We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Christmas in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is a great hotel. We booked through expedia and did a lot of research prior to choosing this hotel. The location is very convenient as well. 39th & Park. Central station is 3 blocks away.

The check in was quick and easy and the staff were very accommodating. We were able to check in early around noon and our room was amazing for a boutique hotel. The beds and pillows were awesome. The room did not have a coffee maker, which I never really use, but it had everything else. I will say that not having complimentary coffee in the lounge in the morning was the only turnoff I had.

There are only 2 elevators and I thought that was going to be a problem but they were very quick. The bath towels were good, not the best, and the shower was really really good. It had the hand held wand and Amazon style shower head.

I always try to stay in a non-chain hotel when I travel to nyc. I definitely recommend this place.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    269
    49
    24
    11
See reviews for
115
388
49
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Now, we wanted to venture out of the normal Manhattan areas. So we ended up in Murray Hill. Have to say a very good location and if you like walking you can get to most areas. It is also very close to Grand central Station, so get your metro card, which is very good value. Now for the hotel. Little disappointment no reception or bar to speak of all sort of thrown in together as normal a little bit warn. The room which was a huge great bath, (green water normal just keep running the tap. Honestly that is what I was told. I don't think the housekeeping was quite up to scratch. Room 300 Bag in bottom draw with crumbs in draw also the handle was also missing and bed side table draw fell out when you opened. Good coffee machine and staff always happy to provide more. The staff were really friendly and pleasant.. The room is on the front so quite noisy sirens.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase Maryland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Reservations: easily made with TripAdvisor.
Check-in: fast friendly and helpful.
Room: huge by NYC standards, with a great big bathroom. Very quiet. Very modern decor. Extremely comfortable bed. Great black out curtains. Minimal street noise, although we left the fan on all night for some white noise. Spotlessly clean. Great bath products. Fantastic soaking bath tub.
Location: in Murray Hill, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Easy walk to Grand Central Station.
Check-out: fast efficient and friendly.

NOT a bargain hotel but affordable luxury.

Room Tip: Flirt with the front desk guy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are xtremely large as compared to the standard in manhattan. Nice bathrooms and quiet room. Personnel was very friendly. The location is just steps south from Grand station and public library (must see) and Chrysler building and of course shopping too. Will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a great stay at the Tuscany this past weekend. Our "usual" NY hotel was booked so we gave this one a shot. Just a block from Grand Central- easy to get on the subway to go uptown/downtown, and a 15 min walk to 5th/midtown. Loved not having to lug my bag halfway across the city or in a cab/subway!

Requested a room with a view of the Chrysler if possible. When we got up to the room, it was HUGE- felt bigger than my first apartment, and had a fantastic view. Bed was super comfortable, and the room was spotless. There was minimal street noise too.

We would absolutely return!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here because of the good trip advisor ratings.
Very disappointed, however, mainly because of the lack of a good nights sleep.
There is no soundproofing in the doors or windows. People in the hall and then their room were very loud at 4 am ruining one nights sleep. Even at other times of the night, each and every night, people going to their rooms woke us multiple times a night. It made the days in NYC difficult as we were always exhausted. It was so bad that it took a few days at home to make up for all the lost sleep. A lot of people come in to their rooms at 1 am , 2 am, etc after time out drinking, so they are a bit louder and more inconsiderate than when sober, and combined with the lack of insulation in the doors, it sounds like they are inside your room.
Also, the windows don't block any noise and are old and should be replaced. There is a fair amount of street noise, and it isn't blocked. Also, the windows didn't shut tight so there was a very cold draft on that side of the room. The plumbing made loud noises from time to time. There was no coffee/tea machine. Rooms are quite big and spacious.
The doors were very loud when shutting. Nice comfortable mattress. Most of the staff was friendly.
We have stayed in over 10 different hotels in NYC over the past 30 years, and this was clearly the noisiest room and worst sleep we have had.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and i stayed in this hotel for two nights whilst travelling to New York and then to Montreal. We found the hotel very good; clean at first sight although i could see that it was a bit dusty around the windows and the edges of the room; price = not expensive for New York; at least they do not charge you for leaving your suitcases at reception and they have wifi in the bedrooms. Location was very central, but what is central in Manhattan; this hotel was well positioned.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.