We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Edison Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edison Hotel Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 15%
Ranked #291 of 449 hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What can I say, the location of this hotel is unbeatable. 2 minute walk to time square, surrounded by places to eat, things to do and different modes of transportation. Perfect spot for tourists and first time visitors. You will find a different type of tour around every corner. For those who enjoy walking, many tourists attractions are under a 30 minute walk... Rockefeller Centre, 5th Ave, Empire State Building, the Hudson River Piers and even Central Park. And for those who don't enjoy walking and for attractions that are a bit further away - subways and busses as the plentiful (get a 7 day metro pass, unlimited riding for $30 US).

We stayed in a newly renovated/updated room (signature king). Thank goodness we did because the hotel itself is quite old. Due to its age, the rooms are a tad on the smaller side when compared to newer hotels. But the furniture was modern. And our room and sheets were always clean. One room had a king size bed, 2 night stands, a chest and TV (lots of room to store clothes, especially important when staying for 7 days). The living space had a pull out couch, work desk, refrigerator and a closet. Washroom looked modern and was clean. Water pressure from the sink tap was good, but somewhat weak in the shower (seams to be a recurring complaint when read in other reviews). Besides that, not much to complain about. Towels were plenty and it was always clean when wr came back from touring.

We stayed from June 28th to July 5th. A total of 7 nights which allowed us to save 25% off our total (hotel promotion, playef a big part in choosing a hotel). Off those 7 days, every day was hot and humid. Coming into an air conditioned lobby and room was wonderful. But what was not so wonderful was the non air conditioned elevators and hallways. You could just feel your clothes sticking to you - worst feeling ever.

I didn't get a chance to really interact with hotel staff except for the front desk. Upon arrival they were quite helpful and a bell hop helped us with our luggage up to the 20th floor. Was always greeted with a smile by all employees - front desk, door men and cleaning ladies. As said before our rooms were always clean when we came back from touring which was greatly appreciated.

Overall a great stay. I would highly recommend the signature rooms of this hotel to friends and family who plan on visiting New York City.

One last thing... Because we stayed in a signature room, our WiFi was free which was awesome! Especially for Canadians who don't want to incur data roaming charges. It was nice to be able to come "home" and post photos without worrying about charges.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Jason Diaz at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear kruzcris,

Thank you for your Feedback and for sharing your experience and tips for future guests. Please keep in touch via social media. We hope to welcome you at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    963
    2,113
    1,093
    404
    305
See reviews for
1159
1313
187
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moreton United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel in great location, hotel undergoing refurbishment we stayed in a classic king not yet done the room is a bit dated but large, only one plug in room the bed was really comfortable , the bathroom is very small the hair dyer right next to the sink, WATER and ELECTRIC don't mix, the shower was good with plenty of hot water Cleaners changed towels everyday and kept room spotless, all the staff in the hotel were lovely. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Jason Diaz at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Gillian340,

We Thank you for your feed back, and we truly appreciate all concerns and recommendations mentioned. We will certainly present this information to our Director of Engineering. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, a huge sorry for taking so long to write this review!! I would like to thank everyone at hotel Edison for a WONDERFUL, FANTASTIC,AMAZING stay for my 21st birthday!
The hotel has such great facilities, the location is fabulous!! The hotel was very clean and the room we stayed in was so nice, not that we spent much time in it as we was out all the time! New York is amazing and truly is the city that never sleeps!
It was my 2nd visit to New York and 2nd visit to the hotel, it was my mum's first time in New York and she loved it just as much as me :)
I wouldn't give any other hotel the time of day - ENOUGH SAID.
The staff was sooooooo friendly, from reception, to maids to security to EVERYONE! Just wow! Will be for certain returning in the near future which I can't wait! A MASSIVE MASSIVE THANKYOU to the one and only amazing Gloria! I thank you for all you did and all your help and for making our stay extra special I would return solely just to see you :) Also, Arthur the security man, what a lovely guy, THANKYOU to you for all your help too.
I'm a little sad thinking about our stay as I miss it so much, all il say is see you soon :) xxx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Amylizzi,
Thank you so much for your brilliant review. We are really glad that the second time around was as good as the first and that you had an amazing 21st birthday. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations. I remember you and your Mum. Please let her know that the Signature Terrace Suite with the river view is waiting for your next visit. Hope you have convinced your Dad to join you. We look forward to the opportunity to show all of you the same hospitality on your next visit. Please keep in touch. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is a few yards from Time Square and very close to the Broadway theatres. You can walk to a number of subway stations and highlights like MOMA. We stayed in a Signature Suite which was reasonably well appointed, albeit in drab brown. The bed was very firm. We were near the top of the building so it was reasonably quiet. The staff were efficient, although impersonal as might be expected in such a large hotel. Breakfast was in a diner next door which was adequate. The Sofia restaurant in the hotel was very good and we ate there several times. Don't book airport transport from the booth on the ground floor. We got charged about 50% more than if we had booked on line with the same company.

Room Tip: Go to a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear NZGrant,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that our Signature Room was to your satisfaction.Your concerns regarding the Transportation will be passed along to their management.
Please do not let it be too long before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

First the good: great location in Times Square, cool old building, most of the staff was friendly and helpful, our shower was good despite some others' experiences.

