We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Golden Age of New York City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Edison Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edison Hotel Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 15%
Ranked #292 of 451 hotels in New York City
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Golden Age of New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Anyone visiting New York City for the first time will find it a daunting task choosing an hotel that is convenient for all the attractions that the city that never sleeps has to offer. New York covers a vast area and when choosing an hotel from a holiday brochure it is often unclear how far from the city centre the hotel might be. The Hotel Edison is probably a good a choice as any for a centrally located hotel, being on West 47th Street, just yards from Times Square itself.

Though Times Square is so close to the hotel, I found that it was still sufficiently enough away from the hustle and bustle as to provide a good nights sleep. There was the garbage truck under our window every morning that disturbed my sleep but that was about all. The city is alive with noise, sirens, car horns etc, so no one should come to New York City for peace and quiet.

The main reason I picked the Hotel Edison as my base for our stay in NYC was because of its period charm, reflecting the heady atmosphere of the 1930s. The hotel retains many aspects of the art deco period and was my main reason for staying there. From the lobby with its art deco splendour to the door furnishings, the Hotel Edison retains that feel of pre-war decadence. I half expected a young flapper to dance a Charleston, such was the ambience of the Edison.

The staff were always very helpful and attended to our needs without fuss or argument. The rooms were comfortable, clean and tidy. While we were there at the beginning of October, it was unusually hot and humid in NYC. The air conditioning in our room proved to be a god send, as was the shower. Room service was prompt and efficient and the chamber maids were friendly and always smiling, indicating a happy crew.

The adjoining Edison Diner was good value for money and we had a few breakfasts in there. The diner also proved a lifeline for us as there are no tea making facilities in the rooms of the Edison and as an Englishman I need my tea.

As the Hotel Edison is so central everything is within easy reach. There are many theatres situated nearby so it is easy to get to a Broadway Show. The Marquis Theatre is at the rear of the hotel, on W46th street and we caught 'Evita' there, though there were many other shows within walking distance. The Grayline sightseeing tour buses pick up on Broadway and are the best way to get around NYC and see most of what you'd expect to see. Have a walk a few blocks west to 8th or 9th Avenue and sample the the cosmopolitan vibes of the many restaurants and eateries to be found in that area, Hell's Kitchen by name but Heavenly by nature and at reasonable prices rather than the tourist traps of Broadway.

In conclusion I would say that if you want sterile, modern surroundings go elsewhere, but if you want to get a feel of NYC as it was in the glamorous 1930s , the Hotel Edison is the ideal hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade to a King Suite if you want a bed the size of a tennis court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to show you the same hospitality on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    981
    2,133
    1,105
    405
    305
See reviews for
1179
1326
190
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Arrived Sunday as New York City was just gearing up for Hurricane Sandy. There was a dripping faucet in the bathroom but they had a repair guy up within 20 minutes of my call who stayed till it was fixed - no more problems from that. The staff was very friendly in what I know had to be a trying time for them. They managed to make the hotel guests feel important. Cafe Edison was able to stay open despite much of the restaurants in the area being closed. My five night stay (extended twice from the original 3) was pleasant in an incredibly well-located hotel with a slightly better price than some of the area hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with our polite and helpful staff during a difficult time. We would love the opportunity to show you the same hospitality on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have visited New York before, but we took our eighteen year old son and fifteen year old daughter this time. The hotel is in a great position and was good value for money. All the staff were friendly and courteous and offered good help and advice when asked. Our only complaint would be that the rooms need better sound proofing, we were twelve floors up but could hear workmen working throughout the night ( even heard one sneeze)!! This did not detract from a lovely stay. We did the usual sightseeing and would definitely advise an early start if you want to do the Liberty & Ellis island tour as the queue started at about 8 in the morning. Also you have to book a time slot to visit the memorial at Ground Zero which I didn't realise. The cafe adjoined to the hotel is brilliant for breakfast which saved us time in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much. We are so pleased that you decided to join us in New York along with your children. Please accept our apologies for work being done by the city in the street. We hope to welcome you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was part of a party of 6 that stayed at The Edison last week during the hurricane that hit NY. The hotel was very clean, and the staff were very helpful and polite. Gloria, from guest services was particularly helpful.

The rooms very adequate, very clean, always with fresh towels and a good maid service. The furniture was outdated, but with new flat screen TV's.

The cafe was very reasonable with very fast service and tasty breakfasts - very busy at times.

The hotel is within 50 yds of Times Square, absolutely fabulous location. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
An effusive expression of thanks for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

would not recommend this hotel to anyone. They charge the earth and do not provide the aminities to go with it. The room very small, the bathroom the paint work peeling off the pipes. rusty old bath. We were on the 4th floor and all the paint work on that floor need work urgently.
Al the staff very friendly though.
No tea/ coffee makers in the rooms only on the 20th floor. Simply not really good enough and when I asked why I was not given an explanation. would I go there again no.

Room Tip: not sure if there are any good points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to share that we have concluded renovations of many of our rooms. The management’s endeavor has always been to offer our guests a contemporary product. In line with this, further upgrades in a phased manner are already scheduled. All Signature rooms (20th floor) do come equipped coffee makers, and we are launching more Signature rooms by the end of this week. We are confident that you will notice the difference in your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For over $400 a night, you think they could provide a working hairdryer that didn't appear to be a fire hazard! The plus side: we wanted a 2-bed room and the room was very generously-sized for Manhattan. That part was excellent. But the bathroom was super-tiny and appeared to be dated from the 1950's, including the hair dryer. Unfortunately, I didn't pack my own and I foolishly washed my hair relying on their's. It came on, glowed very hot red with almost no air flow, then died. I didn't want to disturb my husband's sleep by calling the desk, and I only had a little time before I had to hoof it to my meeting anyway. I went down to the desk and asked for access to a hair dryer. They said they couldn't help me. I went into the bathroom and tried to use the hand dryer for my hair (clue -- don't do this, the Dyson Airblade will twist your hair into knots). Another client in the restroom said all of the room hair dryers were like that and there was a trick to get them to work. At over $400 a night, they could replace most of them in the hotel for the price of my 2-night stay.

On the plus side, the breakfast at Cafe Edison is really inexpensive, very tasty, and arrives to you in seconds. A great place to get breakfast or a quick lunch!

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Let us apologize for the issues you had with the hair dryer at our hotel recently. Our Housekeeping department would have gladly brought you up a new one. We are glad that you found the size of the room satisfactory and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for five nights (18-22 October) at the end of a holiday for my 40th that had already taken us to Vegas and Toronto.
Visited New York back in 2005 so already knew that this was an excellent location. It's very Art Deco and yeah it could do with a little sprucing up but is still pretty cool. Our room was on 16th floor and again, a little dated, could do with a new carpet, but otherwise was fine. It was cleaned every day and we had no issues.
We spent a night in the connected bar called The Rum House, there were an old fashioned band singing 20s/30s style songs. We loved it, like being in Boardwalk Empire !
Wouldn't have a problem staying again !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Edison Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We thank you for your courteous comment and rating. We indeed do have the advantage of being in a great location, in the heart of almost everything. Many of our rooms have recently been renovated and we look forward to serving your family and you in one of them, on your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edison Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Hotel Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between 8th Avenue and Broadway, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edison Hotel Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional twenty-two-story hotel with Art Deco touches, situated in the heart of the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Edison Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.