We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Edison Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edison Hotel Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 15%
Ranked #291 of 451 hotels in New York City
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our first trip to USA and spent 10 nights at Edison. Stayed on 22nd floor in room 2220, signature with 2 queen beds. We had great views from two sides of building. As a wheelchair user, room had plenty of space. Beds and linen, duvets and pillows exceptionally comfortable. Housekeeping was great- loads of fresh towels daily, robes, flannels. Coffee and tea making machine although we did bring a travel kettle which we used a lot. No cups/mugs only paper so its worth bringing one if u drink a lot of tea/coffee-we bought one from the gift shop! All staff very helpful and courteous. Had breakfast in adjoining café every day- great food, service and value. Guys on the door brill at helping me in my wheelchair. The Rum house bar is great with live music and cosy ambience. Have no hesitation in recommending Edison. Would go back in a flash!

Room Tip: Top floor for great views and renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    910
    1,924
    1,022
    371
    285
See reviews for
1184
1329
190
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am an easy going guy and I don't care that much if the tub is old or the room is not that bright...I need a clean room which I can control the temperature and have a window that I can open. and quiet enough so I can sleep. The receptions and cleaning lady were all kind..they didn't have refrigerator in the room but when we asked for it they brought one for us. No free wireless any were which I think was good because it makes you come out of the hotel, and at least sit in the Starbucks. you have two Starbucks at the both ends of the street, and a good pizza place near the hotel. the price was higher than I signed up for... I though I am going to pay 110 $ per night for 6 nights, but it comes up 139$ with all the taxes and everything,.. , There is no need for me to say that the location is great as you already know it I suppose.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying at this hotel for years, at least 15. Since I was a kid! Suddenly it is very low rent and disappointing. The room we received this time was in horrible condition and needs desperately to be updated. Wires open on the floor, no outlets, ripped up furniture and walls, a broken window shade. There are also suddenly tons of mean security guards in the lobby ordering you around to stand in a certain way, not stand in a certain area... For no apparent reason. I am 24 and came with my mother and I felt as if I was being treated like a stupid child just for standing in my own hotel's lobby waiting to check in. We were rudely told to move over about 6 inches to the left when checking in for no apparent reason - feels very unnecessary and as if we were misbehaving children because we didn't line up 6 inches to the left? There was no crowd or activity going on that would warrant us to be moved, we were completely out of the way. Extremely un-classy. Staff was very cold this time. Not sure what is going on here, but it was enough to not want to return so our 15 year run is over. Looking into other hotels in NYC from now on.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the. Edison for 5 nights from thee 27th March.
After reading one of the previous reviews we arrived with a little trepidation.
We were on the 15th floor, overlooking 47th street so a bit of a view, we could just about see the Hudson in one direction and onto 7th Avenue in the other.
The room was a good size with a large closet, a desk with chair, a very large chest of drawers and 2 large bedside lockers. The bathroom was a compact size but had a bath so better than some! The TV was a decent sized LCD interactive model and worked very well.
Overall the room was in very acceptable order, a bit of fraying on the carpet edge but not really an issue. The bed was large enough, comfortable and clean. We had plenty of towels, changed daily. The room maid seemed to do a great job of keeping things replenished and clean.
The only slight gripe I had was the noise. There are lots of road works nearby and, because of the way the air-con unit was fitted into the aperture of one of the sash casements, there were gaps around the edge covered only with thin plastic. This allowed extra noise in and it seemed night time was when the noisiest works took place. I had to wear earplugs (which I often do anyway) which solved the issue but my wife did mention the noise quite a bit.
One other small issue was the cost of the WiFi. Most other hotels now supply free Wifi but it was a cost option at the Edison. $ 25 for 3 days so not cheap either. These days this should be addressed. But certainly worth taking into account. That said, e Wifi was fast and reliable.
The staff were great, a little stressed at the front desk sometimes but understandably. The cafe staff were friendly as were the bartenders in the Rum Room. The lobby is fantastic and very welcoming. Free safety deposit boxes were a bonus.
We would certainly visit again based on this experience.

Room Tip: Go high and ask for a rear room if view isn't an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Tommyteacake

Thank your for your recent review of our property. We appreciate all your comments, including the pros and cons list. It’s through feedback such as yours that we are able to see various aspects of the property form the guest's viewpoint. We will certainly pass your comments about our WI-FI along to the appropriate departments, so we can improve our service. Looking forward to welcoming you again and your comments will be taken into consideration and hopefully put into action.

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spent 4 nights at the above hotel. The room was tired and needed sprucing up 5th floor.
On the brighter side the staff and hotel was clean and very friendly. Clean towels and bed room cleaned daily, and the location was brilliant.

So on the whole a nice hotel but the room could have been better.

Room Tip: Cannot advise unless you check with the hotel when booking I believe some rooms are being updated on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear jayney1964

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted you had good experience with us. Please note we have renovated many of our rooms and have introduced our Signature rooms. We encourage you to visit our website to view the photos. We look forward to your next visit, and are confident you will notice the changes.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My partner and I were visting New York for our 30th birthdays. We choose the Edison hotel as it was in Times Square (literally less then a minutes walk) and was very reasonably priced compared to other hotels, especially considering the location.

We were abit dubious of the hotel based on some of the other reviews we had read on here before our arrival, but wasn't worried too much, as the hotel would be just somewhere to sleep and shower. (Who goes to New York to stay in there hotel room really?!?!) within 5/10 minutes of being in the hotel we knew our stay here was going to be fantastic and we were not disappointed.

Upon check in, our room was upgraded free of charge from a double room to a king size room as the member of staff noticed from our passports we were both celebrating our 30th birthdays and this was the reason for our visit, which was a lovely surprise and gesture.

The room was huge, and clean with a walk in wardrobe, which had plenty of room to store cases. The decor was lovely and the bed was very comfy, just what was needed at the end of a busy day walking and shopping! The bathroom wasn't the biggest but it served its purpose and we did not have any issues with water pressure as mentioned in other reviews.
The room was also cleaned daily with a change of towels. The only thing the room didn't have that would of been helpful was a safe but there are some located in reception so this wasn't to much bother, just meant having to go down and sign every time you wanted to access it.

The hotel as a whole is very beautiful and clean, and the security is excellent. Always someone standing by the lifts ensuring you have key cards before entering, which is very reassuring.

The staff were also lovely and very helpful.

We loved every minute of our stay here and would recommend the Edison to anyone planning on visiting New York. I definitely wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we were to visit New York again (Currently trying to twist my boyfriends arm!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Amf84

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted that you chose The Edison Hotel for both your birthday celebrations. Glad we were able to accommodate the upgrade for you and you enjoyed your room. We truly appreciate all the wonderful comments about the hotel and our staff. We will be sure to share all your feedback with them. Once again thank you, and we hope to see you at The Edison on your next trip to New York City!

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights rooms ar small but ours had 2 Hugh walk in cupboards which was great for holding our shopping and our cases .We couldn't believe how Times Square was on our door step , would recommend the weekly cheese and wine there is also live music playing . We had one problem our hair dryer didn't work but third was fixed with in an hour of our complaint . If I ever go back to New York I would stay at the Edison again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear AberdeenKathy

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Wine and Cheese Event as much as we always do. Sorry you had challenges with your hairdryer, we will make sure to share your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping. We will share your comments with the staff so that we can continue to make future stays for all our guests most enjoyable. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edison Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Hotel Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edison Hotel Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional twenty-two-story hotel with Art Deco touches, situated in the heart of the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Edison Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.