We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blakely New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Blakely New York to your Saves list
The Blakely New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We always stay at the Blakely when visiting New York. (Tried a different hotel once and hated it).
The hotel looks small but is generous and comfortable inside. The rooms are lovely with the most comfy beds ever. Tea and coffee in the room makes a big difference as well as a fridge. The Concierges are excellent without being officious. Basic breakfast is provided which is also a plus for us, although on this occasion additional items to order were not available which was a shame. A perfect location, an easy walk to 5th Avenue and Times Square complete the deal for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    358
    59
    17
    11
See reviews for
271
305
33
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My two teenagers and I stayed in a one-bedroom suite and could not have been happier with this hotel. I called the night before to request an early check-in, and the room was ready when we arrived at noon. We were given our keys and that was that...no grand, unnecessary act of showing us up to the room, which we liked. We utilized the sitting room. The beds were incredibly comfortable with nice, firm mattresses and quality pillows. The room was very clean, and we felt safe and well taken care of here. Though there was a delay with one item on our room service order (mushroom flatbread), it was worth waiting for. Breakfast was a great perk. When we asked for a late check out the next day, it was granted. A car service was called for us, which ended up costing less than a cab. I wish we were there now!

Room Tip: Our fourth-floor suite faced W 55th St. We had a late night, so the traffic in the morning was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We enjoyed a 1BR suite here for 2 nights, and everything was great. The layout of the unit, in particular, was excellent, with the bathroom near the door, then the bar area, then the sitting room, then the bedroom. Great location, big room, superb service (exceptional!), good price.

Just one surprising thing to be aware of: they have two "smoking" floors, #5 & #13.

Will look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Be advised that floors #5 & 13 allow smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We returned the the Blakely for an opera weekend, having selected it originally for proximity to Lincoln Center, and enjoyed it just as much the second time. If you can splurge for the 1-bedroom suites, they include a small sitting area that's very comfortable. We have found the hotel to be very quiet at night, and the staff are uniformly friendly and helpful. Given the lack of nice accommodations around Lincoln Center, this place is only a 10-15 minute walk and makes visiting Lincoln Center much more enjoyable. The breakfast in the restaurant is another plus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Blakely came recommended to me by a friend. I was there in August 2012 with my mother and niece and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Based on that visit, I booked it for a reunion with 10 sorority sisters in December, 2012. Asst. Manager Yariv Schein was very helpful in coordinating three rooms, including a suite, putting us close to one another, juggling the billing among all the women, and accommodating our needs. We were there in December which is, of course, high season, and he worked with us to get us the best rate possible. The location of the hotel in Midtown is superb, you can walk everywhere, many amenities and all the sights are nearby and the subway line to lower Lower Manhattan is close by. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated, the staff is friendly and helpful, and continental breakfast in the neighboring restaurant is included. I would not hesitate to stay at The Blakely again for work or personal reasons and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blakely Hotel over the long weekend in February 2013, and we really enjoyed our stay. Perfect location: 55th street between 6th and 7th Avenues - close to several subway stops, restaurants, shopping, etc. Our room (1308) and the bathroom were fairly big by NYC standards, clean, and very comfortable. Continental breakfast and wi-fi were included in the rate.

The only complaint I have is a heater/AC unit - it made high-pitched shrieking noise throughout the night - I had to turn it off and it eventually stopped.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clean, nicely appointed rooms. I have never been disappointed by the sleeping experience on the comfortable beds. The streetside rooms are noisy but I'll gladly accept the street sounds for the reasonably price at this high quality hotel. Services are limited but I rarely use hotel services when traveling on business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4 Diamond Property, voted one of top hotels by US News 2014, Zagat Best Hotel 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blakely New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.