We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #53 of 452 hotels in New York City
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Huge rooms and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pros: Close to Grand Central. Extremely large rooms. Nice shower. Recently renovated. Consistent service.

Cons: No good vanity mirror. Sound comes in from under front door a bit. Only one elevator for tenants.

Really a terrific hotel, but I feel it is fair to point out room for improvement. Received a corner room... which was a nice surprise. Great view of the ESB! Left chocolate-covered strawberries... which was a nice touch as well. It being our honeymoon, I would expect a bottle of champagne(like I have heard being done).
Service was good, but might disappoint those that like to be pampered. Room a bit dusty due to the filter on the heater blinking "Replace". Once again... being a tough critic. Would definitely recommend, but if they ironed out the kinks a bit it could be a 5.

Room Tip: Make sure to request the complimentary coffee-maker. Isn't in the room unless you ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear mgdbythesea,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! It was an honor and a pleasure to host you on your honeymoon—we hope that The Tuscany helped to make a for a memorable visit to New York City. We are delighted that you enjoyed one of our Corner Studios with a great view of the Empire State Building. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the lack of a vanity mirror, sound from the hallway, and any elevator issues we were experiencing during your stay—we always relish the opportunity to improve the guest experience. We hope to earn the opportunity to show you a “5” experience on your second visit!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    239
    40
    21
    9
See reviews for
99
341
46
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Best...hotel....in....NYC!!!! We just returned from a weekend at the Tuscany and I have already told everyone i know about this place. We arrived a few hours before check-in on Saturday but Nakia was so friendly and went out of her way to get us into a room immediately. I was a bit nervous opening the door, as NYC hotel rooms are notoriously small. Were we ever surprised! Our room was spacious and clean and updated and modern. (we didn't have a corner suite- just the normal room). The bed was sooo comfy, i had to drag myself out of it in the morning. The shower was wonderful- so soothing and relaxing- it helped my sore feet after a long day of walking around the sites. There isn't a lot of counter space in the bathroom, but there was a little sitting area with a huge mirror and comfy red chair for me to "put my face on" and do my hair- something I am not used to at home but I surprisingly really loved. Every once in a while we would hear cabs honking, but seriously people- its NYC. If you can't handle cabs, then don't come to this city. Everyone at the hotel was outgoing and friendly- they really went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied. The perfect hotel in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Calijcab23,

What a delight it was to read your review of The Tuscany – thank you for sharing it here on TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear that Nakia and her colleagues provided such wonderful service, and I will be sure to share your kind words with her and all our staff. And how lovely to hear that our spacious, modern room and amenities were an almost perfect home away from home for your visit to New York City. Please come back and visit us again soon!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

nice place i found, the room was huge, a shame that outside the windows there was nothing to see, but nicely furnished, very soft king bed (extremely soft), service at the front desk is good, Orlando was particularly helpful, location was good, 2 blocks away from grand central station, the neighborhood has good selection of restaurants and bars, 5th avenue is 3 blocks away if you are into shopping

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear paulomb,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted that Orlando and his colleagues provided such great service—I will be sure to share your kinds words with our outstanding staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our spacious rooms, modern amenities and prime location in Murray Hill provided a great New York City experience. And our comfy beds are getting high marks across the board—so glad you enjoyed a restful stay with us. Please come back and visit again soon!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived at The Tuscany on Saturday morning and had the pleasure of being greeted by the very pleasant Nakia who treated us like long lost family... We knew form our initial hello that we were in the right place... As luck shined on us , we were upgraded to a beautiful suite with views of the Chrysler building... location is perfect; 3 blocks to Grand Cental station ... The room was magnificant; great products and very comfortable ... our checkout experience was seemless; was our first visit & can't wait to return... Thank you for the chocolate covered strawberries that were delivered for our anniversary celebration... Thank You all @ The Tuscany !!!

