We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room in New York!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120-130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #43 of 451 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Room in New York!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were in New York for a wedding that took place in a very hip hotel (with very small rooms) where some of my relatives were staying. For rather less money, we had a wonderfully spacious room at the Tuscany with a separate dressing area, a closet full of hangers, and a dressing table. There was even a shelf in the bathroom--something I don't see often in hotels anywhere--and a professional-style blow dryer. The bed was very comfortable, the staff was helpful, the location was excellent as we wanted to be close to Grand Central Terminal. New York is expensive in October but I feel like we had good value for money. I'd be delighted to stay here next time I come to New York.

Room Tip: We were next to the elevator on the 8th floor and didn't hear a thing so no worries there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Cholmley,

What a delight it was to read your review of The Tuscany—thank you so much for sharing it here on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and amenities. An exceptional guest experience is always our goal, and we are delighted to hear that everything, from our recently renovated rooms to our great staff and right down to the value for your money, was as it should be. Please do come back and visit us again in the future.

Should you have the opportunity to visit New York City again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future stay. Contact our director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an accommodations specialist at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when booking directly through our website.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    242
    39
    19
    8
See reviews for
96
335
46
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I finally decided to book at The Tuscany, via Expedia, after having many recommendations from family and friends, for different locations in NYC. The main draw for booking was the free wifi, along with the location and imagery of the hotel. Having never been to NYC, let alone the U.S, we didn't really know what to expect and although, as mentioned, we'd had many recommendations, we were new to the whole experience.
We couldn't have been more thrilled with our choice of hotel. Right from the get go we had a great stay. The reception staff were friendly and checked us in with ease (the swiftest, most fuss free check in and check out of any hotel we've ever stayed in).
Our room was lovely, with great decor and spacious with all the amenities you could want. The shower was very powerful and instantly hot, and the towels were soft and fluffy. I particularly appreciated the dressing table area, although the light in that area could be brighter for applying makeup, I transferred myself to the table by the window for this. Also the large closet with room for two large cases and plenty of hanging space was great. It also featured a large safe with room for the laptop, iPad, jewellery and all other valuables we had. Now the bed, ahhhh the bed. So comfortable!!! Soft but firm, great cool, smooth sheets and pillow cases. The best nights sleep in a hotel we've ever had!! And even at home, we're looking to replace our mattress with the same one!
For me personally, the amount of light let in was an irritation. Our room overlooked the back of the hotel so would have had less lights than the front, and I am particularly sensitive to any light when trying to sleep and like a pitch black room, as I seem to open my eyes when I sleep. Light came in at the edges of the blinds, if the curtains were able to fully close and not just decorative, that would help. Also the door let a lot of light in from the corridor, seals or brushes would solve this and also help to reduce the noise from rooms opposite and the corridor/elevator. The fire alarm also flashes, which I understand can't be helped but it is annoying. All of those points are a personnel preference of mine so may not bother others.
We had breakfast at the hotel twice, a continental choice which included drinks for $15. The server was very helpful, polite and friendly. A great asset.
Each time we left the hotel and needed a cab, Dave sprang into action! Literally taking his life in his hands, standing in the middle of the busy Lexington Avenue hailing the cabs! Brilliant!
The housekeepers were friendly and checked if they were ok to clean our room.
Orlando booked us a car for our trip back to the airport which was great and his colleague (apologies, we didn't catch his name) rearranged it when we decided to change the time, then helping to load up.
This great service might be the norm for some and how jotels in NYC are, but for it was exceptional and for that we are grateful. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return and stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Lucy110412,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent honeymoon experience at The Tuscany! We were honored to help you celebrate such a special occasion, and are absolutely delighted to hear that your honeymoon was ‘heavenly’. We love it when our associates leave a great impression, and I will be sure to share your kinds words with them, especially Dave, Orlando and their colleagues in the front office. Warm, personal service is our standard for every guest, and we are always eager to hear when we are succeeding. Please come back and visit our spacious, modern rooms and heavenly beds again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first time staying at this hotel. We have stayed at several hotels midtown and upper east side through the years as we visit NYC every 6 months. This place rates up there with the best. Location was great, our room clean and spacious. It was quiet, and the fitness facility is better than most. Service was great without the stuffiness of some high end hotels. All and all, a great place and will book it again and again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Val T,

