We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, location, quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal!
Ranked #256 of 446 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great room, location, quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt for business over a weekend in November. Starting with the check in, the service was fantastic. Door men were friendly. Desk agents were great! Seamless, short lines, quick service. Lobby was large, attractive with very interesting decor. Large statues and light features in the lobby made quite the impression. In addition to the hotel services, there was a nice, albeit expensive, store in the lobby providing food and other items. Free coffee there was a nice touch!

We had a corner room that was fantastic! There was a living area with a couch, a desk, and a king bed. The room was very modern, sleek and tasteful! Bathroom was spacious, particularly for NYC standards.

Location is the best part of this hotel. On top of grand central, it is close to every form of transportation in the city! Additionally, there are lots of nice stores in the station. Close to Bryant Park skating rink and stores, Times Square, restaurant row, mid town businesses, Hell's Kitchen bars, 5th Ave shopping. Although touristy, loved having the options this location provided.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suite was large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,171
    1,625
    784
    325
    196
See reviews for
834
1070
252
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First timers and seasoned New York visitors will find that Grand Hyatt's proximity at Grand Central Station will provide easy access to anywhere in the city. Times Square is just a quick subway shuttle ride or take a walk around the corner to the Grand Central Market for an awesome variety of fresh gourmet food, baked goods, quick snacks or an array of ideas to bring home. I highly recommend the Grand Hyatt's Regency Club rooms which provide access to their lounge serving continental breakfast, and afternoon appetizers. Snacks and soft drinks are made available throughout the day. Although the rooms are less spacious than most Hyatts, esoecially the bathroom, I would definitely stay there again as it's location trumps any shortcomings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a great hotel the staff very helpful the rooms are large modern clean& comfortable with a large walk in wardrobe that also had the room to hold our two large and one small suitcases without you falling over them every time you went in the wardrobe , the bathroom was standard but clean,tidy & well stocked ,,in the living area there is also i seating area with a sofa and table . And a large kingsize bed , although this is a busy part of midtown our room was on the 18th floor and did not find the traffic noise to be a problem a great base to explore New York you could be shopping in 5th ave within 10/15 minutes walking and time square within 20/30 mins walk, I would use this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We took a shopping trip for a few days to New York and booked this hotel as part of a package. The foyer is huge and check in was easy. We were on the 23rd floor and we had booked an executive double room. The bed was huge, the room was small. The bathroom was ridiculously small but did have toiletries and a hairdryer. There was a fridge in the room but with nothing in it. We went down to the coffee shop in the lobby and bought some drinks i.e. water etc and I found it really dear. Not as dear as when we went for a drink in the bar and a small glass of white wine and a soda water was over $20. It does have a nice view of the street but you certainly pay for it.
The location however is outstanding and you can walk to 5th Avenue and Times Square in minutes. It is also part of Grand Central Station that has its own eclectic choice of shops.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are surprisingly quiet and have a good view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

As with many reviewers here we found that the location couldn't be beat. We purchased a $29 7 day subway card and were able to zoom around the city knowing that we could return to the hotel easily whenever we needed. Although in a busy part of midtown I didn't find traffic noise to be a problem and I am a very light sleeper.

The hotel itself was OK but nothing amazing. On checking in there was a delay while they tried to locate a room for us but we were soon on our way to the 27th floor. The room itself was huge - far larger than the one I paid 3 times as much for at the Peninsula a few months earlier. There was a small sofa and table area plus a walk in wardrobe which had plenty of space for our two large suitcases.

The bathroom was tiny but that wasn't an issue - after all, how much time do you spend in the bathroom!?

The let downs though were as follows:

The vent in the bathroom let freezing cold air in. As the bathroom door was about 3 feet from the bed this meant that unless the door was tightly closed I was freezing in bed! It also made for a very cold exit from the shower in the morning.

Also, although the hotel had recently been renovated it appeared to have been done on the cheap in some cases. The table was not held together securely as the top was just glued on - when you tried to move it the top came off!!

Overall it was a perfectly good (if somewhat cold) place to lay your head at night and the location made getting around Manhattan very easy. If the price was right I'd probably stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We based ourselves here to explore New York - fantastic location, great room, friendly staff. Disappointing not to have complimentary wifi, but Starbucks was just down the road. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC, Brazil
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's a very nice hotel, with a good location in Midtown Manhattan. The reception is wonderful, modern and the staff is usually helpful. Rooms, beds and the bathroom are small considering the hotel price, but very comfortable. The restaurant is modern, with a menu minimalist (and I didn't like it). I missed a "real" breakfast! However, overall is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hotel Hyatt New York
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
Hyatt Hotel New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#231 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt New York to your Saves list