Room Tip: get a view of the Chrysler Building !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear lovetoeat5935,

What a delight it was to read your review of The Tuscany! We pride ourselves on providing warm, personal service to each and every guest, and we love hearing that our associates are leaving a great impression (I will be sure to share your kind words with Nakia!). It was an honor to help you celebrate a special anniversary, and we are so happy to hear that the Loft Suite was a perfect escape in the city. We can’t wait for you to return either!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Tuscany, only having read prior reviews. It is in a great location (E. 39th St.), and because it is not on a main Avenue, it was quiet. All of the staff was friendly and attentive. They seemed truly interested making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The coffee shop had a full breakfast, but you could also just have something light, like pastry, muffins, etc. At night, it turned into an intimate bar where you could have a quiet drink. The beds were comfortable and the bath had all the amenities you could want. The fitness room was bigger than most small hotels with a few treadmills, several elliptical machines and bikes, as well as weights, leg machines, etc. The only suggestion we had was to put a coffee maker in the room and a light on the desk. The hotel is still undergoing remodeling, but our room was comfortable and clean. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bigger bedrooms than others. Our room had a large closet and a bath. Our friends h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Annos,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are always glad to hear that our associates are leaving a great impression, and they really do care about making great experiences for our guests—I will be sure to share your kind words with them. We are delighted that our rooms and modern amenities made for a memorable visit. We are always happy to place a coffeemaker in the room for you (and have one waiting if requested in advance)—we think that this provides the freshest possible machines and products for our guests who prefer coffee in the room. Please do come back and visit us again soon—we would love to make your second visit even better than the first!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We arrived slightly before check-in time but had no trouble getting a room. After reading about how many people were upgraded I'm assuming that we weren't because we'd booked via Priceline and didn't pay their full rate.
Even so we were given a large room with two comfortable beds and a walk-in closet. There were some small things missing however. They don't supply a coffee machine and the minibar is only for the hotel use only. The bathroom was small with very little space to put anything. When I called to ask for some ice I was told that they didn't have room service. I ended up going downstairs to ask for some and John, the really friendly and efficient doorman, told me that whoever answered must be new and that the doormen supplied ice whenever needed.
For tourists the location of the hotel isn't central enough and we found ourselves fighting for a taxi after going to the theater in the evening rather than being able to just walk back to the hotel.
I don't think I'd go back to the hotel but only because of the location. There were a number of decent restaurants in the area which made up for the lack of one in the hotel proper. We didn't feel like standing in line for cheap theater tickets and the concierge at the sister hotel next door was very efficient and got us good seats at whatever play we asked for. I might have preferred someone who had seen the plays and could recommend one or the other.
All in all we had a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear vdl2ca,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so glad that you had a good stay with us, and that your enjoyed our spacious, comfortable room. We are always happy to provide an upgrade when available, though there are times when we might be fully committed and upgrades might be more difficult to come by. We are also happy to provide a coffeemaker upon request (and have one waiting for you in the room when requested in advance)—we think this makes for the freshest machines and product for our guests who enjoy coffee in the room. While we regret that you had a few issues while you were with us, we are absolutely delighted that staff member like John and our concierge team were able to provide such excellent service for you. We hope to earn your return visit—though we are not right in Times Square, we think you will find that our Murray Hill neighborhood really does combine convenience with a touch of quiet!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We live out in the 'burbs, but decided to treat ourselves to a night in the city to celebrate our anniversary. Our experience at the Tuscany really made the trip perfect.

The staff was friendly and just seemed genuinely upbeat and happy to see us. Much to our surprise, the manager had upgraded our room, and it was spectacular — roomy, well-appointed, quiet, with an uptown view that encompassed the Empire State Building. (By the way, I suspect I would have been happy in one of the smaller rooms too.) There's an overall "boutique-y" ambience, but it's not over-the-top or trendy or pretentious. If you're coming to NY for a serious vacation, it's in a good location. Not a touristy area, but centrally located, close to Grand Central, and about midway between uptown and downtown.

If you stay there — and I highly recommend it — I hope your experience matches ours.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear RMW_55,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! It was an honor to host you for a special anniversary trip into the city, and we are absolutely delighted that we were able to help provide a perfect trip. Our staff really does genuinely care about making memorable experience for our guests, and I will be sure to share your kind words with them. We are always glad when guests enjoy our spacious, modern rooms—and the view of the Empire State Building is just magic, isn’t it? Please do come back and visit us in Murray Hill again soon!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you at favorable rates. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an Accommodations Specialist anytime at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website.

Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.