We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #73 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tulsa
1 review
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Fabulous location and perfect atmosphere! The hotel has gone under a wonderful renovation and is well worth your stay. Excellent location and the staff is so friendly. Have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Highly recommend staying at the Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Danny S,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! How wonderful to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us, and that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms, our outstanding staff, and our prime location here in Murray Hill. Please come back and visit us again soon!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    305
    53
    26
    11
See reviews for
126
428
50
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

After our first New York hotel experience (see the Manhattan Hotel Times Square) we didn't have the highest of hopes, but I'm pleased to say the Tuscany St Giles and it's staff more than exceeded our expectations. We booked last minute, literally 30 minutes before arriving, but the staff were  more than accommodating with a room that was clean and ready. 

The hotel lobby is small, but neat and tidy with modern finishes. There's also a bar/restaurant. While we didn't try it, it seemed very popular whenever we passed through the lobby. 

The room itself was clean, spacious and well appointed, with modern furniture and a recent renovation (it actually looked like the pictures!). While we were right next to the elevator, we didn't hear a thing. Likewise, outside noise was next to nothing. The view from the room included the Empire State Building, which added to the  overall atmosphere. 

The on site gym is excellent, which we used daily. There is also a basic business centre and  free wifi throughout the hotel.

The hotel location worked well for us, but no where in New York is ever going to be perfect, such is the size of the city. We found most things we wanted to see and do within walking distance, or a cab ride if we were feeling lazy. There is also a great selection of local dining options a short walk away.

Overall we would highly recommend this hotel, and would stay again. 

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear agdcholiday,

What a delight to read your review or your recent stay at The Tuscany—thank you for sharing it here on TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear that you had such a great stay with us, from our great Murray Hill neighborhood location to our spacious modern rooms. We put a lot of thought and detail work into the renovation, and we are always happy to hear that guests notice and enjoy our roomy accommodations. Please come back and visit us again soon.

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

Thanks for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

well located. large room. very good service.
Just a bemol for the bathroom very small and that lack of light. the view from my room was not very exciting but I have been told that other room have a terrific view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear lilith357,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and amenities. And we are always glad know when our staff leaves a great impression—I will be sure to share your kind words with them. We hope that we can make a second visit to The Tuscany even better than the first. We will be happy to request a room with a view and a spacious bath for you!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having spent a lot of time in New York for work and social events, it was only on a recommendation of a friend that we came across The Tuscany St. Giles and what a hidden gem it is. It's small but beautifully decorated to a high boutique standard.
My boyfriend and I were so surprised with the amount of space we had in our room, it's unlike any other hotel room in New York we have stayed in. Though the hustle and bustle of the city is completely silenced. The wall between the rooms and the elevator unfortunately are not. Luckily my partner and I are both deep sleepers so that didn't bother us too much during the night, but was a big distraction when we had to work in our room during the day.

It was great to have a separate vanity area to potential do my make-up and hair, if the lighting around the mirror was brighter...this meant I hogged the bathroom mirror getting ready in the morning to my boyfriends annoyance. We also noticed that the room would have benefited with a full length mirror.

The only downside of the room was the size of the bathroom, which I felt was to small for one person and impossible for a couple. Even though it was equipped with everything you could need and the shower was gorgeous, there was very little space to put our toiletries and to move around.

The staff are very welcoming and always on had if we needed help.
The hotel was in an excellent location, as we're both use to layout of the city and enjoy walking we didn't find the 'distance' to daunting getting around. There are lots of great restaurants close by and lovely cupcake bakery directly opposite the hotel.

The hotel is perfect for business guests and young couples on a romantic getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Nalini B

What a wonderful review of your recent visit to The Tuscany—thank you so much for sharing it here on TripAdvisor! We love it when guests find us on the recommendation of friends and associates (please thank your friend for us!), and we are absolutely delighted that you and your boyfriend had such a great experience. Our outstanding staff is our best asset, and it is a pleasure to learn that they provided the warm, personal service that is our signature. We also appreciate your feedback regarding elevator noise, light in the vanity, and space in the bathroom. Our management team takes guest feedback very seriously, and we will be reviewing your comments as we always seek to improve the guest experience.

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, well located in a quiet street near Grand Central. Nice staff. We had a spacious room with view on the Empire state building and a modern bathroom with italian-style shower. We recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear sonderho,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and that our spacious, modern room and the great view of the Empire State Building made for a memorable stay in New York City. Please come back and visit us again soon!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pros: Close to Grand Central. Extremely large rooms. Nice shower. Recently renovated. Consistent service.

Cons: No good vanity mirror. Sound comes in from under front door a bit. Only one elevator for tenants.

Really a terrific hotel, but I feel it is fair to point out room for improvement. Received a corner room... which was a nice surprise. Great view of the ESB! Left chocolate-covered strawberries... which was a nice touch as well. It being our honeymoon, I would expect a bottle of champagne(like I have heard being done).
Service was good, but might disappoint those that like to be pampered. Room a bit dusty due to the filter on the heater blinking "Replace". Once again... being a tough critic. Would definitely recommend, but if they ironed out the kinks a bit it could be a 5.

Room Tip: Make sure to request the complimentary coffee-maker. Isn't in the room unless you ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear mgdbythesea,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! It was an honor and a pleasure to host you on your honeymoon—we hope that The Tuscany helped to make a for a memorable visit to New York City. We are delighted that you enjoyed one of our Corner Studios with a great view of the Empire State Building. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the lack of a vanity mirror, sound from the hallway, and any elevator issues we were experiencing during your stay—we always relish the opportunity to improve the guest experience. We hope to earn the opportunity to show you a “5” experience on your second visit!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Best...hotel....in....NYC!!!! We just returned from a weekend at the Tuscany and I have already told everyone i know about this place. We arrived a few hours before check-in on Saturday but Nakia was so friendly and went out of her way to get us into a room immediately. I was a bit nervous opening the door, as NYC hotel rooms are notoriously small. Were we ever surprised! Our room was spacious and clean and updated and modern. (we didn't have a corner suite- just the normal room). The bed was sooo comfy, i had to drag myself out of it in the morning. The shower was wonderful- so soothing and relaxing- it helped my sore feet after a long day of walking around the sites. There isn't a lot of counter space in the bathroom, but there was a little sitting area with a huge mirror and comfy red chair for me to "put my face on" and do my hair- something I am not used to at home but I surprisingly really loved. Every once in a while we would hear cabs honking, but seriously people- its NYC. If you can't handle cabs, then don't come to this city. Everyone at the hotel was outgoing and friendly- they really went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied. The perfect hotel in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Calijcab23,

What a delight it was to read your review of The Tuscany – thank you for sharing it here on TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear that Nakia and her colleagues provided such wonderful service, and I will be sure to share your kind words with her and all our staff. And how lovely to hear that our spacious, modern room and amenities were an almost perfect home away from home for your visit to New York City. Please come back and visit us again soon!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.