We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blakely New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Blakely New York to your Saves list
The Blakely New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Cranleigh
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

Just returned from 5 nights in New York (couple and 20 year old son) spent at The Blakely.
We chose this hotel due to its location - very close to Central Park, Broadway, Times Square and well withing walking distance to all the other central attactions - Empire State Building, Top of the Rock, United Nations Buildings, Grand Central Station to name a few - and we were not disaappointed.
The hotel was ideal for us - the staff were extremely helpful and booked restaurants, taxis etc for us and our two rooms were on the 16th floor at the front of the building were well furnished, but probably smaller than others we have stayed in previously in America (but never before in New York) - but quite large enough for our requirements - usefully having microwave, fridge and tea/coffee making factilities should you need them.
The hotel has a computer in reception which the guests can use which is very useful when you have "young adults" with you that need to check their e mails/view face book etc!
The local Delis are good for breakfast, lunch and or dinner and serve a variety of things very quickly - and are packed with New Yorkers as well as tourists.
We did a huge amount whilst we were there - dining at Michael Jordans Steak House (in Grand Central Station) was brilliant (expensive at £50/head) but a great experience. Helicoper ride over New York great fun and the shopping ... well that is something else! If you are not a shopper there is still loads to do and experience - but be prepared to walk and if you go in the Autumn/Winter take a warm coat as even if it is sunny the wind is very cold.
Great place would certainly return if the opportunity arises!

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    331
    57
    17
    11
See reviews for
253
286
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

Our stay was wonderful. The room was nicely appointed just as advertised. The linens were lovely and the bed was very comfortable. I loved the idea of the lap top in the lobby. In addition I could use the printer for directions, etc. The maid was pleasant and gracious. The best part of the hotel is the staff. The shining star is Jose. He was most helpful and courteous. He could answer any question and if he could not he would work on it and get back to us. He even helped me locate a little known restaurant on the east side. We had breakfast at Bon Au Pain across the street. The coffee was very good and they had everything you could want for breakfast and lunch for that matter. We also enjoyed Normas for breakfast. It is a very short walk to the lobby of Le Parker Meridian. We have always stayed at the Hilton. It is very over priced and there is no fridge or microwave. We will never stay there again. We will stay at the Blakely. The location is just as good as the Hilton and the money I saved by staying there meant "more shopping".

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorks, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

A friend and I stayed at the Blakely over the thanksgiving period 20th - 24th November for 4 nights. We stayed in room 306 which didnt have the most thrilling view (of a ventilation fan) but seen as we were more concerned about the standard of the room and the hotel's location, we were not disappointed.

We found all the staff to be courteous and found nice little touches like remembering our names and room number to be good when we were changing travellers cheques etc.

All in all a pleasant stay in NYC at a nice hotel.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

I recently returned from a four night stay at the Blakely New York to find that my credit card had been charged by the hotel, after my departure! When I queried this I was told that I had used the mini bar, which I absolutely hadn't!!! After an argument on the phone, with a very rude member of staff, I then sent an email to the general manager, who never replied!! My debt is still outstanding and The Blakely have been no help at all! The hotel is fine, so long as you dont have a query, they are happy to take your money and run... Customer service???

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

My third visit to the Blakely was over the Thanksgiving weekend. The hotel can hold its own but the staff seems to need a refresher course in customer service. I was staying in s suite to accomodate my family of four. I had to call for extra towels on three occasions and the jacuzzi was broken.
Also, avoid rooms with windows facing 54th street or you will be serenaded all night by the sounds of Hilton delivery trucks.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

My mother and I are from the UK and this was our first visit to New York.
We stayed in the Blakely for a week in November and booked the hotel based on the reviews we had read here on trip advisor and.....we were not disappointed.

The hotel location couldn't have been better for us, it was close to everything we could have asked for and we enjoyed walking around the local area, especially Central Park.

We booked a standard two double bedded room and it was spacious, well decorated and spotless.
The beds were very comfortable, nice shower, good ammenities and the kitchenette was very useful.
Our room was on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel, there was some noise (but you are in the centre) but no worse than expected. We both live in the country and slept with earplugs and didn't hear a thing!

All staff were polite and helpful.

I would definately recommend the Blakely and my mother and I both said we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Fantastic Location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Stayed at the Blakely based on the many rave reviews and to be honest was a little disppointed. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with the biggest disappointment being that the room looked nothing like the pictures on the hotel website. There wasnt much natural light available which I think made the room a bit depressing. But having said that the room was huge and very well appointed, plus the staff were great and the location excellent. Would I stay here again? Probably, but maybe not expecting as much next time around and probably not bothering with paying the extra money for a suite. We never used the sitting area of the suite largely because it was a separate windowless room and the bedroom was massive.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 West 55th Street, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4 Diamond Property, voted one of top hotels by US News 2014, Zagat Best Hotel 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blakely New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.