We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blakely New York

Save Saved
You added The Blakely New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blakely New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at The Blakely during the month of February 2014 and what a wonderful experience. The room was lovely. The location was excellent. The staff were exceptionally helpful, I would recommend The Blakely without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    312
    53
    16
    10
See reviews for
242
266
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great location a few blocks from Central Park, MoMa, and Fifth Avenue shops. Tons of restaurants nearby. Elevator is teeny so if a few people are in there with big bags, you may wait for the next one. Lots of European guests. Front desk staff and bellman were very friendly.

Our room was huge by NYC standards - walk into a sitting room with a nice fold out daybed. Kitchenette/bar to the left, bathroom left of that. Would be a great size if you had young kids with you. Bedroom to the right with a door in between the rooms. Decor is sort of 1800s English manor style. Keurig in room - bring your own K-cups if you don't like Emeril's Big Easy Coffee. Lots of dishes and utensils if you are bringing your own food in.

The bathroom has a nice vanity to set up your stuff but it is poorly lit. The makeup mirror lights up but not much so putting on makeup in there is tough. Rainfall shower, if you like that. Conditioner does not detangle so ladies/kids with long hair should bring their own. Towels are not generously sized but they provide several and they give you a couple robes to use.

The bed was really, really firm. Soft pillows, though. Someone in a review said they had a pillowtop - not in my room. Like a rock. Our room was incredibly cold no matter what we did with the thermostat and the hall outside the room was stifling. Old building issues, maybe. I could have used another blanket. The room was clean, housekeeping did an impeccable job. Great blackout blinds for sleeping in on the weekend but you might not be able to ignore the sound Mon-Fri. Street noise starts around 7am and is pretty loud.

The restaurant with the free continental could use some work due to their very indifferent staff. We walked in at 10:31am Sunday morning, a minute after the end of breakfast, and were told it was closed but grab a bagel since they are free. It would have been nice if she let us sit there for 5 minutes or something as there were several people still in there and it's a serve yourself buffet. The next day we came in earlier and got the same vibe - sort of like customers were an imposition -and then waited 10 min for coffee. They had to go cups but not lids and said someone ordered the wrong cups. Seems like an easy fix to go borrow some from a neighboring restaurant and get an order from Sysco on Monday, though. It's fine for a quick breakfast but don't expect to get your socks knocked off. Bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal.

Room Tip: we were in 905 facing 55th- thermostat issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is our "go to" place when we are in NYC. The suite is well price in the mid $300's and it includes a very comfortable day bed in the living area. We have stayed there since our daughter was 14 and still come back with her at age 21. She loves the comfy day bed and we don't have to pay for 2 rooms which would be way more expensive in NYC. Most recently we stayed there the night of her surgery and the staff was so helpful. They made sure she had everything she needed including non-stop ice. The small kitchenette is perfect. The only time we don't stay there is when it's sold out when we come. Hats off to the staff, the perfectly arranged rooms and the comfortable beds. The location is also perfect. We always request to stay on 55th looking over the City Center and we usually stay on the 11th floor. No problems with noise but we do expect to hear traffic in Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Did not expect to get such a quality hotel so close to many of the major attractions. It is also a very homely hotel. It was nice to get a friendly welcome after encountering a rude taxi driver. If I go back to New York I will stay here.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We ended up at the Blakely because of a mangled Groupon promotion. We lost the $100 promotion value because of a combination of micro-fine print, onerous restrictions, and our own mistake. The hotel did try to sweeten the pot by offering an upgrade (suite) for the full $300 standard rate. We would never have paid $365 for a suite in Manhattan under any circumstances, so their offer amounted to an empty gesture.

The hotel is ideally located near the theater district and midtown attractions. The staff was accommodating, room was clean and comfortable, view was unremarkable. Mostly what you would expect for $365/night.

After we checked out, I found an extra $3 charge on my credit card. A phone call elicited the explanation that it was for the Mini Bar. Having read of the predatory nature of hotels towards their guests over Mini Bars together with the exorbitant prices, we had scrupulously avoided even touching ours, let alone taking anything out of it.

I am sad to report that after all the good experiences, it seems the Blakely subscribes to the all too common business model of cheating customers of a small amount in the hopes that they will not notice, or, if they do, not complain about it. For this reason, I am reducing my rating by two stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton,NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I received an offer I couldnt resist ! lol Great offer on one of the web coupons
Quaint small but very personable hotel ,right in the area that I love to be in . Close to Central Park and away from Times Sq.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were going to stay at a Courtyard near Times Square, but since this was similar cost ($345/night) and something different, we went with this one. The location if FANTASTIC! We were able to walk to Central Park area, could have walked home from opera (but too cold and windy that night), walked to Broadway and Times Square areas and Rockefeller. Could have walked other places as well, but again it was cold and windy. The entrance to the subway is right at the corner - so convenient! We were able to walk to food and shopping easily too. The room seemed fairly normal sized for suburban hotels (we've never been to NYC and I expected smaller), it had a little kitchen area with fridge and microwave and then the bathroom. The bathroom had tons of mirrors, but I agree with another reviewer that the lighting wasn't great. They could have put a mirror outside the bath for when several are getting ready at same time, but that's a hotel. We were on the back alley which was pretty quiet except around 5-6am with trash trucks and delivery, etc. Definitely could have used better window seals. One bad thing - breakfast - it is supposed to be free breakfast at the restaurant on the first floor of hotel. When we walked in, the woman was very rude and just asked how many and put a paper on a table and walked away. We assumed that was our table and that we should go get our own food. She returned to ask if we wanted coffee and none of us did. The paper was for leaving a tip and it said "expected $2 per person". All we ate were some muffins and juice and expected to pay $8 for that?? Needless to say, we did not eat the "free" breakfast other mornings. I would still recommend the hotel though because it was clean, cheaper parking in garage right next door, great free wifi, great location and big enough for 4 of us on a family vacation.

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor on back alley and it was quieter except for trash truck time around 5-6am. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4 Diamond Property, voted one of top hotels by US News 2014, Zagat Best Hotel 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blakely New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.