We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of Europe on Park Avenue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Park Avenue, at 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early And Save
Ranked #247 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Touch of Europe on Park Avenue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Enjoyed a pleasant overnight recently at this compact-but-comfortable hotel, conveniently located in Midtown on Park Avenue. The decor reminds one of a European hotel. Very efficient use of small spaces. Friendly wine reception gathered many guests in the lobby at 5:00 pm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Concierge suggested a newly-opened English pub right around the corner, which was quite nice, great food, reasonable prices.
Rooms in the hotel are OK; newly decorated, but B+ on quality. Bathrooms are tiny but functional. All around, a reasonable value - I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, General Manager at 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Joseph L,

Thank you so much for such a regal comment!!! We hope to see you soon!!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    549
    208
    84
    40
See reviews for
246
509
103
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, wonderful service from all the staff. Arrived at 2:00 in the morning on the coldest day in 20 yrs and got a smile and fast efficient service when we arrived. Rooms are large for New York Hotels, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms had everything that you needed. If I returned to New York, I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, General Manager at 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Debbiewi,

WOW! Sounds like you got the Kimpton service and on such a cold day we're glad we could warm things up with some Kimpton love!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 for our honeymoon and could not have been more pleased. Prior to our arrival we had requested a room with the Empire State view, which we were given. On arrival we were greeted by very welcoming and continuously helpful staff, were nothing was too much trouble. We had read reviews about the rooms being too small, which I presumed for New York was standard, but our room was just the right amount of space needed for a change and sleep. Hotel location was good for us, a short walk to Times Square and down the street from grand central station. Highly recommend Pershing square cafe for an amazing breakfast which is just opposite the station. All in all we couldn't fault the hotel. All the things you want for a stay in the city were delivered and more. As it was our honeymoon we had various surprise treats left in our room by the brilliant staff, so if going for a special occasion make sure you let them know ;-).

Room Tip: Make a request prior to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, General Manager at 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Nicola W,

We're so glad we could make your honeymoon extra special!!! We hope you'll keep us in mind for many anniversaries to come!!!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I just arrived back from New york and think the Hotel Kimpton @ 70 Park Avenue deserve a review. On arrival the hotel staff was very helpful to us, our baggage had been delayed in Boston so we had arrived at the hotel with nothing. The reception supplied us with toothbrushes and paste and everything else to get us through the night.
Breakfast was good it was a continental and filled a gap. Kevin on concergie was outstanding he helped us with getting a bus out to Woodbury Common, ideas for dinner and just his local knowledge, and always with a smile.
Rachael also was very helpful in trying to locate our luggage on day 3 as it was still a no show. Dwight on reception could see it was becoming stressful he was so sweet and gave us a complimentry bottle of wine to take to our room and also on arrival he had upgraded our room and left us a box of cup cakes.
The room I could not fault, it was very spacious and the bed was so comfortable. the shower was fine and hot. If I had to be negative it would be just that the heating took a while to warm the room, but we arrived in -6 conditons in the snow storm so everywhere was cold anyway.
This Hotel has had some rather unfair reviews but our stay was perfect apart from British airways and American losing our bags. New York is the place to visit no one will be disappointed.

Room Tip: we had room 915 it was fine. Visit the memorial of the twin towers. Travel free on the Staten Island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, General Manager at 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
heaven710,

