We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Room, Great Staff, Great View if Empire State Building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120-130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #38 of 449 hotels in New York City
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Really Nice Room, Great Staff, Great View if Empire State Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Rolled in from across the pond late at night and the relaxed but efficient staff made us right at home. Great room with mind-bending look out the window its the "Empire State Building" view. Lots of good breakfast eateries within two blocks and close the Grand Central we really liked this.

Room Tip: up front better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear RuffleScruffle,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! Some of our views are just too good to be missed, and we are always delighted when a guest is surprised by the little bit of magic that is the Empire State building at night. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit New York City again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future stay. Contact our director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an accommodations specialist at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when booking directly through our website.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    239
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
94
332
43
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location, location, location. Super close to Grand Central. Room was gigantic by NYC standards.

The only bad thing for me was the wifi; the wifi reception was very poor and I had to walk closer to the door to get a full reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear nukenin,

We love helping guests make memories, and we thank you so much for sharing your great review (and fantastic set of photos) of your recent visit at The Tuscany. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we want you to know that our management team is taking steps to ensure that Wi-Fi service is fast and consistent throughout the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit New York City again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future stay. Contact our director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an accommodations specialist at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when booking directly through our website.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The bed in this hotel is beyond comfortable. Probably the best hotel bed, ever! a good value for NYC....centrally located off Lex & 39th. Great burger joint down the street. Close to Murray Hill and everything that this neighborhood offers. Superb front desk staff. The suite was spacious and clean. No complaints whatsoever!

Room Tip: I stayed on 8th floor. Great room and brilliant bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear sjmegy,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! Our beds are getting high marks across the board, and we are so glad that you enjoyed such a great rest while with us. We love a great impression, and we are delighted that you had such a great experience with our staff, rooms and location here in Murray Hill. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit New York City again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future stay. Contact our director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call an accommodations specialist at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code THANKS when booking directly through our website.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our room was lovely, but it was the staff that made the experience really special. Very kind and accommodating. We requested a quiet room and were placed in one that allowed for a terrific nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear jennywg79,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love it when our associates leave a great impression, and I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff at The Tuscany. The guest experience is our first priority, and we are always eager to heat when we are succeeding. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I took my son there for his 30th birthday and not only was the staff great, but we found a bottle of chilled champaign and glasses in our room when we returned the first night. We had breakfast there the next morning and it was very good. Our room was beautiful and we were able to get an early checkin as we arrived into NY at 10am. The bed and shower both were awesome. Loved the location we could get everywhere we needed to quickly, but were still off the beaten path so we didn't have all the noise from the streets. Will definitely stay there again! 5 Stars all the way around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Thea E,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love to celebrate special occasions with our guests, and we were honored to help you celebrate your son’s 30th birthday. So glad you enjoyed the champagne and our spacious, modern rooms and amenities. Please do come back and visit us again soon.

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Saw hotel mentioned in American Express Travel email. Decided to stay there and really enjoyed
the room. Great TV, I think 42' or 50'. Room very quiet and bed very comfortable.
Would definitely stay there again. Location at 39th and Lex also very good. I go to NYC pretty
often and found this hotel very good !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear kenmr,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! Thank you so much for trying us through the American Express Travel promotion—we are delighted to hear that you had a great visit with us. We think our spacious, modern rooms, all new amenities, and fantastic location here in Murray Hill offer value, style and convenience. We are always eager to hear when guests agree! Please do come back and visit us again soon.

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I had the most amazing stay ever! I am so glad I eventually chose the Tuscany. I will always go back! Rooms are big! Location is central. People were so friendly! 5's all around! There are other hotels close by and I popped into some of them. I was so happy and thankful we chose the Tuscany.



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Ashley M,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so delighted that our staff, our spacious and modern rooms, and our great location made an incredible experience. I will be sure to share your review with my colleagues and thank them for their great work on your behalf. Please do come back for a future stay!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120-130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany’s 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.