We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just didn't feel welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edison Times Square to your Saves list
Hotel Edison Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #294 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just didn't feel welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights over Easter. I felt like the hotel was trying to gouge as much money out of me as possible - ridiculous wifi fees, business center we had to pay for to print out a train ticket. Our room was small and outdated, the heater made a god awful noise. The bathroom was the original from whenever the hotel was built, sink cracked, very tiny. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    2,565
    1,313
    467
    328
See reviews for
1,570
1,818
248
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is my third time staying at this hotel. We were there April 2014 during spring break. It is two doors down from Times Square and steps away from some of the theaters. The room was spacious, even though the bathroom was rather small. Only problem was the fact there was a pipe in the bathroom that was extremely hot. We had to turn the air conditioning on in the bedroom to keep the bathroom bearable. The staff as a whole was friendly. Anita, one of the concierges, was extremely helpful in arranging for tickets to shows.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle away from Times Square are not as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

First thing, I have never liked staying in Times Square which is certainly a convenient location to visit the city by subway, but certainly not a good place to sleep as it is very noisy, especially in those days where they are making a lot of heavy work in Times Square (so bring your earplugs if you plan on staying there). Second, the hotel leaves an impression of railroad station as it is always full of groups and people. The lobby is average-nice, and the front desk clerks reasonably helpful. Then the only thing you need to know about this hotel is that there are renovated rooms and not renovated rooms. Non renovated rooms are old and tired, probably worth a 1 star motel. I think they go from the 7th to 17th floor or something like this. I was assigned a non renovated room first, and then decided to switch to renovated (I paid a signature room upgrade). Renovated rooms are pretty decent, they have some pressure issue to bring the water into the room and the debit is thus very limited, but bedding is OK, and furniture is new, so those rooms match a 3-3.5 star standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel should be the best deal for NYC if you're looking for a nice place ON Times Square and don't want to spend a fortune. We had a Signature suite on the 19th floor with Times square view.
A suite in NYC on Times Square for about $300 including tax!!! Very clean, nice bathroom, so spacious I can't believe it's in NYC.
While checking out, I forgot my coat with 3 passport cards in it. Called the security when I realized but I was too far away from hotel by then. Security officer Alex found the coat and confirmed the cards were in it and fedex'd it to me right away.
If I ever go back to NYC Times Square again, I don't have to search for hotels now that I've stayed in Edison.

Room Tip: Pick a signature room/suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very good location, a few meters walk to Times Square, Broadway. Close to theaters, shops, restaurants, bars. Staff are helpful and accommodating. The room assigned to us was a bit small but tolerable. The air conditioning/heater is centralized I guess because we couldn't find the controls to set the temperature, we didn't bother to ask too. Vehicles pass by the street all the time and since it's near Times Square too, so you might be bothered by vehicles honking and the sirens. Airport transfer: it is cheaper to arrange for a transfer when you arrive at JFK to the hotel through the airport's Ground Transportation desk (around $16). Booking online through the agents will cost you about $27. Cab ride might reach to about $50- $65. The hotel's diner on the ground floor offers old school meals, which is fine. There are better restaurants outside if you want a good meal. I would definitely recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel has a great location, but that's the only great thing about it. The room was spacious and clean, except for the couple of pubic hairs we found under the sheets. Make sure you go with the newly renovated rooms because ours was "all in all" very nice.

Pros: big room, newly renovated, great location.
Cons: noisy outside, mildly rude hotel staff, and bed was very firm.

Oh, I almost forgot: No matter what the hotel staff sais on the phone, there IS a $50 deposite when you get there. I was told there was no deposite when i called to reserve the room. I actually called back to make sure and somebody else confirmed that there was no deposite. Sure enough apon arriving, i was charged a $50 deposite.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I recently stayed at the Edison hotel for a family break at the begging of April. The staff were pleasant and helpful, but unfortunately we had to move rooms 3 times due to faults with the room and horrendous noise levels. The rooms are very dated and over priced for what you get. The day before we left we asked reception to use there phone to book a taxi back to the airport in which they said "no, you will have to use your mobile or a pay phone". In the end the hotel porter said he can arrange a taxi back to Newark for $85 dollars for 4 people, but on arrival at the airport the taxi driver said it was $120 not $85. So be aware of being ripped off with taxis when arranging them through the hotel. Although the hotel is in an excellent location we will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edison Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.