We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edison Times Square to your Saves list
Hotel Edison Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 20%
Ranked #295 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Prattville, Alabama USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I booked a New York weekend trip through Expedia and chose the Edison Hotel. I based the choice on location and price.

I was dropped off at the 46th Street entrance, and I thought the lobby very nice. The check in staff were nice and efficient. I was assigned Room 1732.

My room was small, but it was really nice. I was at the end of a hallway and was on the 46th Street side of the hotel. It was really quiet.

The room was very clean and appointed well. There were lots of towels and linens in the bathroom, and a small shelf for the toiletries.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. You are in easy walking distance to all the Broadway theaters, and the red stairs are a half block away. There is a deli next door, and another 1/2 block away on 47th Street at the corner of 47th and 8th Avenue. There is a Starbucks also at the corner of 47th Street and 8th Avenue.

The front desk staff was also friendly and efficient at checkout.

I had no problems at the Edison and would stay here again on my next visit to New York.

Room Tip: My room faced 46th Street and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear pcbdoug

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found all the hotel has to offer to your satisfaction. We are so fortunate to be located in such a great location, footsteps from it all. Our staff will be thrilled to read your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to your New York home.

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    2,354
    1,212
    428
    320
See reviews for
1,417
1,659
230
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a greatly situated hotel, just a few seconds away from time square. The staff were really attentive and friendly. However the room size (in particular the bathroom size) really let it down. Realise that space is a premium in new York, but really felt like guests were caged in like battery hens. The bathroom was scarcely larger than the wardrobe and myself and my fiancee were literally tripping over each other trying to get ready.
We were in a queen room, sure some of the others may be better!
Also towels were discussing on arrival, although the reception staff had them instantly changed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Shing85

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all of your feedback, and assure you they have been passed on to the appropriate departments, so that we can strive to improve. In many cases, the size of the rooms and bathrooms, are the same as they have always been. The blueprint during the renovations has not changed drastically, but space saving techniques have been integrated and all bulky items have been replaced for a more stream-lined effect. We regret that ours is not to your liking. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next trip.

Kind Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is an older hotel right in the heart of Times Square with only minutes to walk to the Subway, TKTS booth or any of the shows. This was a third trip to New York to do sightseeing and shows and I would stay here again in a heartbeat!! The rooms are small and somewhat dated but everything from the toilet to the shower to the air conditioner worked perfectly. Maid service was great every day. Staff is friendly and helpful although don't see the "transportation" lady if you have any questions other than their shuttle service. She "doesn't know" about other means. The concierge is very, very helpful though! We used their cafe in the lobby only for morning coffee and the staff is not friendly. There are many places nearby for great food so you don't need to even set foot in there. We got a good price online and would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear kathleen43400

Thank you for your superb review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectation. We do have the advantage of being in a great location. We will be sure to share all your comments with our staff as they continually are committed to providing the best service to our guests. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York City!

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a so called renovated room on 14th floor, bath was cracked, carpet was stained in all not very pleasant. Dread to think what the un-renovated rooms looked like. Location was right next to Times Square. Ate in the cafe in their lobby and again it was the worst breakfast I had ever eaten. Great shame wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear sallyd14

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Please be advised our Front Desk is operational 24 hours, and would have love to assist you with another room that was to your satisfaction. Your comments will be reviewed by our management team, so that we can improve our service. Thank you again.

Kind Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Hotel Edison was our first glimpse of New York after getting off a long flight from New Zealand. Staff were friendly when we checked in around 3am. Our room was small but had everything we needed for our whirlwind trip,since all we needed to do was sleep with so much to see and do in NYC. Loved the location with everything so close. Would come back again but would take one of the renovated rooms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Jaclyn S

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you after such a long flight. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,
A. Santiago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterrebeek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at the Edison Hotel for 6 days during in april. Our room was on the third floor, NOT on the streetside. Our room was clean and quiet, something we really appreciated during our stay. The bathroom was just what you need (clean, with a clean and cleaned toilet, a bathtub/shower); in other words, "what you need in a room where you spend no more than one hour a day"... The staff was very helpful, always looking for the best solutions, at our service (our son had severly twisted his ankle five days before our arrival in NY). Some will say that their rooms were too small but hell, you don't travel to NY to stay in your room! The beds were clean, comfortable and the service was more than correct. Moreover, the hotel is very well located, close to subway stations (provided you don't mind using your legs 10 min), 8th and 9th Av. for the restaurants... It was our first stay in NY, with our two sons and we really enjoyed our stay at the Edison Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

On arrival the welcome we got was amazing from the door staff to the lady at reception (blond lady forgot her name) was so nice and welcomed us as a valued customer. On arrival to our room we were pleasantly surprised, the room was spacious and clean . Really wasn't expecting much after reading the reviews but would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a location that can't be beating. Even on checkout the man was very nice and we had somewhere to stow or bags for a few hours as we had a late flight. The luggage guy who took our bag was also extremely nice and recognised we were irish and we chatted to him about his irish roots. It's the little things that make a stay so memorable and I hope as the manager reads this he comeds his staff for there hard work and polite attitude The only negative was when we were waiting for our taxi I went to the shop in the hotel to get a soda and a lady who worked in the shop pushed me out the door and slammed the door in my face and her and younger lady laughed at me as I tried to get in and they continued to stop me from coming in. They never said why they were closed just pushed me which I feel was very unprofessional and I was greatly upset. Although that wouldn't stop me from returning to the hotel. I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edison Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.