WOW!! Thank you so much for the great review! This is what we love to hear, that our Kimpton culture is being used to make sure that our guest have an amazing experience!! We're sorry about the airline losing your luggage, it's such an unfortunate part of traveling but thankfully Dwight, Rachel and Kevin were there to ensure your stay was flawless! I'll be sure to pass down your review to our staff!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a great hotel. Very warm welcome from all the staff who could not do enough for you. Kevin the concierge is absolutely brilliant, he listens to your requests then gives you options, he is not pushy and such a pleasure to speak with.
The foyer was bright with comfy seats, table top games were available. Always on offer was a choice of iced water, orange or lime. Then at 17:00 to 18:00 each evening there is complimentary wine and hot mulled cider with nibbles, this was always very popular and did bring guests together. There is also complimentary breakfast with unlimited tea or coffee top ups and a choice of cereal, pastries, yogurt and juice. This was enough to set you up for most of the day and allow you time to set off and explore the fantastic city of New York.
There is three lifts and they are reliable. The rooms are amazing, the bed in our room, 1107, was HUGE and really comfortable. We were lucky when we were there that it was unusually warm for December but it was nice and cosy. The bathroom was very clean and had everything needed, the shower was great with is something we always rate a hotel on.
Unusually there was no kettle in the room however on speaking to Kevin he requested reception put a coffee maker in the room, which was there when we got back from our day out.
We would certainly recommend 70 Park Avenue to one and all.

Room Tip: Can only comment on our room, 1107, which was on the main road side of the building and there a chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, General Manager at 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Val L,

Thank you so much for the great review and that shout out to Kevin! I will personally make sure he gets your comments!
We hope to see you again the next time you're in NYC!!

Safe Travels,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The first thing to know is that Hotels in New York are " something else" so do not expect the usual star value even if you are paying a lot of money for the room.
Thus being said, the hotel at 70 Park Ave fits into what I would call average to poor in another city and acceptable for NY. Two downgrading points are the minuscule lobby which works as lounge, ( very small) absolutely freezing cold in the winter Weather and with wind coming from the doors at all moments. Receptionists behind a small balcony wear wool scarves around their necks...but are smiling and kind. In fact the reception area is in a narrow corridor between 2 lifts, again a fixture we find in second class guest houses and not in expensive hotels...a pleasant note is that coffee, lemon scented water and, at certain times wine , are offered for free to guests. The second big downgrading point is the breakfast. There is no real breakfast room, just an adjacent coffee shop where you can seat Starbucks style" and get coffee , buns, orange juice, fruits snd croissants... No way you can order a normal breakfast here and this is really very disappointing. Apart from this, the rooms are quite nice, spacious with good beds and a nice decor. Bathrooms are really tiny and no shower gel on the amenities,which is strange. Location wise the hotel is ok, not really in the middle of action but close enough for shopping snd attractions. No restaurant on premises and the take away service they offer is awful so walking to eat is a must.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, General Manager at 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear lagartixa47,

First and foremost thank you for your feedback, we truly do appreciate it! We apologize about the chilly temperatures in the our lobby, we now corrected the the issue to make sure everyone is nice and toasty during this Arctic chill!

We also appreciate your opinions on the cafe/bar, it's something new to our hotel and all feedback is needed!

Hopefully we get another chance to change those feelings from mixed to love!

Happy New Year!

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Ive stayed at 70 Park a couple times. I like the Kimpton properties in general, the frequent guest program is the best for my travel style, and the location is great for my business trips off the train at Penn Station. Midtown, but off the high traffic times square area, its easy to get a lot of places from this hotel near Grand Central. Its clean, staff attentive and helpful but not overbearing, and the rooms are nice, small, but not necessarily by NYC boutique standards. The only real issue is the elevators. small and only 2 of them. not normally and issue, but that one was not working 2x during our most recent stay and we got passed by 3 times while it filled up on the top floors (we were on 9) while trying to check out. eventually carried our bags down 9 stories. we are healthy and had time, so it was ok, but just something to mention.

Green Features: kimpton is a leader in environmental awareness - towels can be reused, and the soap/ toiletries are gathered up and processed appropriately.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, General Manager at 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear NeedARest_Soon,

Thanks for being a Kimpton InTouch Member, we truly appreciate your loyalty!

We are so sorry for that inconvenience with the elevators, we were doing some maintenance work and it lasted longer than expected. Next time please free to call the front desk, our bellman are always there to help!!

We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Bill Babis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 70 Park Avenue, at 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 park avenue hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway where guests "live life well." Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This Kimpton Hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife, and the adjacent silverleaf tavern draws a lively, cosmopolitan crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 70 park avenue hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.