We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I recently visited NYC for business and stayed at The Tuscany for one night. Check in ws handled by a charming front desk clerk who made the process easy and incredibly quick. Upon entering the room, I was irritated that I was only staying one night. The hotel was recently remodeled and the rooms were beautiful with Molton Brown bath products. The hotel was central to everything I needed to do. The only negative was the noise level. I stayed on the 3rd floor and heard quite a bit of street noise. It certainly didn't interrupt my sleep and was quickly forgotten as I jumped into the comfy bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    256
    43
    21
    10
See reviews for
109
360
48
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had some points on the American Express card and used some to stay here. It was amazing. The location is so perfect. It is right next to Grand Central Station and a short walk from tons of other amazing restaurants and tourist sites. The staff is young and provided a great vibe when we walked in. The guy at the door was amazing with helping us get cabs and assisting us with luggage. The rooms are impressive and super romantic. There is an awesome touch of elegance about this place. The access to Park Avenue makes this hotel worth it. Give this place a chance.

Room Tip: A room that overlooks the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Clayton S,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that our spacious, modern rooms and great location near Grand Central made for such a great stay. We are especially glad to hear that our staff provided warm, friendly service—that’s our goal with each and every guest. Thanks for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany on a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I had always wanted to stay here, but I never got the courage to stray from the W New York. So glad I finally did! The hotel is in the perfect location. You're right next to Grand Central, Bryant Park, and 5th, and despite being around so much, it's in a quiet location. Sleeping was great! The staff was extremely accomodating, and the decor was beautiful. My favorite thing about this hotel was the bathrooms. Don't judge...I am all about bathroom space, I'm a girl (DUH). Don't pass this gem of a hotel up, it's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tuscany for two nights.
the room was very spacious, well decorated, and well equipped.
Shower was nice and large.
The location at 39 between Lexington and Park is central and convenient.
The one downside we found was the noise from the outside. Soundproof windows would a recommended change.
I would return to this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in room 507 in May 2014, as our first visit to NYC. As long as the bed is large and firm and you have a good shower, i am happy at that. I got both of those things here no problem. Room itself was a good size, as was the area for changing and hanging clothes, but the actual bathroom size did not seem quite in proporation to the large size of the rest of the room and was one at a time only. No problem with street noise, but the proximity of the lift and the noise of the AC might bother some.
Reception were freindly and we did not use the breakfast service, so cannot comment there. Handy for the Empire State, Macys, Times Square etc, all maybe 10 mins walk and Grand Central Station maybe 5 mins walk away, so decent mid town location. Considering theres so many bad choices you could make in NYC hotels, i am happy with this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here via the app Hotel Tonight for a very reasonable price. Room was huge, well furnished and comfortable. Check-in staff friendly and overall feel of hotel was very impressive. Thoroughly recommended, especially for the price we got.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I was so surprised of the size of the room. I stayed in the deluxe studio room with a king size bed. The space in the actual room is huge! And i've stayed in very nice hotels in NYC which had muuuuuch smaller rooms (example: jumeira essex and mandarin oriental). The house keeping was great at keeping the room clean everyday.
The only advantage of staying in that area is that it is 5 min walking distance from grand centeal station, but other than that its hard to find very nice restaurants and shops that are walking distance from the hotel. The conceirge at the hotel was suuuuuper sweet and helpful, she helped us plan a day in brooklyn which we had never been to.
Although i enjoyed my stay at this hotel so much and would definately recommend it to others, i do have one small negative comment about the hotel, THE DOOR MEN. I hope the hotel manager is reading this. The doormen are rarely found outside the hotel entrance. And a couple of times i would come in with my hands full of shopping bags and would find them hanging out at the reception. The guys are sweet and polite but they are rarely there to open the door for you when you need them. First day i arrived at the hotel from the airport with 4 huge bags there was no one at the door.



  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#43 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.