We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We got a deal through hotwire to stay here and absolutely loved it! We got there super early however, our room was ready and they were nice enough to even upgrade us! Service was great - always pleasant with any requests. We really enjoyed the free cookies at reception - very yummy. We had the two queen beds and the room was huge - especially for NYC. The hotel is recently renovated so everything looks great! The beds are extremely comfortable. The street is nice and quiet but still your close to everything - Grand Central Station is only a 4 minute walk. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear linda1821,

What a delight it was to read your review of The Tuscany! We think the renovation of our guest rooms and public spaces turned out fantastic, and it is gratifying to know that our guests think it’s grand. It is always a pleasure to provide early check in and complimentary upgrades when they are available, and we are so glad that you enjoyed both during your visit. Please come back to stay with us again soon.

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you personally. For the most favorable rates, you may use the promo code THANKS when reserving through our website, contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    256
    43
    21
    10
See reviews for
109
360
48
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent, boutique hotel! The rooms have all been recently renovated and are very large and comfortable. (There's still a bit of construction going on, like about 1/2 of NYC, but was not obtrusive or noisy)

The staff is obviously well managed, and well trained, as they were extremely friendly and attentive.

The location is very convenient in the heart of mid-town.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms across the hall from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear DanoSullivan61,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and our all-new rooms and amenities. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff—the are our best asset, and we are always delighted when they leave a great impression on guests. Thank you for bearing with us as we put the finishing touches on the renovation. In just a few weeks, we will debut our amazing Loft Suites, so please come back to see us again soon.

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future visit for you personally. For the most favorable rates, please contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

we had booked the court Hotel but when we arrived they said this is your lucky day you have ben upgraded to our sister hotel which was the Tuscany and it was four doors down. We were a bit apprensive as it was our 40th Anniversary and we wanted a nice room. The Tuscany was awesome. Book in was a breeze and Dennis the yong man who booked us in was super freendly and helpful. We were delighted with our room1102 as it was huge and very clean and the bed was super comfortable and it had a 47 inch flat screen tv. The Bathroom was huge very clean and I had one of the best showers ever in a hotel room. the Bath products Molton Brown were of high quality and the towels were big and fluffy.The room was very quiet and the location of this hotel is great as it is in a quiet residential neighborhood and close to Times Square and Greenwich Village.Thank you for making my Anniversary special and we plan to return to your hotel for my Birthday. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear lginnane,

Congratulations on your 40th Anniversary! It was an honor to host your for a celebration weekend at The Tuscany. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it is always a pleasure to provide an upgrade when they are available. I will be sure to share your kind words with Dennis—we love it when our associates leave a great impression. And your reaction to our rooms and bathrooms was exactly what we had in mind when we undertook the renovation.

It would be our pleasure to arrange your Birthday visit personally. For the most favorable rates, please contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a lovely one-night stay at the Tuscany. The hotel was recently renovated and its trendy, polished vibe is evident the second you walk into the lobby. There's a bar in the lobby that serves alcohol after 5 pm and continental breakfast (not complimentary) in the AM. The room was large! The king bed was super comfy. The bathrooms are clean and modern. The hotel is located in the Murray Hill section, which is quiet and has more of a neighborhood feel to it. It's very convenient to get to lots of attractions. There's a parking garage across the street and you get 20% discount if you're staying at the hotel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear amytz,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! From our fresh new lobby, to our convenient location, to our clean and modern rooms, it seems that you had a wonderful visit with us. Please come back and visit again soon and we’ll be sure to make your second stay even better than the first!

Should you have an opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange a future stay for you at favorable rates. You may use the promo code THANKS to reserve through our website, contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist at 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent a wonderful Memorial Day weekend at The Tuscany. We come to the city often and have stayed at a variety of hotels. This is our new favorite getaway spot! Recently remodeled, very clean, with lovely, spacious rooms. We stayed in a deluxe studio that was larger than many hotel rooms in NYC, and quiet, with a great king size bed. Location is very central and within walking distance of everything. Staff is very attentive, and added to the wonderful ambience of this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear travelmore056,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and amenities. Like you, we love our Murray Hill neighborhood, and are delighted to hear you found it convenient to just about everywhere in the city. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff—they are our best asset, and it is encouraging to hear that they made your stay extra special.

Should you have an opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange a future stay for you at favorable rates. You may use the promo code THANKS to reserve through our website, contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak with an accommodations specialist at 888.406.8588.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is 2 blocks from Grand Central which means it's within walking distance to all Times Square and Madison Ave destinations but we also had no trouble catching a taxi, even in the rain. The hotel is actually in a residential neighborhood so we had a "taste" of NYC living. There are numerous small eateries within a 2 block radius, as well as nail salons, drug stores, etc. The room was huge, even by normal hotel standards. The bedding was very comfortable and the bathroom was efficient although on the smaller side. The staff was helpful but in a casual manner, not overly solicitous of our comfort. The hotel seems to be undergoing continuing renovations so there were lots of small things like paint dribbled on metal trims and taped carpet edges. It's not a resort. Don't expect a concierge to make your life easier. There is a small bar area and they give you a complimentary glass of wine but it wasn't the kind of place I wanted to hang out. The area converts for a continental type breakfast in the morning but we didn't try it. This turned out to be one of the better places i have stayed in NYC. I did have an issue with my a/c not cooling. The maintenance guy said that he had the same problem the day before and didn't know how to fix it but they managed to solve the problem while I was out to dinner. Better management could help the staff improve. The house cleaner knocked on the door on Sunday morning even though we were checking out that day. If we had been staying, I would not have appreciated being disturbed at that time of the time but since we were checking out it didn't make any sense. I really wished they had tea or coffee in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear SEAPexplorer012,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so glad that you enjoyed the huge, modern rooms at The Tuscany. Though we are putting the finishing touches on our renovations, the guest experience is our first priority, and it is disappointing to hear that we did not live up to our standards during your stay. The disruptions and issues you experienced are not representative of our best, and we thank you for your honest feedback and the opportunity to improve. Should you be so inclined, I would like to speak with you in detail regarding your stay. You can reach me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877.

Should you, your friends or family have the opportunity to visit NYC again, we would love to arrange a future stay for you at favorable rates. When reserving through our website, you may use the promo code THANKS, or feel free to contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak to an Accommodations Specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany for a future visit.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJU
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is hidden in a residential neighborhood, walking distance to everything . The rooms are huge, walk-in closets, 2 times bigger then a typical room very elegantly decorated. Molton Brown toiletries, great big new towels, but I have never been in a smaller bathroom - yes never! I just don't understand how they expect two people to share this tiny space.
But the staff is what makes this hotel truly special. When we checked in it felt like Shawn was our long lost brother, incredibly knowledgeable, funny and efficient - the hotel is very lucky to have him. And the doormen were great - I wish I could remember the gentleman working at 11:00 on the 20 of May, but he really loves his job and the hotel and it shows in the way he greets each guest and truly wants their experience to be special, The weekend doorman was also great, looking out for us and our car- thanks guys
We hope to return - just not to room 805

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear JeanSju,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! Shane and his colleagues in the front office are stellar, and we will be sure to share your kind words with them. It is wonderful to hear that the service we provided really set your experience apart. We will be sure to update your room preferences as well—while a few of our bathrooms are on the small side, we tried our very best to provide additional preparation space with separate vanity areas. On your next stay, we will be sure to request our largest bath for you!

Should you, your friends or family have the opportunity to visit NYC again, we would love to arrange a future stay for you at favorable rates. When reserving through our website, you may use the promo code THANKS, or feel free to contact our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or speak to an Accommodations Specialist by calling 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany for a future visit.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#43 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.