We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, clean & comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #55 of 453 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well located, clean & comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had our first trip to NYC in May and we booked to stay 1 week at The Tuscany purely based on our own research - we are glad we did!

Location...The hotel is really well located just off Park Ave, its near to Grand Central station, Times Sq, NYC public library and some really great eating spots. You can pretty much walk to anywhere from this hotel, but having Grand Cen. station so near, you can subway it all over NYC with ease. The hotel is in a great neighbourhood, there is no riff-raff. There is a near by convenience store, hairdresser and laundromat just across the road which was handy!

The hotel & rooms... The entrance to the hotel is nice and inviting, the newly done renovations certainly give it a really cool vibe and feel. Our room was a little smaller than what the booking confirmed, but the view from our window, which was of the Chrysler building made us want to stay. The reception did offer for us to move nearly half way through our trip, but truth be told we weren't all that fussed and couldn't be bothered unpacking to then unload all our stuff again. Our bed unfortunately was a double & not queen or king which was a bummer.

Service... Shane on the front desk and Carlos at the door were just brilliant! They were always so friendly upon entering and leaving, also willing to give us some great advice on what to see and do, great eating spots etc. they were very hospitable, you couldn't fault their service!

We will be back...ABSOLUTELY!!! Funny enough leaving NY and heading to Mexico (our next stop) we found the United Airlines magazine to have a feature article on the hotel which was great to see. It's actually one of the first hotels in NYC to have telephones in the bathroom and back in the day Audrey Hepburn has stayed there & George Clooney has rumoured to have stayed there too!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Belinda S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love it when guests find us directly, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Murray Hill neighborhood offers a great guest experience—a real New York City neighborhood with the convenience of Midtown Manhattan—and it seems that you made the most of it. Our great staff is our best asset and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Shane and Carlos. Please do come back to visit us again soon!

Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your next visit personally. For the best favorable rates, simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany and making your second visit even better than the first.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    246
    40
    21
    10
See reviews for
104
350
48
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was visiting the City for business and needed a place to stay in midtown near Grand Central (and within travel policy). I came across The Tuscany, read the great reviews, and booked it.

Upon arrival I was really blown away:

Staff: The front desk staff could not have been friendlier and everyone made sure we had an excellent stay - even just for the one night.

Rooms: The rooms were huge - not just for New York. I know it was recently renovated, but they did an incredible job with great bathroom amenities, a huge flat screen TV, plenty of outlets to charge all of my various electronics, and a very comfortable King bed.

Bar: Though we did not eat the hotel, the bar area was very nice with a friendly staff and a good drink selection.

Location: The location is perfect, especially if you are visiting midtown, and Grand Central is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear SRHGreenville,

What an amazing review of your recent experience at The Tuscany! Thank you so much for sharing this with us. We think The Tuscany is perfect for business and leisure travel, and when we undertook the renovation, we thought very carefully about the needs of our guests—it is wonderful to hear that we got many of the details right. Please come back and visit us again soon, and we will make sure that your second visit is even better than the first!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you personally, either under your corporate rate or our best favorable rates for a leisure visit. Please contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here after booking through hotels.com due to last minute need for a room. Lobby looks great, actual room that I was checked into was nice enough although there were some things I found strange for the star rating this hotel is assigned. The room has a mini fridge which is "on" but is completely empty. Also, the room does not have robes or slippers but then offers high end products in the bathroom (molton brown).

Because there are renovations ongoing (despite the claims that renovations were done in December 2012) only 1 elevator was available for guest use. The second elevator is dedicated to construction crews - there is plywood protecting the interior of the second elevator.

