We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice rooms and especially bathrooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120-130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #42 of 451 hotels in New York City
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really nice rooms and especially bathrooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I used to live in New York and recently went back on business. My host put me up here and I was really impressed. This place was renovated in December 2012 and my room had a gorgeous bathroom with a Duravit sinks and Hansgrohe fixtures, a big samsung wall-mounted flat-screen tv, and plenty of outlets for laptops, phone-charging, etc. Conveniently located to Grand Central subways, Rockefeller Center, all those Indian restaurants on Lexington Ave, and even the Kips Bay Fairway. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Doorman and check-in counter staff dressed somewhat hip and informal with earpieces to give the place a kind of clubby downtown boutique hotel vibe, but that shouldn't scare away families or business travelers because once you get into your room you don't see any of that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Bklyn60827,

What a great review of your recent visit to The Tuscany, and thank you so much for sharing it! We love it when guests notice the details, and the premium fixtures and products used in our renovation are no exception—thank you for noticing and pointing them out. We pride ourselves on providing warm, unpretentious service, and we are always eager to hear that our associates have been helpful. Please do come back to visit us again!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    242
    39
    19
    8
See reviews for
96
335
46
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had the fortune to stay there recently and were very impressed. Brilliant location, exceptionally appointed suites, The hotel is quite trendy and rather chic! Beds are ever so inviting. Service and entire staff...impeccable. An exceptionally warm and welcoming experience. Tuscany made us feel ever so special. Indeed a true gem and our new home in New York. Special thanks to Chris!

Bernadette C

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Bernadette,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany, and what a delight it was to read your review! It was our pleasure and honor to host you recently, and we are so glad to hear that your entire experience was so exceptional. If we can be of assistance in reserving a future visit, please do not hesitate to contact our Director of Reservations, Chris Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Tuscany is perfectly located within 2 blocks of Grand Central, and beautifully situated within blocks of Madison, 5th Avenue, Bryant Park and Times Square. From the moment we entered the hotel to check in until we entered the cab to catch our flight home, the hotel staff attended to our every need. The recently renovated room was large, beautifully decorated and well appointed. The bed was super comfy. (SUPER COMFY) The towels were fluffy and the shower had to be the best in the city. The water was instantly hot with great pressure. On more than one occasion Housekeeping asked if our room was to our satisfaction. It was comforting to know they genuinely cared about our experience at the Tuscany. I cannot say enough good things about this experience.

Room Tip: Backside rooms do not have a great view---so, if a view of the city is important for your stay, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ken F,

Wow, what an amazing review of your recent visit to The Tuscany! Service is our first priorty, and we are always eager to hear when our associates have provided the standard of warm, personal service that we have set for ourselves—I will be sure to share your kind words with our Front Office and Housekeeping teams. Please do come back for a great rest on our comfy beds again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had stayed here two years ago and don't remember anything special about it except the nice staff. Well the great and helpful staff remains and the rooms have been renovated. They are large, well-appointed and quiet. The location of the hotel is ideal—easy to walk anywhere in Manhattan. I want to give a special thanks to Nakia and Chris for their patience and for working out a billing issue. The hotel really added a plus to our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mari E,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! It was my and Nakia’s pleasure to assist you during your visit, and we are always happy to when guests have a great time with us. We love it especially when guests who have stayed at The Tuscany in the past rediscover us—we put a lot of thought and care into our recent renovation, and it’s gratifying when guests appreciate the details! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,
Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in early August and generally enjoyed the experience. The hotel is well located and is near subway stations at Time Square and Grand Central. I found the beds spacious and comfortable but it was a bit warm for my liking and I ended up between being to cold (from the AC being set low) to being to warm as under the quilts.

The room was very spacious and furnished very nicely. It was nice touch to allow me to use the minibar fridge (since it wasn't being used as a minibar) to keep some chocolates cool.

The room was reasonably quite and I did not find the traffic noise in the corridors loud enough to interrupt my sleep. In fact I found the noise was quite low given my room was right next to the elevator.

The only down side I found with this place was there wasn't really much in the way of information about either the hotel and the surrounding areas as one would normally expect to find in a hotel room.

Another problem was the door to our bathroom seem to have expanded and was unable to close properly. They were informed of this so I hope it gets fixed before the next guests. I know it can be a big task but people do expect working doors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Eihou,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in August, including our spacious rooms, comfortable beds and prime Murray Hill location. We certainly regret that the door on the bathroom was not able to close properly during your visit—we take great care to ensure that all aspects of our guest rooms are in perfect working order, and we certainly apologize for the oversight in this instance. We hope to be able to make your second visit even better than the first. It would be my pleasure to personally arrange a future visit for you—please do not hesitate to contact me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really impressed with my recent stay . Very courteous staff, great location and excellent facilities. Highly recommend a stay for business or leisure purposes
My room was upgraded upon arrival and as I was using Grand Central for business travel I could not have wished for a better spot
The hotel had a real trendy and relaxed feel and as I visit the city aroud 3-4 times a year I will always endeavour to stay at the Tuscany

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ken C,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful visit with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back. I will be sure to share your kind words with our great staff—we love it when they leave a great impression on our guests. Should you be staying with us frequently, we would be delighted to offer rates and availability for you at any time. Simply reach out to our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or call an accommodations specialist at 888.406.8588.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed twice at this hotel, once in June and I just extended a business trip to meet with friends this past week end.
Both times were excellent.t
The look and feel of the hotel itself are very modern, with an interesting design.
Location works for both leisure time or a business visit - love the free wifi!
People make it a great experience : housekeeping team is discreet and efficient. Dennis and Nakia - who has a great fashion sense - at the front desk were both helpful and personable during our two stays.
Doormen at both adjacent hotels work well together, David was very helpful.
Value for money is very good. The suites are bigger than my Florida residence and not expensive by Manhattan standards.
I will be back and will make it my new place in the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Janedel,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience (and GREAT photos) at The Tuscany! We are so delighted that our staff left such a great impression—I will be sharing your review with Nakia, Dennis, David and all of their colleagues in the front office and housekeeping. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120-130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.