We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blakely New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Blakely New York to your Saves list
The Blakely New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I just returned from staying at The Blakely. The hotel staff was wonderful - friendly, professional and very helpful with all our questions. I had business - the wife had some free time. So, it was a great location for both. Just blocks from the park, shopping and the theater district. Our room was clean and spacious. Free wifi, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker and more. The continental breakfast at the restaurant was excellent. I know some of the reviewers in the past have said the wait staff weren't friendly and the breakfast was nothing to write about it...but, hey - it's free...well, with a suggested $2 buck tip. Trust me...in New York, you can't beat it. If you have to go out for breakfast, go to Fluffy's bakery down the street on 7th...wonderful! All-in-all, I would highly recommend The Blakely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    331
    57
    17
    11
See reviews for
253
287
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Blakely was really just perfect. When we arrived we were surprised to find we had been upgraded from a king to a king suite which had a great layout. The sitting area with tv and a second closet, the coffeemaker area and the bathroom were separated from the bedroom by a door. The early riser could completely shower, dress, have coffee and watch the news without disturbing the late sleeper. Amazingly roomy for a New York hotel. The staff was attentive and very pleasant. They seemed to genuinely care about meeting our needs. The restaurant downstairs was excellent. The hotel was amazingly quiet. It was homey and just lovely. I won't stay anywhere else when I return.

Room Tip: Definitely get the king suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Blakely twice now, both times in one bedroom suites. Each time there were three people staying in the rooms. The space was well done and the beds comfortable with a Daybed in the living room. This hotel is well located and has a continental breakfast included.It is not a large hotel and the staff is very helpful. A good restaurant is located on the premises and those staying at the hotel get a discount.

Room Tip: If you want a little more space and a microwave and fridge, choose the one bedroom suite. It even h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I checked in around 11:30am and given a free upgrade (King suite). The room was very spacious and clean. The free wi-fi was a great bonus. The hotel is located within walking distance to Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue shopping. The subway station is also walking distance, which my husband and I took to SoHo. The free breakfast was good. They had bagels, fresh fruits, yogurt, and muffins. I would definitely return to The Blakely New York.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Got a great deal for the Blakely for a rwo night stay. The staff was exceptional. The rooms were fine -- clean and spacious and quiet. Breakfast and free wi-fi were much appreciated. Location is also terrific. We arrived at 11:30 a.m. and it was the first time in many visits to NYC that we were welcomed to our room before the "official" check-in time. Not a "fun and funky" hotel but very functional!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good location and the rooms are ok, we tried the 'free' breakfast ..... once.
Not a good start we had booked a double and a twin and they gave the twin away before we checked in, they upgraded the room to a suite but it still had a double bed so one of the kids (one of each) had to sleep on the couch for 3 nights.
What would they say in New York? ok....I guess.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start?! This was a great hotel to stay for our first trip to NYC. The room was a suite (we upgraded) and it was very large and roomy. Also, the AC worked like a champ and the water pressure in the shower would blow you out! That was great! The bed was super comfy and a true king. The staff were all nice and accommodating especially the many concierges. Excellent stay at The Blakely!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4 Diamond Property, voted one of top hotels by US News 2014, Zagat Best Hotel 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blakely New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.