We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location - standard conference hotel finishing up renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #258 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Convenient location - standard conference hotel finishing up renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I last stayed here in October over Hurricane Sandy and was very impressed with their preparations. I was curious about how they have changed 3 months later....

The important aspects of this hotel hasn't changed. It's still right on top of Grand Central Station convenient to Times Square, Macy's, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, UN and the subway. The hotel has nice, clean rooms; greeters when you ride up the elevator in the afternoon; June Jacobs toiletries (instead of the Portico); 24 hour health club; refrigerator in-room and very efficient service.

Some things that were new: RFID cards for room keys so you just wave your card for access. The Boxing set-up removed from the health center.

I still had the impression that the renovations were not quite complete: The mat in the lobby was worn -- not exactly a nice welcome as it is the first thing you step on. The TV in my room was a little off-balance so it took a little getting used to. The sofa was not flush against the wall because of all the wires stuck in the back. Very little details that come with trying to renovate hundreds of rooms as fast as possible. But it looked like they finished up the elevators so they didn't look as tired as last year. Still waiting for all the mattresses to be upgraded -- they are starting to feel a little worn.

All in all, this is a good property to stay while in NYC if you want easy access to mid-town Manhattan and it is just a short subway ride downtown on the 4 or 5 train.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are small. Rooms with a view also face the street and can be noisy. As for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    1,720
    846
    332
    200
See reviews for
964
1184
263
952
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a beautiful suite on 32nd floor. Location is very convenient, just above Grand Central Terminal. Lots of shopping nearby and easy access to NYC.
Hotel was clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable and pillows were just right, especially after the nightly turndown service that included chocolate. Not a huge fan of the "touch" light switches but I appreciated the full dark shades.
Hotel room service was excellent (hand-tossed pizza; local salad; mac & cheese; burgers - they got it just right).
And one of the best ideas: an in-house 24-hour casual takeout restaurant offering everything you could possibly want, from coffee to fresh baked goods to dinner items to full-size bottles of wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just came back from a weekend stay. Our room was on the 32nd floor overlooking Grand Central Station. The room was big and clean and super comfortable. I liked the little seating area by the window -- a comfy couch and a table that I could also use as a desk. The staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful, beginning with Noel who checked us in. The restaurant staff, bartenders, cleaning staff and concierge were outgoing and accommodating. I felt like we didn't need to ask for anything -- they just knew how to make everything (which was great to begin with) even better. I would definitely recommend this hotel and am going to be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second time round at the Hyatt. The hotel experience was better than the first time as it had been refurbished since our first visit.
Our room as was the 24th floor with a view of facing 42nd Street and Grand Central. Rooms very clean as usual. Bathroom immaculate.
Great location, centrally located and just a short walking distance from Time Square.
Stopped off at the bar overlooking 42nd st a few times to rest our feet after a long day.
Recommend the concierge for theatre, restaurant and other attractions.
We also upgraded to the club lounge access located on the 16th floor. Great for quick drinks and nibbles..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was a walk in and was welcomed by a warm staff who proved to be excellent at what they do.

The Grand Hiatt has apparently just be renovated. The lobby resembles a set from the Matrix combined with Eastern Island sculptures. A lobby is one thing but for me the room is all that counts. And although comfortable, the rooms needed more attention to engineering.

For example, the lighting is a new high tech system. It operates in strange ways. Maybe I needed more time to learn the system, but why should travellers be called upon to do that?

The bathroom is another example. The sink has a shelf above it that makes it difficult to wash your face without dropping water on the floor. Don't designers check these things?

They also installed a pie plate sized shower fixture which decided to launch itself at me when I turned the water on. A look at the coupling indicated a design that was destined to fail.

The walls are also thin. Through the night I was part of every conversation that went by the door and there were many.

The staff were apologetic about the shower head and gave me a discount but management needs to give the place a rethink. Some really expensive were mistakes made with the reno.

On the plus side, there is a handy food shop in the lobby and it is through a door to Grand Central Station.

Room Tip: Get one at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you're looking for a great conference hotel or just a big place to be anonymous, the Grand Hyatt is posh and in a beautiful location, right next to Grand Central Station in midtown. Rooms are surprisingly large and updated. Beds very comfortable. Service very good, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pros:
-Location- central to anywhere in New York.
- Fast lifts
- Comfortable king bed- decent sized room

Cons:
- Unreliable hot water- in the evening, it took 5 mins to get hotwater- the wait for hotwater was so long it prompted calls to reception. When there is hot water, it sometimes drops out and would come back on again.
- Small/ basic bathroom- way below Hyatt standard
- I have agreed to pay $100 for a late checkout at 5pm but found my keys did not work after 2pm. Back down to reception.
- Empty Mini Bar but there is a 24hr kiosk in the lobby.
- Room service was super expensive- there is an additional $5 to bring it to your room + 18% service charge on top!!!
- Have to pay for internet

Tips:
- There is plenty of breakfast options in the area- after all you are at Grand Central.
- Direct bus from Newark to Grand Central

It really is a business hotel.

Would I stay here again? Probably yes for business if the price is attractive.

Room Tip: There is plenty of cheap eat options near grand central
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#175 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.