We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good considering location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edison Times Square to your Saves list
Hotel Edison Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 20%
Ranked #299 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good considering location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

If you want to be in Time Square for "cheap" this is a good hotel. The rooms are small and the windows weren't very thick but, considering the location what could you expect. The staff were very friendly and we used the airport shuttle which was good too. If you won't be spending much time in your room (because you are out exploring) this hotel is well worth the stay.

Room Tip: A room in the "middle" of the hotel would be much less nosy I can imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Cayley F

Thank you for taking the time to submit your a review of your recent stay at the Hotel Edison. We are glad to know that you took full advantage of our location and enjoyed Times Square. We will share your feedback with our staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip to NYC!

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    2,348
    1,209
    428
    320
See reviews for
1,415
1,648
229
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My son & I traveled to NYC to visit NYU. I chose The Edison based on the price. Service was fantastic and we loved the room. We got the Signature King Suite. Plenty of space and very nice. The only downside was the drilling outside in Times Square. This was no fault of the hotel's and they gave us earplugs. Super close to everything and the subways as well. We will return when my son starts at NYU.

Room Tip: Choose the signature suites or anything above the 19th floor. Any room away from Times Square is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear islaluna,

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Edison. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found your room, location and staff to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back when your son starts at NYU.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks so we were able to give this Hotel a good chance to impress or even meet average expectations. The 2 rooms were not the same but we paid the same price, not good. One room had faulty shower, very small, very dated. The key card system was a shambles, had to re-register several times. The security staff were very rude and overall not a welcoming place. We will definitely not be staying in this Hotel again. Very poor value for money, very disappointing rooms, the shower and door locks simply did not work, and to top it all the staff were rude. Didn't tick any boxes to be honest, definitely one to avoid.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear wenttoportugal,

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are glad to have an opportunity to address some of the issues you raised. Our Managers are available 24 hours a day to assist guests and we would have loved to address these issue immediately and offered a room move for you had we known. Guest satisfaction is very important to us, so I will pass your comments along to the relevant departments so that we can improve. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to gain your trust.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We arrived Thursday and stayed until Monday. My room was small and dated, but clean and comfortable; which are my main requirements. The hotel is conveniently located near Times Square in the theater district. It was within walking distance to the shows we attended. I would stay there again.

The only problem we had was with check-in. The hotel advertises a 3:00 p.m. check-in time; however, when we tried to check in at 4:00 we were told our rooms were not ready but would be ready in 30 minutes. We sat in the lobby to wait. At the end of the 30 minutes, we were told 15 more minutes. This happened two more times so we were not able to check in until 5:15 p.m.; 2.25 hours past the advertised check-in time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear alacontessa,

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went. We sincerely apologize for the delay in your check in. We will share your experience with our Director of Front Office, so that this same occurrence does not happen to another guest. However, it seems you enjoyed your stay and was able to enjoy your shows. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was mine and my boyfriends first stay in New York. Was loved this hotel, the room was perfect for sleeping and getting ready and resting since we was hardly in the room so it was perfect. The staff are friendly and I had a little bag of chocolates and wine for my birthday which was lovely of them to do. Defo recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed in a newly remodeled 20th floor room. It was great to have a keurig in the room for coffee, but without a refrig needed to use powdered creamer. Beds were comfortable, location right in the middle of Times Square and convenient to many shows ans stores. Would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was my very first time in New York. The Edison Hotel is in a great location. The room was small but clean. If you are staying in your room a lot in New York City, then you need to get a life and get out and explore this great City! Everyone we spoke to at the hotel was very pleasant Next time I'm in New York this is the hotel I'll be staying at. After a busy day of shopping and seeing some plays, it's just a very short walk from Times Square, Broadway Shows and the Subway Stations. Also, the price was right! Way to go Edison!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edison Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.