We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carter to your Saves list
Hotel Carter
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 459 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
“Bad choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel was very bad no service not clean room bad atmosphere there is no care of the stuff also there clothes not clean really it my last time to be in this hotel thanks for god I left this hotel without any aller

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    821
    1,225
    499
    1,037
See reviews for
710
1,011
228
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a bargain just steps away from the theater district and Times Square this could be for you. Just be forewarned of the condition. We knew pretty much what to expect and it was exactly as we expected. Think budget European Backpacker Pension, prepare yourself and you’ll be just fine. What I did have trouble reconciling was the shameless inattention to even the most basic of touches that could improve the premises dramatically. For the marginal cost of applying a coat of paint in the room and bathroom, the whole atmosphere would change. Other items difficult to overlook were: no blankets (unless you ask for them), obscenely dirty windows (there is a charming old-town view), highly questionable hygiene of the bathroom, inadequate lighting, and safety concerning the windows (a single wobbly screw jammed in the window pane “preventing” it from opening more than eight inches). I will definitely stay here again because we can spend more on shows! It is just a little disappointing knowing that with just a small effort and minimal investment, the owners could turn this into a sensational nostalgic experience. It seems clean and safe, but the lack of care and attention present poorly.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I read a lot of reviews about this hotel and I was so scared and was trying to cancel it. But im on a tight budget so I have to gamble my stay and I already booked it and no time to look for another one. Well, when me and my friend came back from Canada late at night, we were greeted with the guy from reception and his very nice , polite and helpful in every way. So we went to our room. Was old and tiny bug clean . So it doesn't bother us. Anyway what we stay for is because it's close to everything. And we're not staying in the hotel all day but we're always out and just come back during sleeping time at night. So for me it was average for the price I pay. And I'm happy.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't let this hotel's amazing location blind you! We stayed here literally to crash the night on a very impromptu trip and the price was unbeatable for a Times Square hotel. I guess maybe I've seen too much law and order, but we felt like there was a murder going on downstairs because of all the noises and screaming, plus the radiator was making the craziest banging noise and the rats crawling around must have been the size of small raccoons. I didn't even use the restroom. Went to the breakfast place across the street because it was so gross! After we got back, a few months later this hotel was featured in top 10 worst hotels in America! Seriously, staying at a hostel in Ukraine might have been less scary!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a hotel in Midtown, this is an incredibly cheap price. Which means you should lower your expectations of the rooms a bit. But it's New York - you won't spend much time in the hotel anyway. And though not particularly nice, the rooms are fine. It's a very old hotel and it shows. And there are no frills at all. But everything works and things are relatively clean. The location is amazing. I slept fine because I use earplugs - but it's essentially right in Times Square, so it might be a bit noisy for light sleepers. Basically, anywhere else in the world, I would not consider this a particularly nice hotel. But for that price, in that location, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great deal. If you’re looking for luxury, this is not it. But I got such a great price on this hotel in such a great location that I was really happy. I was a little nervous after reading some reviews but I was pleasantly surprised that it was a big bed, the room was clean and we had no issues. We tried to check in early but we were told to come back at 3 pm which is what we expected anyway so we were fine with that. The service was good and we were checked in right at three when we came back. It’s basically right around the corner from the subway station and about ½ block away from the Times Square area so you can find whatever you need. We could hear some noise from traffic but we turned the fan on and that helped a lot. Sure this place could use some updating but for the price and location, we were pretty happy.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We pay only for the location. Very close from the Times Square (2min), Broadway theaters (nexo street) and the Subway stations.
The rooms doesn't have a frigobar or a microwaves to prepare a quick meal ( they don't have breakfast), you have to pay for internet.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Address: 250 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Carter 1.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.