We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Edison hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Edison Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edison Hotel Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 15%
Ranked #291 of 449 hotels in New York City
Stockholm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Edison hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just returned last night from our first visit to New York. The Edison hotel is in a fantastic location,
within walking distance to many attractions and not more than about 40 meters to times square.We saved on metro fares by being able to walk to many places.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpfull.The hotel restaurants and bars are very well priced and the quality is higher than many other places on times square.The room was very clean and although very close to times square the noise level was fully acceptable. I would without a doubt
use this hotel again.A coffee machine or kettle in the room would make this hotel perfect for my
next trip.

Room Tip: High up is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Alldar,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are grateful to have had the opportunity to serve you. For your future stays, our Superior King rooms and our Signature rooms are all equipped with coffee makers and many other amenities. Please keep in touch via social media. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    963
    2,113
    1,093
    404
    305
See reviews for
1159
1313
187
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I booked the Edison Hotel on their online site after researching hotels in my price range in Times Square & ended up choosing Edison because of it's location and historic appeal. I was very impressed with the value of this hotel. First off, the staff was friendly and efficient. My son and I got to the hotel a couple of hours before check in and thought we'd just leave our bags and head out until 3. When we went to the front desk we were given a room immediately, no questions asked. Our room was clean and good sized with a king bed and a small sitting area. The bathroom was generously stocked with all kinds of toiletries and towels. The hotel was quiet and restful and the bed & pillows were comfortable. I was impressed as I booked the least expensive room. But really, the thing that makes this hotel fabulous is the location! Steps from TKTS, the subway and all things in Times Square!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Elizabeth S, Thank you for your positive review. It sound like you were booked one of our new Superior King rooms. We are so glad that it met with your approval, and that you loved our location. Thank you for recognizing our staff as well. Please keep in touch via social media. We look forward to welcoming you and your son back to the Hotel Edison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I first stayed at the Edison in October 2012 with two girlfriends. My second stay was in February 2013. Both stays were extremely enjoyable.
When you arrive at the Edison the doorman always greets you with a smile. Security is always standing inside the door next to the elevators. These gentlemen have a wealth of information on getting around the city!
The front desk staff is efficient and friendly. I have never had to wait for someone to address me at the counter.
I have stayed in three different types of rooms (two twin room, two queen room and a renovated two queen) and all were clean and comfortable.The mattresses and bedding were perfect and the bathrooms were clean and well stocked. The renovated room was especially lovely...loved the shower and "flower" tissues.
There is a restaurant attached to the hotel. I have only used it for coffee and breakfasts. The food is tasty and reasonably priced. Service is fast...perfect when you have a whole day planned.
NYC is easy to navigate from the Edison.I was able to walk to many attractions. There are numerous subway entrances near the hotel for exploring other parts of the city. Stop by the concierge desk and you will get a detailed map to help you explore. After a day of sightseeing, I really appreciated the hotel having two entrances. I always chose the closest!
During my last visit I had the opportunity to meet Gloria, the guest relations manager at the Edison. She is a lovely woman who prides herself on making your stay at the Edison a memorable and enjoyable one.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Maresha,
Thank you for the positive comments regarding the cleanliness, service and location of the hotel.
We want to pass along our gratitude to those who contribute and as a result pass on their wisdom, experience and knowledge. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel Edison and would love to have you to stay in our home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've stayed at the Edison now about a dozen times, most recently in February 2013, and in December 2012. As many have noted, you cannot beat the location of this hotel - museums, shows, eateries, etc. We've always had a great time staying at the Edison - it's always been clean and comfortable. They have a great, accommodating staff, the best doormen in NYC, and a great Deco lobby. The Edison Cafe is THE place to get your breakfast. Our most recent stay was the first time we were in one of the upgraded rooms on the 20th floor. The room is comparable with some of the best hotels I've stayed at around the world. The bathroom was beautifully updated and the bed and furniture were equally as nice and comfortable. I must admit though, I have a fondness for the older rooms too, and hope that they will preserve at least a few floors of these rooms to those of us that enjoy them. Still the best deal in NYC, price-wise. Sure, you can find a fancier hotel in NYC, but how much time do you spend in your room in NYC?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear David C, What makes us the most happy is satisfied guests, and this review is fabulous!
Our aim is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to know our entire team has done that for you. We are so glad that our Signature rooms have lived up to your expectations. We trust we will see you again soon in your New York home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked this hotel on Priceline. It was listed as a 4-star Express Deal. By choosing one of these express deals on Priceline you dont know what 4-star hotel you get until you hit submit. It was listed as a 4-star hotel, restaurant, and fitness room. The result for us came up with Edison Hotel. As we have been reading the reviews it sounds like there is definitely nicer/remodeled floors and older non-remodeled not so nice floors. I called today to confirm our reservation and to see how we can make sure we are on one of the nicer remodeled floors. The front desk lady informed me that since we had booked it on Priceline and got "a deal" we would not be able to stay on one of the nicer/remodeled room floors. I am leery to see what floor/room we will get now. The location of this hotel looks great supposedly right next to the Marriott Marquis but paying over $200/night for a older room seems crazy. We dont go until April of this year. Once we do I will update my review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Danandstacie,
We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel Edison. Please send me an email with the reservation details and I can make notations of your preferences. We will make every effort to make you stay with us as comfortable and worry-free as possible. Kind Regards, Gloria Pierrot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been staying at The Edison since 1984 and continue to enjoy my stays here. There is something extremely comforting about a facility that reflects "Old New York" charm in a simplistic way. The staff is gracious and very helpful. My room this visit was clean, neat, and small, but, for a single traveler, all my needs were met. Yes, if you want glamour and glitz, there are other places. So go there if that is what you require in order to be happy. This establishment provides all the comfort, cleanliness, and security that any traveler should need. I always return and in 29 years, I have never had a bad Hotel Edison experience. Russell Johnson

Room Tip: If you have problems with your accommodations, then contact the Front Desk. They are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Russell Johnson,
Out heartfelt thanks for such a great review. Your kind words and high marks means so much to us as we work hard to ensure that each guest's experience is satisfactory. We must be doing something right if you have patronized our property for 29 years. Here's to many more!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. Stayed in April 2012. They didnt have our booking, front desk staff weren't very helpful. We were put in a filthy room, which for the price we were paying we werent happy with, so they upgraded us to their renovated level - which was still gross.
The shower was covered in mould, we had to request a new shower curtain as it was covered in mould. Yes it's New York so the rooms were small, it was a bed to sleep to in at the end of the day and thats about it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriaPierrot, Guest Relations Manager at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Leeshie83,
We are sorry you had such a disappointing stay last April. It has been almost a year since your visit and we are happy to apprise you that many of our guest rooms have undergone renovations and we are proud to introduce our Signature and Superior rooms. We hope to welcome you back, and are confident you will notice the transformation and be pleased in one of these room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edison Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Hotel Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edison Hotel Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional twenty-two-story hotel with Art Deco touches, situated in the heart of the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edison Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.