We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 458 Hotels in New York City
cardiff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

we had an excellent stay, were upgraded to a suite, it was huge, with views of the
empire state building, an excellent location, very central
the staff were all really helpfull and friendly, we will go back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    281
    49
    24
    11
See reviews for
120
396
50
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

The title pretty much sums it up. We got the room on sale and it really felt like a bargain. Short way to Grand Central Station, with just about every subway line passing through. Also close to the bus service to all airports. But why take the subway when you can walk? From The Tuscany your within walking distance of pretty much all the major sightes in Midtown, from Times Square to Empire State. And we had a prime view of the Chrysler building straight from our window on the 14th floor!

The only bad side I can think is that the internet service in the rooms cost 15 dollar per day. But its free down in the lobby, so no stress!

Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the chrysler build!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Me and my wife spent our honeymoon in New York and The Tuscany last week. The hotel have great location (right at grand Central Station) with walking distance to all major museums and attractions. The rooms are very spacious, clean and neat, though the bathrooms could need an upgrade. For improvement the hotel should offer free internet and a more priceworthy breakfast. The Fitness Center was small but very new and great.

The first two night we stayed in a room on the second floor right above the bar and it forced us to change room to get some sleep. After a short explanation and conversation to Justin, at the reception, we were very smoothly moved to a room on floor 8 and on the backside of the hotel. There we really could relax the rest of our stay.

All of the staff was very helpful, understanding, polite and interested in all our questions and problems.

Room Tip: High up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I have recently returned from staying in the St Giles Tuscany with my girlfriend for 5 days. We had an excellent experience from start to finish. The location is ideal, being very close to great shopping areas and down the road to grand central station. The room was lovely, very clean, had large bed with a nice bathroom (which had a brilliant shower) and an awesome view of the empire state building. The room however was nothing compared to the service which was outstanding start to finish. From the bell hop who helped me arrange a surprise birthday meal for my girlfriend (and even managed to get the restaurant to bring her a birthday cake and sing happy birthday to her!), to the very friendly maintenance man who helped with my stupidity with the heating. Special mention though has to go to Shane who was a delight to deal with throughout our stay, if anyone wishes to see how customer service should be, they should go and meet him. He was friendly and helpful every day was always smiling and will be a massive influence to us wanting to return. And finally it was during one of my many discussions with Shane that sums up why it was such a great experience at the Tuscany, he explained that the reason all the staff were always smiling and so helpful is that the owners of the St Giles hotels are great to work for and install a fun but professional atmosphere. So thank you to all of the staff and Shane (I know you read these reviews). To all that are reading this and considering staying here, I cannot urge you strongly enough to go.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I have been staying at the St. Giles - Tuscany on a regular basis for almost a year. This hotel stands out for the following reasons: 1) Exceptional staff that are friendly without being invasive. Requests are handled immediately in a pleasant manner; 2) The hotel is in a nice central location. A half block off Park Ave on 39th; 3) Hotel Court (same ownership) next door has a comfortable and active lounge; and 4) The fitness center is reasonably spacious and has enough equipment to prevent the need to wait. This hotel is a good choice if you do not want to stay in one of the 'chain' hotels but do want a stylish hotel with clean and comfortable room and with first-rate staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for shopping and fun. We could not have been happier. The staff were all very friendly and our corner room was huge and unbelievably quiet and cozy. Great location. Nice breakfast pickup items and always courteous servers. Housekeeping efficient. Front desk and bellman extremely helpful. Walking half block down to The Court was fun for cocktails at their bigger and a little more happening bar. It was a nice and safe place to come back to after long and busy days and nights. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

What can't you say about this place? From its spacious rooms to gorgeous lobby, giant comfy bed, seriously intense showers - this hotel has it all. The little details such as the warm cider and the fresh cakes at reception are worth their weight in gold. Coupled with excellent value for money and an ideal location, we had an amazing time at the St. Giles Tuscany, and can't wait to return. An extra special mention is deserved to the door staff who were friendly, extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The jewel in the crown for us was undoubtedly Shane at the front desk, who is a great ambassador for the hotel. He is welcoming, obliging, knows everything about New York and genuinely wants to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. Dealing with Shane was as a pleasure, and he's the main reason we'll definitely be back, and we reckon we owe him a drink in the Rodeo bar next time! 10 out of 10, can't wait to see you guys again soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.