We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable if I'd stayed anywhere else.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120-130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #38 of 449 hotels in New York City
1 review
“New York wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable if I'd stayed anywhere else.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Awesome location! Incredible rooms! Fantastic staff! The value is unbeatable. Where else in Manhattan can you stay and be minutes from Grand Central Station, Times Square AND the theatre district and enjoy fabulous decor and genuine customer service? Only at St. Giles - Tuscany!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear emjaywashere,

What a delightful little review of your recent experience at The Tuscany! Our fantastic staff is our best asset, and I will be sure to share your kind words with them—we love it when they leave a great impression. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location here in Murray Hill—please come back and visit us again soon.

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you so much, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    240
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
94
332
44
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Verde, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious but the view is the building next door. We had guests near our room constantly smoking in the evenings (it is a NON-smoking hotel) and the smoke/smell permeated into our room every night. The hotel staff are very nice and professional. The bar is small and of course, expensive. The location is great...a couple of blocks from great shopping, restaurants, and the theater district. Do watch out for a large brown bench at the bottom of the bed that blends in with the rug as we kept hitting our calves (ouch!) on it! Fun time....good hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear BluntandHonest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love hearing from our guests, and we always appreciate a dose of honesty, as it allows us the opportunity to improve. I will be sure to share your kind words with our great staff—we love it when they leave such a great impression on our guest. We regret to hear that another guest nearby caused such a disturbance—we are indeed a non-smoking property, and though it is always frustrating when a guest decides not to honor our policies. They were certainly charged a deep cleaning fee. Should you have the opportunity to return to NYC in the future, it would be my pleasure to offer special rates and personally arrange your next visit. Please feel free to reach out to me any time at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This Hotel is extremely amazing!!!! Loved location and the rooms are super spacious!!!! Tons of amenities and the most important thing is the quality of their service and personnel.

Everything was top clean. It is a gem in New York. Highly recommended!!!!

The concierges were also so helpful and attentive to all the guests needs!!

We are travel agents and got great feedback from our clients but we wanted to experience it first hand and we could not be more satisfied with the Hotel. Great Management!!!

Room Tip: Tons of good restaurants around and not expensive at all. Concierge offers a list of restaurants if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Aliuska M,

It was a pleasure hosting both your and your clients during your visits to New York City! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Tuscany, and I will be sure to share your kind words with our front office and concierge teams.

Thank you so much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I come to NYC every month and this is my new favorite hotel. The rooms are so spacious and the staff super friendly. They really go above and beyond here to help accomodate you. The only draw back is the wifi is a little slow, but I think they are working on that. Great hotel, great location, great staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rebecca D,

It is such a pleasure to welcome back return guests, and we hope that we can continue to earn your business month after month! Thank you for selecting The Tuscany, and for sharing your recent experience with the travel community. We are always delighted when guests enjoy our spacious, modern rooms. We are certainly working diligently to ensure that WiFi service is fast and consistent throughout the hotel. Please feel free to let me know if you have any trouble on your next visit and I will follow up personally. And should you have any questions or if we can be of assistance in any way, please feel free to reach out to me personally at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877.

Thank you so much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in New York for Labor Day weekend and had a pleasant surprise; we had originally booked the St. Giles Court hotel, but when we checked in they told us that we were upgraded to the Tuscany next door because they overbooked the King rooms. We were very pleased with this hotel; decor is fresh and modern, rooms are spacious and clean, the AC worked well, and the staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance from Grand Central Station, shopping, and many local bars and restaurants. The only thing that would make it a little better would be coffee makers in the rooms, but otherwise, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Back rooms facing 38th St are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear dede48,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are always delighted to offer an upgrade when available, and we are delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by The Tuscany. We love our Murray Hill neighborhood, and are so delighted that you enjoyed the location and great restaurant and shops around us. Though we do have coffeemakers standard in each guest room, we are happy to provide one upon request—you can always request this prior to arrival or by speaking with guest services or the front desk. This ensures the freshest coffee and machines for our guests.

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.

Thank you so much, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Tuscany was wonderful for our visit to NYC. We were there for the US Open tennis tournament and loved the convenience to Grand Central Station. The rooms were wonderful - fabulous beds and linens!!! A/C was great - we like our hotel rooms COLD! The staff were very customer friendly - always spoke and had a smile!! Dayna was great to work with us to get a group rate. We would definitely try the Tuscany first for future trips to NYC!!!

Room Tip: the only thing I missed was a bathtub - so if that's really important to you, ask at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Ka R,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful visit with us, from Dayna and the sales team, to our spacious and modern rooms, to our fantastic and friendly staff members. Our first priority is the guest experience and we are delighted to learn when we are succeeding. The US Open is such a great time to be in the city, and we certainly hope you enjoyed this year’s tennis. Please do come back and visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Though the decor is velvet and a bit dated, this hotel was well situated , well priced and clean and very spacious and comfortable. I would very much recommend this hotel to all travellers. Breakfast was available and also a free drink of wine on arrival.

Room Tip: Even though we were next to the elevator it didn't disturb is at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear JC39,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, comfortable rooms and amenities. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation to other travelers, and we hope to welcome you back with us very soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC in the future, it would be our pleasure to arrange your stay personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our accommodations specialists at 888.406.8588 or use the special promo code THANKS when booking on our website.
Thank you so much, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120-130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany’s 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.