We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Edison Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Edison Hotel Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 456 Hotels in New York City
birmingham uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spent 4 nights at the above hotel. The room was tired and needed sprucing up 5th floor.
On the brighter side the staff and hotel was clean and very friendly. Clean towels and bed room cleaned daily, and the location was brilliant.

So on the whole a nice hotel but the room could have been better.

Room Tip: Cannot advise unless you check with the hotel when booking I believe some rooms are being updated on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear jayney1964

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted you had good experience with us. Please note we have renovated many of our rooms and have introduced our Signature rooms. We encourage you to visit our website to view the photos. We look forward to your next visit, and are confident you will notice the changes.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    2,107
    1,117
    399
    294
See reviews for
1,291
1,470
203
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My partner and I were visting New York for our 30th birthdays. We choose the Edison hotel as it was in Times Square (literally less then a minutes walk) and was very reasonably priced compared to other hotels, especially considering the location.

We were abit dubious of the hotel based on some of the other reviews we had read on here before our arrival, but wasn't worried too much, as the hotel would be just somewhere to sleep and shower. (Who goes to New York to stay in there hotel room really?!?!) within 5/10 minutes of being in the hotel we knew our stay here was going to be fantastic and we were not disappointed.

Upon check in, our room was upgraded free of charge from a double room to a king size room as the member of staff noticed from our passports we were both celebrating our 30th birthdays and this was the reason for our visit, which was a lovely surprise and gesture.

The room was huge, and clean with a walk in wardrobe, which had plenty of room to store cases. The decor was lovely and the bed was very comfy, just what was needed at the end of a busy day walking and shopping! The bathroom wasn't the biggest but it served its purpose and we did not have any issues with water pressure as mentioned in other reviews.
The room was also cleaned daily with a change of towels. The only thing the room didn't have that would of been helpful was a safe but there are some located in reception so this wasn't to much bother, just meant having to go down and sign every time you wanted to access it.

The hotel as a whole is very beautiful and clean, and the security is excellent. Always someone standing by the lifts ensuring you have key cards before entering, which is very reassuring.

The staff were also lovely and very helpful.

We loved every minute of our stay here and would recommend the Edison to anyone planning on visiting New York. I definitely wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we were to visit New York again (Currently trying to twist my boyfriends arm!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Amf84

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted that you chose The Edison Hotel for both your birthday celebrations. Glad we were able to accommodate the upgrade for you and you enjoyed your room. We truly appreciate all the wonderful comments about the hotel and our staff. We will be sure to share all your feedback with them. Once again thank you, and we hope to see you at The Edison on your next trip to New York City!

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights rooms ar small but ours had 2 Hugh walk in cupboards which was great for holding our shopping and our cases .We couldn't believe how Times Square was on our door step , would recommend the weekly cheese and wine there is also live music playing . We had one problem our hair dryer didn't work but third was fixed with in an hour of our complaint . If I ever go back to New York I would stay at the Edison again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear AberdeenKathy

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Wine and Cheese Event as much as we always do. Sorry you had challenges with your hairdryer, we will make sure to share your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping. We will share your comments with the staff so that we can continue to make future stays for all our guests most enjoyable. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I chose the Edison hotel, because for a decent hotel it had the most affordable prices of hotels in the Times Square area (around $160 per night). You have to check the websites regularly to find this kind of deal. Regularly rooms seem to run between $200 and $300+ per night. It's an older hotel, but it is clean, comfortable, and rooms have been renovated. Space-wise my room was very adequate. The best thing about the Edison is the location just steps from Times Square and in the middle of all the theaters. The only negatives for me were the couple times the water in the shower just got warm, but not hot; and I could have used more electrical outlets. Be aware that the hotel restaurant is cash only. I went to five different shows and it took me from 5-15 minutes to walk to each theater.

Room Tip: You might ask for a higher room to get further away from the Times Square traffic noise. On the 11t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have stayed at many hotels in NYC for 36yrs and I discovered hotel Edison 5yrs ago ,it's now my favorite,super helpful ,friendly staff,newly renovated rooms,clean,I took my 13yr granddaughter for first time n it was like home,the location is perfect,great theaters on both sides of hotel,great food nearby..tkts booth half a block away,shop n shop n go to room for a break was close ,tkts makes a great landmark if you don't know NYC to well...love love this hotel,my home away from home!!!!my goal is to stay here twice a year!!!thank you Edison!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Came to the Edison with slight trepidation. Some of the reviews weren't great. However my fears were quashed. The room was great. Big comfy bed. Fairly quiet (as quiet as NYC can be) and nicely furnished. The bathroom maybe need a slight update but it did the job. Shower with hot water etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Cafe Edison next door is perfectly situated and does fab breakfasts. With Times Square just around the corner everything is on your doorstep. Fab stay in NYC!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. After reading other reviews before booking it sounded like the type of place we were after. Nothing fancy but clean, comfortable and a good location. Perfect for a quick stop over. Checking in was a nightmare, we had requested an early check in and we kept getting sent away and told different times to come back. There was always about 5 or 6 staff on reception and none of them seemed to know what the other was doing. On the 3rd attempt to check in we were told to go away for another hour, yet when we spoke to someone else further along the desk they checked us in straight away!? The following day I asked if there was laundry facilities in the hotel and at exactly the same time one of them said yes and the other said no......Throughout our stay their attitude was abrupt, and almost rude at times. As for the room it was fine in size, all you needed for a few days, even though the bathroom was smaller than the cupboard! What was really annoying was the heater under the window. Not only was high enough that the curtains were resting on it and getting hot, there were cables hanging out the side of it and it was impossible to turn off. There was a control panel on the wall for it and even set to "Off" it still came on every 20minutes at a force of about 20 hairdryers. Not great in the middle of the night! The glass in the window frame may as well not even been there. It didn't block out any noise at all. I appreciate it was near Times Square and New York is always busy, but to be woken up even with earplugs in because of the noisy heater and road works outside was just ridiculous. We had also booked a non-smoking room, yet there must have been smoking rooms on the same floor because as soon as you came out the lift the hallway smelt of smoke, it was disgusting. If you are a deep sleeper, not staying long and don't require an early check in this place is fine. The location is great, within walking distance of most department stores and Central Park. But I would strongly recommend looking at spending a bit more money and staying at one of the other hotels in the area though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edison Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Hotel Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edison Hotel Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional twenty-two-story hotel with Art Deco touches, situated in the heart of the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Edison Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.