We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As described on the packet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #261 of 449 hotels in New York City
Northampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“As described on the packet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt between Friday 21st Dec to 25th Dec 2012.

Location. Very good. Central easy to find. Easy walking to Rockafella and Times Sq.

Transport links. Next to Grand Station, JFK to Hotel by taxi $52.00 plus $6.50 toll and tip at 15%. 30 to 40 mins away. Never used underground.

Room. Large queen bed very comfortable. Fridge and safe. Had room 3167 away from road noise and lifts. Essential if you are a light sleeper. Bathroom small but adequate. Air con noisey and flush very noisey. TV Good

Lifts : Quick and easy. Never waited long

Check in/out. Simple efficient. Can leave bags at $2 per bag if plane departs after check out. Check out 11:00 am

Breakfast: Available across the road under the arches. New Yorker breakfast ) two toast, jam butter, coffee, fresh orange, and two eggs with bacon and fried potatoes $17 each plus Taxes and Service charges 16% $42 in total.

Wifi : Avaiable at cost or free at cafe or Starbucks two/three doors away and at any Starbucks.

Tours : Use the RED bus tours , 48 hr hop on all tour bus was $44 each plus $10 if you wanted to add the night tour. Tours sections last 2 hrs.

Rockerfella Centre; $30 each including two photos emailed to you. Go early or book. Remember you need a clear day and the direction of the sun for photo's.

Macys easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Away from lifts and high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,236
    1,709
    840
    335
    200
See reviews for
888
1128
260
904
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've stayed at Grand Hyatt in June 2012 and this hotel is great. Its location is priceless having a private access to Grand Central.
Everything looks pretty new (not sure when it was reformed) - the room was perfect, the lobby and receptions are great not to mention the staff which was really helpful and educated.
Check-in/check-out were fast and without surprises.
Did not have a chance to check other services like swimming, Gym etc (not even sure what they have).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here during Christmastime. It is a very elegant and well-run hotel in a perfect location for transportation. Room was very nice and very quiet. Hotel service was excellent - thanks to Lan at the front desk - well done! Beautiful lobby. My only caveat is that it was crazy busy - lounge, restaurants, elevators all were packed. It seemed almost oversold for the hotel's ability to handle people. But I guess that is Christmas in mid-town. Well-done again Hyatt, thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Huge hotel so you don't get personalized service, but it's in a great location, adjacent to Grand Central Station on 42nd and Lexington. It's a simple walk to the subway where I take the "S" train to the Times Square area which is a short walk to the office. It's worth it to get a room on the club floor where there is access to the Grand Club. The club serves breakfast and evening light finger food and desserts. It is a perfect place to get some work done or just relax with a glass of wine or cup of coffee. I have stayed here for years and never get tired of people watching in the lobby. On nice evenings, I walk back to the hotel which is - again - all about the location!

Room Tip: 31st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I hadn't stayed at this property for many years (don't go to NYC that often any more) and was looking forward to visiting again. The hotel had been completely remodeled to a very modern style. When I checked in, they said I had been "upgraded" to a room on the club floor. Turns out, being on the club floor no longer means you get access to the club lounge. I did go inside briefly before I knew this and it's definitely one of the nicest I've seen. The club floor is also above the smoking floor and the smell leaks up. The room furnishings were pretty nice, but the room was not clean. Not some dust on things, not clean, but sticky stuff on the table and crumbs on the floor not clean. Very disappointing for a room in this price range. The location above Grand Central Station is convenient, but I won't be staying here again any time soon.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the club floor, if you're a non-smoker - the smoking floor is directly b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear DragonLady13,

Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry to learn of your stay and on behalf of the Grand Hyatt New York, I apologize for your experience. It is our number one priority to provide top-notch customer service and premium accommodations. I am glad you liked the new Grand Club lounge. Please know I have shared your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper. We greatly value your feedback as this helps us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights finishing on Christmas Day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby is vast, and very modern. It's not cosy but is very sleek, and has a large seating area to just sit and relax. There's always a throughput of people, it's obviously a well populated hotel.

Location wise, is a couple of blocks from 5th Avenue, and about 5 from Times Square so really accessible for tourists. It's right next to Grand Central Terminal, so handy for the subway.

We were fortunate that the hotel gave us complimentary breakfast as we're on honeymoon. The food was delicious- the portions were huge and everything was homemade in the kitchen you can see from one side of the restaurant. The service was friendly if a little slow at times.

The rooms were clean and well appointed, although we were disappointed as there was a lovely large chest of drawers in front of the window meaning we couldn't really look out. The sofa and table in front the tv is nice- we sat in and had dinner one night which made a nice change. The bathroom is small, and the sink was a little difficult to access. A rather bizarre observation but the toilet roll holder is built back into the sink cabinet and was awkward to get to.

Overall, we had a lovely stay here. It provided us with a little luxury from which to base our explorations of NYC

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

as any newyorker you will enjoy everything because you are closed to everything. Excellent area location
Hyatt is very designed , modern design. Forget if you looking for a similar style such as waldorf. Here everything is glass and steel, and the result is great, absolutly amazing
Room service as faster as superman even for a glass of water and still smiling whatever you requested
A little bit expensive anyway but this is nyc
Good job guys

Room Tip: high floor or nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Amex so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.