We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“X-mas 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edison Times Square to your Saves list
Hotel Edison Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 20%
Ranked #294 of 459 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“X-mas 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel was great for the price. Right off Broadway, close to Rockefeller Center, and right near everything. Times Square is awesome and the hotel was conveniently located for all our family's pleasures.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Jacob H,
We are fortunate to be in a great location, and are glad that it was satisfactory to your travel needs. Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    2,221
    1,158
    417
    305
See reviews for
1,347
1,560
212
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated about 50 yards from Times Square so you can't get much more central than that! Very nice open check in area with plenty of seats to relax,read a paper or wait for your party. The rooms vary in size but they all are very clean and well appointed and very quiet- which for NY is quite something!!
The Hotel has it's own Coffee Shop serving really good quality food at very reasonable prices all day long and into early evening.
The hotel bar literally jumps at the weekend! Great live music,Ale on tap as well as the usual wines and spirits.
The staff were all very friendly and seemed to go the extra yard to solve any problems.
It would be my pleasure to return!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear JTFomes,
You kind words and high marks means so much to us as we work hard to ensure that your stay is satisfactory. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Edison. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hershey pa
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Clean, updated, and beautiful hotel with hints of days gone by. The location couldn't get any better, was able to drop off shopping bags, run to the restroom etc without any worries while hanging out in NYC
Nice employees and room was cleaned well each day

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear kody76,
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Edison. Thank you for the favorable comments regarding the décor, amenities and location. We look forward to you staying with us again. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Excellent location right at Times Square. What else can you ask for during christmas.

Rooms are comfortable and clean though a bit dated.

If you are going to go for new york sightseeing their offices are just across from the hotel.

Breakfast is good and so is the small bar.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear vikas24_10, Thank you for the positive comments regarding the cleanliness, service and location of the hotel. We are glad you chose the Hotel Edison and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in New York. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very nice, clean hotel. Unbeatable location for theatre. They are still remodeling some rooms so it can be a lit noisey in the afternoon, (but that's true of most places in NYC). Great deal for the price though the rooms are a little small.

Room Tip: I stayed here three times and always in thier signature rooms. They are higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Paul D,
We deeply value your relationship with the Hotel Edison and are committed to providing the highest level of service simply because we believe our customers deserve the best. The hotel does have varing sizes of rooms. For future stays, please request our Front desk to switch your room if the one you are assigned is not to your liking, We look forward to welcoming you back and wish you a happy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Christmastime is best time to visit n this hotel is right in heart of times square. Very reasonable ...small bathrooms but everything else was perfect. Transportation service limo was joke when they picked us up from airport was not town car was old van where we had to walk in snow to parking lot to get to van. Driver had vietnamese radio blasting. After complaining they sent us back to airport in nice Lincoln suv

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear beachhrlygirl,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay here. We are very grateful for the chance to get feedback from our guests.
We are very concerned to read your comments in relation to the Transportation Desk. It is an independently owned and operated source which we, unfortunately do not have control over. Nevertheless, your comments and suggestions will be relayed to their management so their services improve and therefore do not reflect poorly on us. Please accept our apologies on their behalf.
On a positive note, we are glad that you found your stay overall satisfactory and we look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I visit NYC every two months, mostly for theater and museums, and have had many bad experiences with midtown hotels. Last week, I stayed at The Edison for the first time, and was delighted by the difference. This is a highly civilized, elegant and comfortable solution for people who need a hotel that's close to theaters and the TKTS booth, yet affordable on a writer's budget. My room was small, but perfectly adequate and nicely renovated. The lobby, on the other hand, was grand and formal, a lovely place for hanging out or meeting friends. Staff members were uniformly friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Ravelle b,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are delighted that you have had a hands down positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Edison and New York City. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edison Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.