I was put in a room immediately adjacent to a housekeeping closet. The door does nothing to block hallway noise and I heard the housekeeper from the moment she arrived until I checked out. Utility closet door constantly opening and closing - not a restful sleep at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear areviewFlorida,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany. We sincerely apologize for the disruptions and shortcomings you experienced during your visit, and if you are so inclined, I would like to speak with you in detail about your visit. Though we are still putting the finishing touches on the final rooms on the highest floors of the hotel, we do our very best to ensure a seamless guest experience and we regret that we did not live up to those standards during your visit. It is absolutely unacceptable that your stay was disrupted by your proximity to one of our linen closets. We do find our solid oak doors beautiful, however their weight has proved to be a problem with occasional noise—a problem we are working to address. In the meantime, we are working with our housekeeping team to ensure that we are always and everywhere attentive to minimizing noise impacts for our guests. Should you be so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. Thank you again for sharing your experience, as it allows us an opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We got a deal through hotwire to stay here and absolutely loved it! We got there super early however, our room was ready and they were nice enough to even upgrade us! Service was great - always pleasant with any requests. We really enjoyed the free cookies at reception - very yummy. We had the two queen beds and the room was huge - especially for NYC. The hotel is recently renovated so everything looks great! The beds are extremely comfortable. The street is nice and quiet but still your close to everything - Grand Central Station is only a 4 minute walk. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear linda1821,

What a delight it was to read your review of The Tuscany! We think the renovation of our guest rooms and public spaces turned out fantastic, and it is gratifying to know that our guests think it’s grand. It is always a pleasure to provide early check in and complimentary upgrades when they are available, and we are so glad that you enjoyed both during your visit. Please come back to stay with us again soon.

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you personally. For the most favorable rates, you may use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website, contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent, boutique hotel! The rooms have all been recently renovated and are very large and comfortable. (There's still a bit of construction going on, like about 1/2 of NYC, but was not obtrusive or noisy)

The staff is obviously well managed, and well trained, as they were extremely friendly and attentive.

The location is very convenient in the heart of mid-town.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms across the hall from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear DanoSullivan61,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and our all-new rooms and amenities. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff—the are our best asset, and we are always delighted when they leave a great impression on guests. Thank you for bearing with us as we put the finishing touches on the renovation. In just a few weeks, we will debut our amazing Loft Suites, so please come back to see us again soon.

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you personally. For the most favorable rates, please contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

we had booked the court Hotel but when we arrived they said this is your lucky day you have ben upgraded to our sister hotel which was the Tuscany and it was four doors down. We were a bit apprensive as it was our 40th Anniversary and we wanted a nice room. The Tuscany was awesome. Book in was a breeze and Dennis the yong man who booked us in was super freendly and helpful. We were delighted with our room1102 as it was huge and very clean and the bed was super comfortable and it had a 47 inch flat screen tv. The Bathroom was huge very clean and I had one of the best showers ever in a hotel room. the Bath products Molton Brown were of high quality and the towels were big and fluffy.The room was very quiet and the location of this hotel is great as it is in a quiet residential neighborhood and close to Times Square and Greenwich Village.Thank you for making my Anniversary special and we plan to return to your hotel for my Birthday. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear lginnane,

Congratulations on your 40th Anniversary! It was an honor to host your for a celebration weekend at The Tuscany. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it is always a pleasure to provide an upgrade when they are available. I will be sure to share your kind words with Dennis—we love it when our associates leave a great impression. And your reaction to our rooms and bathrooms was exactly what we had in mind when we undertook the renovation.

It would be our pleasure to arrange your Birthday visit personally. For the most favorable rates, please contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a lovely one-night stay at the Tuscany. The hotel was recently renovated and its trendy, polished vibe is evident the second you walk into the lobby. There's a bar in the lobby that serves alcohol after 5 pm and continental breakfast (not complimentary) in the AM. The room was large! The king bed was super comfy. The bathrooms are clean and modern. The hotel is located in the Murray Hill section, which is quiet and has more of a neighborhood feel to it. It's very convenient to get to lots of attractions. There's a parking garage across the street and you get 20% discount if you're staying at the hotel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear amytz,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! From our fresh new lobby, to our convenient location, to our clean and modern rooms, it seems that you had a wonderful visit with us. Please come back and visit again soon and we’ll be sure to make your second stay even better than the first!

Should you have an opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange a future stay for you at favorable rates. You may use the promo code THANKS to reserve through our website, contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist at 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.