We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #256 of 446 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very good hotel, great location. The lobby area is very spacious and plush. The staff were very accommodating as we had to stay some extra nights as our flight was cancelled. The rooms are a good size for New York and have recently been refurbished. Very clean and comfortable. The price for wi-fi is a little bit expensive, should be included in the room price. The Empire State Building is only a 10 minute walk away, Grand Central Station is next door so great transport links. The rooms are very quiet. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,097 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,170
    1,623
    783
    325
    196
See reviews for
832
1070
252
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed there with a friend who got a free night on credit card points or something. He had told the hotel ahead of time that we need 2 beds.The staff must not have been quite ready because they originally gave us a room with only 1. Then they proceeded to give us an upgrade to a Jr. suite.

I'm not sure how much this would otherwise cost but it was upscale with fancy touchscreen lighting and 2 TVs. Can't say the same for the 2nd bed. Apparently they use these portable beds for situations like these. Man these things are uncomfortable! You can feel the coils all over. Still, I'm not complaining becasue the price was certainly right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife, my two children (6 and 3 yrs) and myself stayed at the Hyatt in early December 2012. We had booked one room (regency club), 2 beds and requested a crib. Noted on the reservation was the fact that we would not be arriving until after 9PM. The problems began when we drove around in circles looking for some indication of how to find valet parking. After solving small inconvenience, we arrived and checked in. During the check in process at about 10PM, my wife again asked about the crib and was assured we would have one. We arrived at our room and what do you know -- no crib. My wife and 3 yr old stayed in the room and my son and I went to the Regency Club (open 24hrs) to get some juices and snacks. After using the pass key to get into the Regency Club the only things we could find that were not locked up were water, coffee and nuts. Upon calling the front desk and speaking with the front desk manager, we were informed that while the Regency Club was open 24hrs., at 9PM all items except those previously mentioned were locked up until the morning. When I stated that this was unacceptable since they advertised open 24 hrs I was told that was the way it was and if I wanted something I could come down to the lobby and purchase those items.

Now to the room -- if you try to turn around in the bathroom you have to have the door open or you will hit something. The lighting of the room is touch pads on the wall, which would be ok if you had a tutorial on how to make them work or how to stop them from turning back on after they are turned off.

We had scheduled a 2 night trip, but dreaded the hotel so much that we left early (5pm) on Saturday. Since I had used points for the stay, I requested the points be returned to the account and was politely told simply "no" by both the hotel and the points telephone service.

Overall I will never stay at this hotel again. Hyatt used to be such a wonderful system and you knew what you would get, but we probably would have been better off at a budget hotel. I have been disappointed with Hyatt on a whole new level.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear DaveB91,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review here on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry for the poor experience you had with us during your stay and your review has been shared with the hotel’s managing team. We would like to address your concerns directly; please email us at qualitynycgh@hyatt.com (RE: Front Desk Manager) so we can rectify the situation. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Was our 2nd time staying at the Hyatt and this time it was our honeymoon. The place had had a facelift and looks amazing the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and did everything possible to make our stay/honeymoon a enjoyable one. Ideally located and has all you need within walking distance as well as the main shopping areas and some of the main attractions. We cannot wait to go back again. I will always stay at the Hyatt when visiting the Big Apple. Thanks to every1 at the Hyatt especially Jillian who made our stay extra special. Perhaps I'm not as fussy as some of the people who right reviews or perhaps they are to picky. You cannot fault this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

we stayed here to do a bit of xmas shopping from the uk, there where me and my wife and our friends, we had slightly different views on the hotel. the things we agreed on where the rooms where clean and a decent size although no bath. all facities where good. i liked it because you were not pestered all the time, where as our friends like a more personnel service. we all agreed it was hidiously expensive to eat and drink there though. location couldnt be bettered for us though, i would be happy to stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were upgraded as soon as the reception realised we were staying for a week. Very pleasant room with huge bathroom and walk-in wardrobe. Sofa, table chairs, storage etc. all of very high standard and the room was cleaned spotlessly - we left the maid a tip every day which may have helped.

View from the window was of an office building rather than Manhattan but the room was quiet - we were not aware of any problems at all with noise from the lifts or other rooms.

The concierge staff were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful over every little thing: "The best comic store sir? Certainly that would be Midtown Comics on Lexington. Shall I call them to expect you sir?"

It's next to Grand Central which had one nice burger joint and some very dodgy food outlets but a wonderful place to people watch. A very pleasant walk up 42nd St to Bryant Park and Times Square in fact the hotel was ideally situated for the central NY sights. We didn't eat in the hotel as the prices were a bit steep but it is a NY hotel and we expected that. No problem though as there were many places to eat from 'posh' to burger within 5 minutes walk and dozens around Times Square a bit further away.

We had a great time and would recommend the experience to anyone.

Room Tip: We were quite high up away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had read some reviews about the check in process being cold and impersonal... My experience was just the opposite. Evone checked us in and could not have been nicer or more helpful. In fact the all of the check in staff seemed very helpful. Just ask for what you would like and they go the extra mile to accommodate. Our room is nice and a good size for a family of four.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
Hyatt Hotel New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#231 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.