We are so honored to be among the best hotels you’ve visited in NYC over the years! Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience, and we are delighted especially that our staff left such a great impression—we pride ourselves on providing warm, personal service and we are always eager to hear when we are succeeding. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just spent 5 nights. The location was perfect. We could easily walk to Grand Central ,Times Square and Rockefeller Center to the north and west and to some great restaurants to the southwest. We felt comfortable walking anytime of day or night. Someone was always around.The only time we heard noise outside was sirens but that was only if they were very nearby. We never really talked with anyone at the front desk they were always taking care of others guests. Busy place. John, one of the doormen was very nice and went well out of his way to tell us how to get where we were going and always was quick to hail us a cab. The room was very nice the water was always nice and hot in the shower. I really appreciated the spaciousness of the room. I only wish being there as long as we were we could have been on a higher floor as our view was of the apartments across the street. If we craned our necks we could see the Chrysler building. The beds were very comfortable and the maid service was flawless. I will definitely consider the hotel again when we visit New York again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Beth B,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and our great neighborhood location here in Murray Hill. I will be sure to share your kind words with Jon, who provided you with such great and helpful service. We are always happy to request a higher floor for you, so please do not hesitate to add special requests to your reservations! We look forward to making your next visit even better than the first.

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I used to live in New York and recently went back on business. My host put me up here and I was really impressed. This place was renovated in December 2012 and my room had a gorgeous bathroom with a Duravit sinks and Hansgrohe fixtures, a big samsung wall-mounted flat-screen tv, and plenty of outlets for laptops, phone-charging, etc. Conveniently located to Grand Central subways, Rockefeller Center, all those Indian restaurants on Lexington Ave, and even the Kips Bay Fairway. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Doorman and check-in counter staff dressed somewhat hip and informal with earpieces to give the place a kind of clubby downtown boutique hotel vibe, but that shouldn't scare away families or business travelers because once you get into your room you don't see any of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Bklyn60827,

What a great review of your recent visit to The Tuscany, and thank you so much for sharing it! We love it when guests notice the details, and the premium fixtures and products used in our renovation are no exception—thank you for noticing and pointing them out. We pride ourselves on providing warm, unpretentious service, and we are always eager to hear that our associates have been helpful. Please do come back to visit us again!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had the fortune to stay there recently and were very impressed. Brilliant location, exceptionally appointed suites, The hotel is quite trendy and rather chic! Beds are ever so inviting. Service and entire staff...impeccable. An exceptionally warm and welcoming experience. Tuscany made us feel ever so special. Indeed a true gem and our new home in New York. Special thanks to Chris!

Bernadette C

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Bernadette,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany, and what a delight it was to read your review! It was our pleasure and honor to host you recently, and we are so glad to hear that your entire experience was so exceptional. If we can be of assistance in reserving a future visit, please do not hesitate to contact our Director of Reservations, Chris Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Tuscany is perfectly located within 2 blocks of Grand Central, and beautifully situated within blocks of Madison, 5th Avenue, Bryant Park and Times Square. From the moment we entered the hotel to check in until we entered the cab to catch our flight home, the hotel staff attended to our every need. The recently renovated room was large, beautifully decorated and well appointed. The bed was super comfy. (SUPER COMFY) The towels were fluffy and the shower had to be the best in the city. The water was instantly hot with great pressure. On more than one occasion Housekeeping asked if our room was to our satisfaction. It was comforting to know they genuinely cared about our experience at the Tuscany. I cannot say enough good things about this experience.

Room Tip: Backside rooms do not have a great view---so, if a view of the city is important for your stay, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ken F,

Wow, what an amazing review of your recent visit to The Tuscany! Service is our first priorty, and we are always eager to hear when our associates have provided the standard of warm, personal service that we have set for ourselves—I will be sure to share your kind words with our Front Office and Housekeeping teams. Please do come back for a great rest on our comfy beds again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120-130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.