We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Edison Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edison Hotel Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 15%
Ranked #292 of 449 hotels in New York City
Billings, MT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Improved review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I reviewed Edison Hotel last year and said I wouldn't likely stay there again...however, I did and wanted to update my review...

The staff, location, and price make this hotel shine and dismiss the things I indicated not liking last year!
Downsides still remain that you have to pay for Wi-Fi, and the water pressure is very poor. However, the friendliness of the staff made the whole experience wonderful and we will likely stay there again next year!
Thank you Edison...particularly Yousoff (sp) front desk reception, for his patience, kindness, and awareness of everything going on around him!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear CoraleeMT,

Thank you for giving us a 2nd opportunity to provide you with the excellent customer service and a superior guest experience we know we can provide. We appreciate your review as it will help us attempt to identify how to fulfill and further improve our commitments to our guests. Hotels in the Times Square area charge for WiFi or integrate it in their rates, to that extent, we also provide the Signature Collection Rooms; apart from high floors, an in-room safe, a coffee machine, and USA Today newspaper availability, these rooms also include Free WiFi. Thank you again for your return visit and we look forward to next years visit! If you wish to contact Guest Relations at the Hotel Edison to further inquire, comment or express your experience, we are always available to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,888 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    967
    2,117
    1,095
    404
    305
See reviews for
1162
1317
188
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Reasonable price for the great location. Having checked other hotels, I couldn't find one at the same price as this hotel in such a great location. Literally a minute if that walk to times square. Metro lines close by along with Broadway. Hotel is very 'classic' - you can see it hasn't been updated in several years but I quite like that look..its quite American and communal areas are clean.
The rooms were quiet small and hot even in March but there was a fan that did the job.
Rooms are also quite dated but if you're like me, and want to just go out and make the most of your time in NYC, it really isn't a bother. It was clean and did the job for my 5 night stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear March1207,

It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your stay the us! We are happy you were thrilled with the location and that you appreciated our Art Deco decor. Like most hotels in NYC, rooms are on a smaller scale, however, we do have a variety of rooms available for the convenience of our guests, including spacious rooms. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back on your next stay in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Loved this hotel for its very friendly employees and the location. Was not so keen on the decor of the room. The tv was a flat screen but the remote did not work. Channel selection wasn't that great either (but you're not really staying for the tv, right?) The heat was on over blast and there was no way of controlling it except for opening up a window. They have a bar/dining area and a gift shop where you can get some necessities. I thought the lobby was beautiful. Overall, best for location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Nicole L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are grateful for your kind comments. We are thrilled you were pleased with the location of the hotel and our friendly staff. Was the front desk able to assist with the remote control? We have a verity of rooms for the convenience of our guests, including the Signature Collection Rooms; recently renovated and refurbished rooms, including its modern decor and extra, included amenities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Location - right in time square and only paid £25 each per person for a room.

Size - very small bathroom

Decor - some may say very 40's but I say it's dated.

Nice doormen, always a plus!

I would stay there again for the location. Taxis are easily available. Lots of nice cafes around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear IreneK282,

We are happy that you were delighted with our location and the local attractions. Like most NYC hotels, room sizes and bathrooms are on a smaller scale, comparatively. Please Note: we have a verity of rooms for the convenience of our guests, including our Signature Collection Rooms, offering recently renovated and modern decor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC. If you wish to contact Guest Relations at the Hotel Edison to further inquire, comment or express your experience, we are always available to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Edison and found it OK. Travelled from Australia, not knowing what to expect. Yes, room was small and tired looking (but it was only for sleeping in!!).The location is excellent for being "in" New York. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear laetitia_mb,

Thank you for offering a review of our hotel and staff. We are pleased you found the front desk friendly. Please Note: we do have a verity of rooms available for the convenience of our guests, including larger scale rooms and our Signature Collection rooms. It is gratifying that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The rating I given is based on my stay at the "classic" room of this hotel, seems that the renovated rooms are better as mentioned by the comments here.

In general, front desk is friendly and a welcome gift (two small bottles of red wine) was given when checking-in, though the lobby looks a bit outdated it's clean and the lifts are efficieny. However, when we arrived our room, the door's handle is rusted, the room is dark, wallpaper and paints are peeled off, the design of bathroom is not user friendly - no place to put your own stuffs, and furnitures are old.

Though the location is excellent for this hotel, you should avoid stay in their "classic" rooms but look for alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear James H,

Thank you for your taking the time to review our hotel and for your compliments on our friendly associates. We have taken cognizance of your feedback on the room and will be taking the necessary action. As far as your suggestion on the decor, we are pleased to apprise you that the Management is currently in the process of renovating and upgrading many aspects of the hotel. Had we been made aware of your discomfort prior to your departure we could have attempted to find you a recently renovated room.

We look forward to your next visit, confident you will notice the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Edison is a longtime favorite due to excellent proximity to the theaters and Restaurant Row. The marvelous Art Deco lobby murals are a timeless welcome back to our New York "home base." During Hurricane Sandy, it even housed our daughter. If you find a place that works for you in The City, you stick with it. On a recent trip to The Edison, renovation on the 20th floor left our heads weary and rattled, so we lobbied for different space. The hotel was completely booked with NYU graduation and other events in town. The manager pledged to find us space for the night and, if more space became available, to move us to different rooms. He didn't try to change our minds; he worked at it during different parts of the day and eventually found a way to make it work to our satisfaction and relief. We liked his "can-do" spirit so well, we bought him fancy cookies from Beurre & Sel. Yes it's an old hotel. I like to think of it as one experienced at providing safe haven in a city that never sleeps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear WriteHouse,

We are Grateful for your participation in reviewing our Hotel. We are happy to read that our hotel is your "Home Base" in NYC! Thank you for expressing your satisfaction with our Front Desk Manager and their "can do" attitude. We are happy to provide a safe haven that provides relief from the beautiful chaos that can be Times Square. If you wish to contact Guest Relations at the Hotel Edison to further inquire, comment or express your experience, we are always available to assist. We look forward to your next visit at your Home away form home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edison Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Hotel Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#244 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edison Hotel Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional twenty-two-story hotel with Art Deco touches, situated in the heart of the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edison Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.