop before going to bed, or to start the day. Get it! But the gardes, as seen in the website, is not open during winter (and yes, I'd like it to be open to see the snow).

Service: Nice people, but the hotel is huge, and you may get a line.

Elevators: Horrible. At peak times, it may take 10 minutos to be able to get in an elevator. Don't even think of forgetting something at the room: it may take 15 minutes to go up and down again. Annoying.

Food: Surprisingly good at the hotel restaurant. I got some Thai Shrimps that were fabulous.

Concierge: Forget it, there is a line at all times. He wont help you very much.

Hall: Fun, it is so big, with so many people arriving and going, and waiting for other people, that is fun. It is definitely not exclusive, not five stars. It is very touristic, And there is even a "closing shop" with banners of "Going out of business, everything 70% off" that look like perfect tourist traps. Very weird. I wouldn't expect this even in a one star.

Transparency: I asked by e-mail if I could send some shipments (like from Amazon) to the hotel and they said just ˜sure˜, but didn't say they would charge for it. I found out at checkout. Price was OK, but should have been said in advance.

Taxis: Great, always available just in front of the hotel.

Price: It is expansive, but... it's New York. It is a reasonable price for New York.

Room Tip: I enjoyed Club Room a lot. If possible, get a room with access to the Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was in New York City on business for a trade show. This hotel was wonderful! The room was beautiful, functional and honestly ranks as one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. The best part: I had a wonderful view of Grand Central Station and 42nd Street. While the room was wonderful, room service left quite a bit to be desired. I ordered the hamburger. Awful! The only other issue is that my room was quite noisy and it was very difficult to regulate the temperature in the room.

Room Tip: I'm be upfront and ask for a great view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

we choose the grand Hyatt for our most recent stay in NYC and I'm so pleased we did! This hotel could not be more convenient! The fact that its attached to grand central so great for the subway/trains, is a very short walk from Times Square and the airport shuttle bus leaves from right across the road are just a few reasons!
Our room was a grand king facing onto grand central and it was perfect-the bed was huge and so comfortable, there was a nice sized seating area with a table. The shower was fantastic, just what you need after a long day in the city, my only complaint about the bathroom is the location of the toilet roll-it's a little awkward to get to!
The room was cleaned all but one day (we got a memo apologising that not all rooms would be attending to due to the weather).
The staff on check in we're friendly and helpful-it rained heavily one day we were there and we we're given an umbrella to use free of charge.
On my birthday the hotel sent a card and a gift to my room! A very kind and thoughtful touch!
We left our luggage with the concierge after check out as we had a late night flight (this service was charged at $2 per bag), definately worth doing to save carrying things and/or wasting your last hours in this magic city!
I would definately stay in this hotel again (although next time I would request to be on the other side just for a change!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel just before the Northeast NEMO Blizzard. Great service and Great food! Location is fabulous! Highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Front desk staff is very helpful. Grand Club is excellent. 24 hour market is convenient. Access to Grand Central Station is wonderful! Special thanks to Allan & Todd.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect if you're into walking thru Manhattan, or if arriving or departing at central station. Hotel is too big and it may take a while to go down into the lobby at morning rush hour since elevators are not that big. Personnel has great service attitude, there is a small coffee shop in the lobby very convenient.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.