We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blakely New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Blakely New York to your Saves list
The Blakely New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our stay at the Blakely was more than we expected. We pulled up front to check in and the front doorman directed my husband to the garage next door to park. We were easily able to go back to the car for forgotten items such as jackets and chargers. Check in was quick and easy. We stayed in a Jr. Suite. It was very big for NYC, clean and decorated traditionally. During our stay the noise outside was minimal, our rooms were kept spotless and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars was its breakfast. The breakfast was at the sit down restaurant and you had to wait to be seated if the tables were full. The breakfast was the same continental food each day, that was not well stocked. We do not eat gluten, so our choice was just fruit and yogurt, which was nearly empty. The coffee was not refilled. Another lady tried to refill it herself, but was told not to touch the carafes. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, the rooms are excellent and mostly quiet and they are kept spotless, so I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: A Jr. Suite is well worth the extra money. It had two double beds and a sleeper sofa that sleeps on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    317
    56
    17
    10
See reviews for
244
271
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have always had excellent stays at the Blakely. We like the convenience of it's location and is easy to get to, as we drive into the city. Just pull your car up right in front of building and drop your bags off then pull into the parking garage right next door to them.
You are just a quick walk to shopping on 5th Av, the Rockefeller center and St. Patrick's Cathedral and Magnolia bakery. It is nice walk down to Times Square or just up the street to Central Park. It is nice being able to walk out of the lobby on to the sidewalk without having to step out of your Hotel and right into the mass of people in Times Square, but you are still very close to all the action and stores in Times Square.
The rooms are always very clean and nice, Beds are very comfortable. We have stayed in the suites with the extra room with a couch that makes up into a single bed and it is also very comfortable it is a real mattress not a pull out sleeper. We have stayed in a room that had a view of street one time. This time we had room 205 just know that not all rooms have a view, the room did have a window but it looked out at a brick wall and a small roof area. This room was very quiet and we did get daylight in the window. But when we travel to NYC we spend all of our time out on the town so having a view was not important to us. We booked a room with the free breakfast. It was nice to get something to eat before heading out. Cereals, bagels, muffins, fruits, coffee and juice. you are asked to leave a tip of $2.00 per head for the server. The Hotel staff is always very nice and helpful. We have stayed here 3 times over the past several years and the have always been excellent. I will stay with them again and can't wait to get back to NYC.... Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The location, size of the room and cleanliness were great. However there was no doorman assisting with luggage (I had to drag a 50 pound suitcase up and down a set of stairs myself) and the hotel entrance is very outdated and little welcoming. Breakfast was ok but not special. At times we had to wait more than 10 minutes for the elevator and ended up walking up 10 stories more than once...
Granted we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel AND got a special deal it was fine. I however wouldn't recommend anyone paying full price.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at Blakely for 4 nights. We arrived at 10.30 am and they checked us immediately. The front desk service was faultless.
We requested a kettle which was provided that evening.
The room was spotlessly clean and spacious enough.
I remember that there were views from the rooms. There are no views to be had from a 17 floors hotel when most of the others around it are twice as high or higher.
What drags this hotel down is the restaurant and breakfast.
We had breakfast 3 mornings. Exactly the same poor choices. They couldn't even provide cold drinking water. We only eat cereals, fruit and yogurt. Only 3 types of cereal and not good ones, the same 3 types of fruit and cut up big.
We also had lunch at the restaurant one day. My wife's chicken was undercooked. They offered to replace it, but by then, she was over the chicken. They took $10 off the bill. Way over staffed. There were 3 staff members standing not far from us for a while. We felt we were being watched. We prefer some privacy while we chew out food.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed a few nights here and it was a very nice hotel, although the appearance is a little dated. The room was nice and comfortable and facilities were good. Breakfast wasn't great as it's at a bar/restaurant adjoining the property and the choice wasn't the best, but it's easy to find food in New York if you're hungry. Reception staff weren't a bundle of joy either! All in all, not a bad place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is my third review of The Blakely and have stayed here a number of times. Good rooms for families, great location, excellent staff yada, yada, yada.

But I am writing this review to simply thank the staff for an excellent and quick response to issues we had with our room. It was a hot day in August when we visited and our air-conditioner was not working. I called the front desk and they had their engineer in the room within fifteen minutes and the air-conditioner swapped out within another fifteen minutes.

Ah, cool, wonderful breeze. And then it broke again the next day.....

Same experience, air-conditioner was swapped out within 30 minutes and we were nice and cool for the balance of our five day stay.

Now, you may say the air-conditioner should have worked. But, its how the staff responds to issues that defines the quality of service one can expect and, in this case, they responded marvelously.

Kudos!

Room Tip: As always try to avoid lower floors at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the Blakely for two nights.
The location is fantastic only a few blocks from 5th Avenue, and Central Park.
The hotel looks quite bleak from the outside, but once you step inside you will be pleasantly surprised. It is a very traditional hotel. Our room was on the 12th floor and was very spacious, there was a little kitchenette, with a fridge, freezer, microwave and a great Espresso machine. This is particularly good if you want to buy your own food and drinks.
The bed was fantastic, very comfortable indeed. They also have a small gym but we were too tired to use it.
The only real let down was the breakfast, it was Continental breakfast, but it was a very simple affair, luckily there are plenty of diners in the area where you can get a real American Breakfast.
The gentleman at the Concierge desk was great very friendly and helpful. Although one of the receptionists were not having a good day when we checked in.
I would definitely stay again though as the location is superb and overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4 Diamond Property, voted one of top hotels by US News 2014, Zagat Best Hotel 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blakely New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.