We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #271 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good hotel good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

we stayed here to do a bit of xmas shopping from the uk, there where me and my wife and our friends, we had slightly different views on the hotel. the things we agreed on where the rooms where clean and a decent size although no bath. all facities where good. i liked it because you were not pestered all the time, where as our friends like a more personnel service. we all agreed it was hidiously expensive to eat and drink there though. location couldnt be bettered for us though, i would be happy to stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    1,909
    963
    363
    216
See reviews for
1,071
1,323
275
1,080
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were upgraded as soon as the reception realised we were staying for a week. Very pleasant room with huge bathroom and walk-in wardrobe. Sofa, table chairs, storage etc. all of very high standard and the room was cleaned spotlessly - we left the maid a tip every day which may have helped.

View from the window was of an office building rather than Manhattan but the room was quiet - we were not aware of any problems at all with noise from the lifts or other rooms.

The concierge staff were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful over every little thing: "The best comic store sir? Certainly that would be Midtown Comics on Lexington. Shall I call them to expect you sir?"

It's next to Grand Central which had one nice burger joint and some very dodgy food outlets but a wonderful place to people watch. A very pleasant walk up 42nd St to Bryant Park and Times Square in fact the hotel was ideally situated for the central NY sights. We didn't eat in the hotel as the prices were a bit steep but it is a NY hotel and we expected that. No problem though as there were many places to eat from 'posh' to burger within 5 minutes walk and dozens around Times Square a bit further away.

We had a great time and would recommend the experience to anyone.

Room Tip: We were quite high up away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had read some reviews about the check in process being cold and impersonal... My experience was just the opposite. Evone checked us in and could not have been nicer or more helpful. In fact the all of the check in staff seemed very helpful. Just ask for what you would like and they go the extra mile to accommodate. Our room is nice and a good size for a family of four.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night from 12/26-12/27. The hotel is right next to Grand Central Station which, of course, is very convenient. However, it makes it very busy and loud. You get noise from people and noise from honking vehicles and sirens from emergency vehicles. The woman who checked us in was nice and gave us a king room, 3012. The rooms, by NYC standards, are good size. The design of the rooms are modern and ugly in my opinion. There's a huge wall size mural on the back of the bed and the room is painted an ugly pewter color. The carpet is black with small pinstripes. If you like modern design then maybe you won't mind. There's an ironing board and hairdryer but no luggage stand or coffee maker. I am seeing less and less coffee makers in NYC hotel rooms, very disapointing. The bed was comfortable but had 3 postage stamp sized pillows. For a king bed you need larger pillows and more of them. The bathroom was average size but had a small sink with a shelf above it that I almost hit my head on when I bent down to wash my face. There was also toothpaste splatter all over the wall next to the sink (gross) which I ended up cleaning. The toilet is an industrial type with a loud flush. It was ugly, loud and didn't even flush properly. There are plenty of 4 star hotels in NYC, I would choose another one next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Jellyd,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a pleasant check-in experience but are sorry to hear your accommodation was not to your liking. Your comments will be shared with the managing team and addressed properly. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt between Friday 21st Dec to 25th Dec 2012.

Location. Very good. Central easy to find. Easy walking to Rockafella and Times Sq.

Transport links. Next to Grand Station, JFK to Hotel by taxi $52.00 plus $6.50 toll and tip at 15%. 30 to 40 mins away. Never used underground.

Room. Large queen bed very comfortable. Fridge and safe. Had room 3167 away from road noise and lifts. Essential if you are a light sleeper. Bathroom small but adequate. Air con noisey and flush very noisey. TV Good

Lifts : Quick and easy. Never waited long

Check in/out. Simple efficient. Can leave bags at $2 per bag if plane departs after check out. Check out 11:00 am

Breakfast: Available across the road under the arches. New Yorker breakfast ) two toast, jam butter, coffee, fresh orange, and two eggs with bacon and fried potatoes $17 each plus Taxes and Service charges 16% $42 in total.

Wifi : Avaiable at cost or free at cafe or Starbucks two/three doors away and at any Starbucks.

Tours : Use the RED bus tours , 48 hr hop on all tour bus was $44 each plus $10 if you wanted to add the night tour. Tours sections last 2 hrs.

Rockerfella Centre; $30 each including two photos emailed to you. Go early or book. Remember you need a clear day and the direction of the sun for photo's.

Macys easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Away from lifts and high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've stayed at Grand Hyatt in June 2012 and this hotel is great. Its location is priceless having a private access to Grand Central.
Everything looks pretty new (not sure when it was reformed) - the room was perfect, the lobby and receptions are great not to mention the staff which was really helpful and educated.
Check-in/check-out were fast and without surprises.
Did not have a chance to check other services like swimming, Gym etc (not even sure what they have).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here during Christmastime. It is a very elegant and well-run hotel in a perfect location for transportation. Room was very nice and very quiet. Hotel service was excellent - thanks to Lan at the front desk - well done! Beautiful lobby. My only caveat is that it was crazy busy - lounge, restaurants, elevators all were packed. It seemed almost oversold for the hotel's ability to handle people. But I guess that is Christmas in mid-town. Well-done again Hyatt, thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#227 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.