We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but has its flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #266 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but has its flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently stayed here for 10 nights whilst on our Honeymoon in NYC. The hotel was modern, clean and in a great location.

Positives:
- Location is one of the best points of this hotel, it is directly over grand central station and a quick walk to Times Square. Having never been to NYC I was glad to discover that it was a bonus not to be right in Times Square.
- The lobby is very modern and large, there is also a 24hour shop which is very handy.
- The reception/check in staff were very friendly and helpful
- Although the room was small we found it to be sufficient space for the 2 of us and 2 suitcases. The layout is well done the little couch area with the table was very useful.

Negatives
-House-keeping was very inconsistent - for the 10 days we stayed there they barely replaced the toiletries.
- The lifts are a nightmare - too bad if you need to get out in a rush. We waited nearly 15 minutes when a lift stopped going up and the guy told us to jump in and go up first because you would never get one going down (he said he had been waiting 1/2 hour).

Overall it was an enjoyable stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    1,800
    889
    342
    213
See reviews for
999
1,248
270
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
slovakia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have visited The Big Apple with my friend at the beginning of January. Superb location - right next to Grand Central Station. express check-in, but do not look for a traditional reception, but something like clerk stands. staff is very helpful. the lobby is very impressive. we had our room on the 25th floor (2518), away from elevators, quiet, nice and clean, 1st class beds!! the room was just the right size and we had a perfect view of the Chrysler Building. we had no breakfast at the hotel, but always went to Pershing square - the best breakfast in whole NYC! great value for money, would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Other than the location, I have no idea why so many people would choose to stay here. The room is small and decor is average at best for a 4 star hotel. The elevator is the worst, every time when I was there I needed to wait for at least 3-4 full load before I could get on with my group. The lobby is grand and the doorman is very good at getting you a taxi if you tip good. The location is the best in NYC, after all , it's right next to Grand Central. A ton of good Asian restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I last stayed here in October over Hurricane Sandy and was very impressed with their preparations. I was curious about how they have changed 3 months later....

The important aspects of this hotel hasn't changed. It's still right on top of Grand Central Station convenient to Times Square, Macy's, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, UN and the subway. The hotel has nice, clean rooms; greeters when you ride up the elevator in the afternoon; June Jacobs toiletries (instead of the Portico); 24 hour health club; refrigerator in-room and very efficient service.

Some things that were new: RFID cards for room keys so you just wave your card for access. The Boxing set-up removed from the health center.

I still had the impression that the renovations were not quite complete: The mat in the lobby was worn -- not exactly a nice welcome as it is the first thing you step on. The TV in my room was a little off-balance so it took a little getting used to. The sofa was not flush against the wall because of all the wires stuck in the back. Very little details that come with trying to renovate hundreds of rooms as fast as possible. But it looked like they finished up the elevators so they didn't look as tired as last year. Still waiting for all the mattresses to be upgraded -- they are starting to feel a little worn.

All in all, this is a good property to stay while in NYC if you want easy access to mid-town Manhattan and it is just a short subway ride downtown on the 4 or 5 train.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are small. Rooms with a view also face the street and can be noisy. As for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a beautiful suite on 32nd floor. Location is very convenient, just above Grand Central Terminal. Lots of shopping nearby and easy access to NYC.
Hotel was clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable and pillows were just right, especially after the nightly turndown service that included chocolate. Not a huge fan of the "touch" light switches but I appreciated the full dark shades.
Hotel room service was excellent (hand-tossed pizza; local salad; mac & cheese; burgers - they got it just right).
And one of the best ideas: an in-house 24-hour casual takeout restaurant offering everything you could possibly want, from coffee to fresh baked goods to dinner items to full-size bottles of wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just came back from a weekend stay. Our room was on the 32nd floor overlooking Grand Central Station. The room was big and clean and super comfortable. I liked the little seating area by the window -- a comfy couch and a table that I could also use as a desk. The staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful, beginning with Noel who checked us in. The restaurant staff, bartenders, cleaning staff and concierge were outgoing and accommodating. I felt like we didn't need to ask for anything -- they just knew how to make everything (which was great to begin with) even better. I would definitely recommend this hotel and am going to be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second time round at the Hyatt. The hotel experience was better than the first time as it had been refurbished since our first visit.
Our room as was the 24th floor with a view of facing 42nd Street and Grand Central. Rooms very clean as usual. Bathroom immaculate.
Great location, centrally located and just a short walking distance from Time Square.
Stopped off at the bar overlooking 42nd st a few times to rest our feet after a long day.
Recommend the concierge for theatre, restaurant and other attractions.
We also upgraded to the club lounge access located on the 16th floor. Great for quick drinks and nibbles..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#189 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.