We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Rooms with BED BUGS!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edison Times Square to your Saves list
Hotel Edison Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location, Average Rooms with BED BUGS!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here for five nights. First impression was good, nice lobby and easy check in. The room was average, two double beds and a bathroom (took us 2 days to find the light!). It was a manageable sized room, but could have been a lot bigger.
My biggest shock came on our 3rd morning, I had been coming up in rashes and bumps for 2 days - but then found a bed bug. The hotel staff moved us to another, much downgraded room, and we had to pay to store our luggage all day while we were waiting for another room. Not pleasent.

The location however - is AMAZING! Less than 30 seconds to Times Square and really close to Broadway. I guess the location made up for a lot of it!

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up, as it is quieter. Preferably on the back of the hotel, the side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    2,503
    1,279
    451
    324
See reviews for
1,532
1,767
239
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Typical New York hotel, with the livrédressed bellboys outside, good service and lots of elevators, ongoing refurbishing during our stay but otherwize super!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

As with most reveiws of the Edison the hotel in seconds away from Time Square. The room we had was on the 7h floor and was SMALL we could not unpack as there was just no room. The staff where freindly and the security was good. Security based at the lift lobby and asked to see you key card before letting you pass. We didnt eat in the hotel so cant say what the food was like but again if you want to be in the heart of it and dont mind small rooms i would stay here. Next time in NYC I will

Room Tip: Get room at back of hotel street side can be nosiey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallins, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Myself & 5 girls stayed there for a 21st Birthday in June. Hotel has a location you could die for, right down the street from the visitor stairs in Times Square. We had a room with 2 double beds, very spacious & bright. We even had a "roof top" - that no one is supposed to know about so hush. Bathroom....as for 5 girls it was amazingly small!! im surprised it was a bathroom and not a closet - im not making excuses but i guess for times square location with all these rooms in one building they were trying save space, but i mean having nearly going into the bathroom sideways its not exactly cool.... thank god we are all skinny because i mean otherwise good luck .... Seriously. View amazing - on times square especially at night i mean wow. - but maybe thats only from where our room was? i cant speak for other rooms. you can store your luggage after check-out for some funny money, something like $6? thats really nothing.
hotel is pricey , but im guessing the location has a lot to do with it, but we paid - $360 for ONE night, but thats new york for you - thank god there were 6 of us.

Great location, spacious rooms just the bathroom is a bit shocking at first. overall had a good stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I order borsht, or matzo brie, or potato pancakes, or kasha varnishkas. I go straight to heaven. Yum! Plentiful and inexpensive. The servers are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

the great thing about this hotel is the location, the worst thing about the hotel is the so called shuttle bus service, we were told it should take 35 mins to get to the airport from the hotel so we booked it for 5.00pm we were flying out at 9.00pm, what they didnt tell us was there are more pick ups on the way to the airport all over new york city, we jus made the airport with two mins to check in, .. the transportation area in the hotel should tell you this when you ar booking it , we were two hours on the bus,, the hotel is basic,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

One of the cheaper hotels in Times Square. I visited on a study trip with my university. Had a few problems with getting new bath towels and had to change rooms twice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edison Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.