We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 459 Hotels in New York City
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for shopping and fun. We could not have been happier. The staff were all very friendly and our corner room was huge and unbelievably quiet and cozy. Great location. Nice breakfast pickup items and always courteous servers. Housekeeping efficient. Front desk and bellman extremely helpful. Walking half block down to The Court was fun for cocktails at their bigger and a little more happening bar. It was a nice and safe place to come back to after long and busy days and nights. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    272
    49
    24
    11
See reviews for
116
391
49
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

What can't you say about this place? From its spacious rooms to gorgeous lobby, giant comfy bed, seriously intense showers - this hotel has it all. The little details such as the warm cider and the fresh cakes at reception are worth their weight in gold. Coupled with excellent value for money and an ideal location, we had an amazing time at the St. Giles Tuscany, and can't wait to return. An extra special mention is deserved to the door staff who were friendly, extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The jewel in the crown for us was undoubtedly Shane at the front desk, who is a great ambassador for the hotel. He is welcoming, obliging, knows everything about New York and genuinely wants to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. Dealing with Shane was as a pleasure, and he's the main reason we'll definitely be back, and we reckon we owe him a drink in the Rodeo bar next time! 10 out of 10, can't wait to see you guys again soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Found this hotel at a promo rate of $ 119. Being skeptical of such a low rate for NYC, I went to Trip Advisor to read the reviews before booking. I would echo the sentiments of all those who said that this hotel is a real gem and highly recommend this as a great place to stay in mid-town. The hotel is out of the hustle and bustle but close to everything, and the neighborhood restaurants are a lot less pricey than Times Square.
We 2 hours before check-in and although our room was not ready, the staff was very accomodating in accepting and storing our luggage. When we arrived back a few hours later, check-in was quick and our bags were promptly taken to our room. Our king room was large, with a good sized bathroom, wet bar area, walk-in closet and immaculate. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Throughout the stay the staff could no have been more accomodating from the front desk to those in Audrey's Cafe. Will definitely return here on another visit to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had stayed at this hotel several times when it was part of the "W" hotel chain so were concerned with possible changes under new management but decided to try it again based on recomendation of front desk staff who had remained with the hotel. We could not have been happier, once again. Our room was superb, larger than most with a spectacular view of the Empire State Building.

The hotel's location is such that it is a quick cab ride to most popular areas. And the very efficient staff can get you a cab in no time! There are great delis and a local Italian restaurant within easy walking distance.

And, they are pet friendly!

The best part of the St Giles, Tuscany I have to admit is the staff who always went out of their way for us and were readily available 24/7 with a smile and personal greetings.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed at St. Giles for a weekend vacation to NYC and loved our stay. Room was clean, very large for NYC, very reasonably priced, and an unbelievable yet quiet location. Grand Central Station is 2 blocks away and all of Times Square, Central Park, and Theater District is within a 25min walk. Lots of great food and shopping nearby. Would recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The complicated “St. Giles-The Tuscany New York” name shall never grace a chain of roadside motels throughout the U.S. unfortunately because behind it resides a very good Manhattan hotel. Location stands primary among the property’s attributes lying in short walking distance from Grand Central and therefore a Shuttle’s ride away from Times Square and the Theater District. Generous room sizes (for Manhattan) also make the property recommendable with fairly good ceiling heights and space for a desk and a lounge chair. Further, the black and white New York-centric photographs, which serve as a repeating motif through the common areas and rooms, make the St. Giles not just attractive but actually entertaining. You may find yourself wandering the hallways to have a look the next photo. At $213 per night with taxes, these charms don’t come cheap but the property was solidly 4 star. In our room, the only major denigration from this 4-star status resulted from aging and temperamental shower handles leading to a dripping “rain”-type shower head. Also, $16.95 represents a reasonable price for a month’s internet access but for one night not so much. If relief existed for someone on an extended stay, I didn’t see it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights, including Valentines. Location is excellent, a few steps from Grand Central and within walking distance of the Empire State Building, Times Square and all that Midtown has to offer. We had a room on the 9th Floor which was huge - warm, comfortable and very quiet, despite its location. The room was very modern with great amenities, my only criticism would be that the bathroom was a bit tired, with a few chips in places but it was still clean and functional.
Staff were friendly and courteous, they took care of our luggage on our last day and also arranged travel to the airport for us. I did request some coffee mugs on the first day (which were forgotten) but there are so many Starbucks nearby that it wasn't a problem!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel - emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center and for your convenience Audrey Cafe is available for all-day light fare. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tuscany - A St Giles Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.