We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes the designers need to listen to the engineers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #256 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sometimes the designers need to listen to the engineers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was a walk in and was welcomed by a warm staff who proved to be excellent at what they do.

The Grand Hiatt has apparently just be renovated. The lobby resembles a set from the Matrix combined with Eastern Island sculptures. A lobby is one thing but for me the room is all that counts. And although comfortable, the rooms needed more attention to engineering.

For example, the lighting is a new high tech system. It operates in strange ways. Maybe I needed more time to learn the system, but why should travellers be called upon to do that?

The bathroom is another example. The sink has a shelf above it that makes it difficult to wash your face without dropping water on the floor. Don't designers check these things?

They also installed a pie plate sized shower fixture which decided to launch itself at me when I turned the water on. A look at the coupling indicated a design that was destined to fail.

The walls are also thin. Through the night I was part of every conversation that went by the door and there were many.

The staff were apologetic about the shower head and gave me a discount but management needs to give the place a rethink. Some really expensive were mistakes made with the reno.

On the plus side, there is a handy food shop in the lobby and it is through a door to Grand Central Station.

Room Tip: Get one at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,221
    1,688
    837
    330
    197
See reviews for
941
1167
263
938
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you're looking for a great conference hotel or just a big place to be anonymous, the Grand Hyatt is posh and in a beautiful location, right next to Grand Central Station in midtown. Rooms are surprisingly large and updated. Beds very comfortable. Service very good, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pros:
-Location- central to anywhere in New York.
- Fast lifts
- Comfortable king bed- decent sized room

Cons:
- Unreliable hot water- in the evening, it took 5 mins to get hotwater- the wait for hotwater was so long it prompted calls to reception. When there is hot water, it sometimes drops out and would come back on again.
- Small/ basic bathroom- way below Hyatt standard
- I have agreed to pay $100 for a late checkout at 5pm but found my keys did not work after 2pm. Back down to reception.
- Empty Mini Bar but there is a 24hr kiosk in the lobby.
- Room service was super expensive- there is an additional $5 to bring it to your room + 18% service charge on top!!!
- Have to pay for internet

Tips:
- There is plenty of breakfast options in the area- after all you are at Grand Central.
- Direct bus from Newark to Grand Central

It really is a business hotel.

Would I stay here again? Probably yes for business if the price is attractive.

Room Tip: There is plenty of cheap eat options near grand central
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I visited here back in March 2012 and the whole place was lovely, check in was very easy and the room was spotless with a great view. We didn't use many of the facilities inside the hotel has we where on a sight seeing trip of New York but the deli downstairs was handy for a coffee on the way out in the mornings.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Awesome rooms, great location. Worth it! Right next to grand central. Lobby is huge.
Always find you a taxi. Bryant park so close and best atmosphere. Times Square is short walk away and so is 5th avenue. Rooms are expensive but Hyatt is worth it. We stayed in New Years time and New York was so packed with people but this place was relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I read a lot of reviews on trip advisor about the Grand Hyatt. I figure if more than half the reviews are good then it must be OK.

What I didn't expect was the grandeur of the foyer, the incredible level of service, the size and the quality of the room the the awesome-ness of the location.

What a fantastic place! An absolute must stay hotel and the best place to see NYC. Price is on the high side, but with good reason, not ridiculously expensive though and definitely worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at the Grabd Hyatt for 4 nights in Jan . I can t fault anything about the hotel except maybe the drinks in the hotel bar are abit on the pricey side bug it's sort of to be expected .

We arrived at the hotel around 2pm (4pm check in) but were let into our room straight away no problem . The room was spacious and very clean. We had a problem with the room safe as it wouldn t lock on our code so phoned up the front desk and in minutes someone from security was there trying to fix it, he was unable to so called for a locksmith , again he arrived shortly after and eventually the safe was replaced for a new one . From top to bottom the staff were very pleasant, helpful and extremely effecient .

Location is excellent for all main attractions . (times square is 5 blocks away , only a 15 min walk ) which is past 5th and 6th avenues .

If I return to NYC , I shall be booking up at this hotel .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Spa Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.