Now the not so good : small room with extremely small bathroom - difficult for 4 people in a double queen classic room, not enough outlets in the room, noisy due to ongoing renovations, very hard and uncomfortable bed

Overall, fine since you don't spend much time in your hotel room in NY anyway.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Traveling Texans_11,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you liked our location and the property, our staff and the shower. We were very sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied with the size of your accommodations.
Our hotel was built in 1931 when room size expectations were more modest and in a city where space is always at a premium. We do have varying size rooms in our hotel but during times of high occupancy, as was the case during your stay, we must make use of all the rooms at our disposal. Additionally, some rooms are smaller due to the architectural design of the building.
We look forward to welcoming you back to larger accommodations the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our rating of the Edison Hotel would be 2.5/5 (not 3/5), if half marks were available on this site.

We stayed at the Edison hotel during the last week of June as a group of 12 people on a business/pleasure type trip of exploring the city’s art and culture.

ROOM ISSUES:

Most of us stayed in the “Classic Two Queen Beds” suites, with 2-3 guests per room and the best we could say was that our accommodations were “ok” or “decently clean” (for the majority but NOT for ALL of us). For most of us there weren’t any dire issues with our stay, however there seemed to be something amiss with each of our rooms.

My roommates and I had 2 lamps that weren’t working and when we inquired about getting those fixed we were met with an annoyed attitude from the woman at the front desk. The next day only one of our lamps seemed fixed, until it stopped working again shortly after. We also had a temperamental shower which would go from hot to cold, but apparently we weren’t the only ones.

One pair of our friends found a large yellow stain on one of their mattresses. For entertainment they had a phantom TV that would turn on by itself in the middle of the night. Also, in their suite the shower and door knob were broken, which turned out be very tiresome hassle to try and get some customer service to fix.

And another pair of our colleagues was bitten by bed bugs during their first night. Yes, that’s right - BED BUGS. But thankfully, they were relocated to a new room and their clothes were laundered.

Though, a pair of our other friends said their room was perfectly normal. They seemed to have been lucky.

FURTHER NOTES/TIPS:
Overall, what we all thought was lacking were safes - where we could store some valuables, a small refrigerator - to keep some (of at least our own) beverages in, and a lock on the bathroom door – for obvious privacy reasons.

Now, we realize that those features weren’t described to be included on the hotel’s website- but we felt they, especially the safe, should be logical additions to any hotel, particularly one in New York. How many people would feel safe leaving their passports/electronics/money etc. in unlocked drawers in a hotel room? How many would feel safe carrying them all with them in a busy city predisposed to pickpocketing? To improvise those of us who had mini locks for our suitcases reluctantly stored some of our valuables there.

A fridge would have been most desirable during the week of our stay as well. It was very hot in the city during that time and it would have been nice to even have a tiny refrigerator to store our water bottles and snacks overnight. But we’re guessing the lack of such appliances is a strategy for getting guests to purchase more items at the hotel and around the city. Shame.
Also, to be clear – the “wifi access” in the room description means PAID wifi access, not free.
Another note I’ll make is that the room may be quite noisy when trying to sleep because of the active nightlife of New York potentially surrounding you from all directions. The walls and windows are quite thin, so you may easily eavesdrop on your neighbors whether you want to or not, and meditate to the sounds of the nightly street construction happening right below. Maybe if the windows and walls were better insulated the noise would be reduced, but for now, if you’re a light sleeper - I suggest ear plugs.

Also, I suggest packing an extension cord if you enjoy using things like hair curlers or straighteners. I can’t speak for all the rooms, but ours did not have an outlet close to the mirror. There was one of course in the bathroom, but if it that was preoccupied, you’d have to be quite inventive at improvising.

In the end, we agreed that we probably wouldn’t come back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Apparently checking for bedbugs is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mariya O,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the shortcomings you encountered during your stay. As with any renovation, there are sometimes glitches that need to be sorted out and we are in the process of addressing any outstanding items that need attention. We would however like to point out that we have specialized exterminaters check our rooms on a weekly basis and the hotel does not have a bed-bug problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is in the middle of renovating their rooms so some are nice and others are pretty cramped, old, and in some places, dirty. The batrooms are a small as a closet with a shower that changes from hot to cold the entire time you are using it. If you arrive before your check-in time, they will hold your bags for a separate chqrge of $0.50 per bag which is ridiculous since any decent hotel will do this for free as a courtesy to their paying guests. The staff is mostly helpful outside of an unhelpful man at the front desk, Ronaldo. It's a block away from Times Square which is good and bad. It makes it more convenient to get to places via public transportation, but you will be surrounded by hundreds of thousands of tourists at all times. A little tip if you stay here: There is more to NYC than Times Square. Overall, stay somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear mmvvpp,
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate all of your comments, including the pros and cons. We are glad that overall our hotel met with your expectations. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edison Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Hotel Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edison Hotel Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional twenty-two-story hotel with Art Deco touches, situated in the heart of the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edison Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.