We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Edison - Best buck for your money near Times Square” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edison Times Square to your Saves list
Hotel Edison Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Special 20%
Ranked #292 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Edison - Best buck for your money near Times Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

As my title says, it is best buck for your money if this doesn't cross $200/night. I stayed here at $140/Night in month of April.

Overall Decent hotel but it's old hotel. The furniture, carpet and rooms are old and have not been upgraded since long time. The good thing is that room are at least clean.

The best thing is location, you are out of your hotel and are hardly 1 block away from Times Square.

It also has got a decent bar, where sometimes there is live music with one guy singing.

Also, they have got Diner, where I had nice breakfast and their Omelette was really amazing. Make sure you have cash for the restaurant as far as I remember they don't accept credit card in the Diner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from discerning guests such as yourself. We are in the process of renovations to several of our rooms, and we look forward to having you stay in one of them on uyour next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    2,287
    1,195
    423
    310
See reviews for
1,390
1,608
223
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughters and I have just returned from staying at Hotel Edison in NYC. We have been staying with this hotel since 2002 and have never been disappointed! The rooms are spacious and always very clean! The whole staff is very friendly & always ready to answer any question you may have. I especially like the fact that you can stow your luggage for a short time to go make a last purchase before going to the airport! I rate Hotel Edison 5 Stars in my book! THANKS for a great place to stay in NYC .... conveniently located in the heart of Times Square! Job well done ..... Will be back!!! Bonnie, Hannah & Hollie N.C.

Room Tip: Every room I've stayed in is spacious ... Great restaurant as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We want to pass along our gratitude to those who contribute and as a result pass on their wisdom, experience and knowledge. Thank you for your loyalty for the past 10 years and for the positive comments regarding the cleanliness, service and location of the hotel. We are glad you chose the Edison and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Edison Hotel for 6 nights in NYC. Love the location and the fact that it "spans" the block, so we could enter from 47th or 46th. Room was as expected, we stripped the old bedspread off which was a big improvement. Our window actually had a VIEW!! and we could see the Hudson from the window at the end of the hall. Great discount for 5+ night stay. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are so grateful that you have taken the time to post feedback about your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure when guests are satisfied. We look forward to your next stay with great anticipation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Edison Hotel NYC was 1/2 block from Broadway/Time Sqare...between 47th and 46th st...
and 1/2 block from 8th ave. From check in to check out...everything and everybody went perfect.
Price, location, room size, all were great..only one problem only ice machine was on second floor.
we stopped there on way up to our floor...11th...great beds, flat screen tv, old fasioned tub shower but fun and very clean...all hotel employees were extremely helpful...

Room Tip: ask for upper floor as above the 7th they are quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with our location, and helpful staff. We would love the opportunity to show you the same hospitality on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is a great location but the rooms need a little face lift. Close to Times Square and all the essentials for a great trip to New York. Have used this hotel for the past 4 years and would recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your loyalty to the Hotel Edison. Your kind words and high marks means so much to us as we work hard to ensure that your stay is satisfactory. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Edison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I went to NYC with a friend and just came back home yesterday. So tired! Anyway, I have to agree with the ealier review. I stayed on the 16th floor and I have to say it is a fantastic location and literally on the door step of Times Square. The room i stayed in was very dated, very basic and so was the bathroom. It did the job which was a base to come back to but I was disappointed that the corridor leading to the room and the room itself wasn't up to dated enough. The reception staff were a little abrupted but the other staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with some parts or your recent stay. However, we are glad that you loved our location, and that you found most of our staff to be helpful. We hope that you will give us another chance to earn your trust in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location just of Times Square central for everything. Rooms were basic but clean needed refreshed. Staff weren't to friendly could have been nicer. However location more than makes up for any issues. Would use again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate all of your comments, and the opportunity to see things from a guests’ viewpoint. We are currently in the process of renovations to many of our room types. We are glad that you will consider staying with us again on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edison Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.