We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location in Action” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Carter to your Saves list
Hotel Carter
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location in Action”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Visited NYC with family on vacation lately. Since we expected to spend most of our time outside, we purposely booked this hotel, located right in Times Square, at 43rd street near 7th avenue, which is in the most convenient location and close to everything including restaurants, threatres, shops, etc. It is just 50m away and takes 2 minutes walk from Port Authority subway station or 100m away and takes less than 5 minutes walk from Times Square station. For such reasonable room rate with superb location, please dont expect much from the room. It is old, run-down and not so clean but the trade off is superb location and price. Recommend to those who want to explore NYC with budget concern.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter.! I was glad to read that your enjoy the location of the hotel. Thank you again and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    912
    1,362
    540
    1,074
See reviews for
780
1,124
248
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good budget hotel in great location!
Reached Newyork early in the morning, they had the room available so was checked in early (Kudos to them!). The room was less than ordinary, but we used the room only for sleeping :) The location is awesome!! Everything is at a stone's throw. Would recommend this place for anybody with a budget wanting to stay in the heart of Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
It is genuinely rewarding to read that you enjoy your stay at Hotel Carter Thanks so much for your review! We look forward to hosting your next visit New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The price was $527 for three nights, tax included. I booked it 4 days in advance, so I considered it very cheap in downtown New York.
However, the room was a complete nightmare. It had barely the space for a bed and a small TV table (which is old and damaged). There was no chair in the room. The air conditioning was loud and annoying. The headboard of the bed was not properly installed. The mattress made noise whenever I moved or turned. The blanket was thin with poor quality. Furthermore, the bathroom was small and smelly, with no ventilator. The windows were extremely difficult to open or close. No one took care of the bed (i.e. replacing sheets and blankets, etc). I felt like being punished for thinking there could be something "cheap" with reasonable value in New York.
Now despite the horribly small and untidy room, there is one plus of the hotel. It is located very close to the Time Square. In addition, it is 200 feet from the subway station. It is really convenient to get around the city.

Room Tip: Do not go for the cheap rooms, unless you can tolerate terrible room conditions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is the dirtiest and most grimy hotel I've ever been in.
No room service whatsoever. No soap, they didn't clean the room or change our sheets,
the beds were so disgusting, we slept with our clothes on.

Took off the pillow cover on one of the pillows, and noticed it was discolored. It looked like someone peed on the pillow and left it to dry.

The rooms are tiny, bathroom tiny and not clean, basic amenities you would expect aren't even provided. No TV to speak of, and the dresser in the room was right up against the bed that you couldn't open the drawers.

Do yourself a favor and spend a little extra money for a better hotel.

The only good thing about this place is its location. That's it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

For the amount of money I've paid, I was expecting a lot more from this hotel. It's not so cheap and the cost-benefit is not good. Sometimes you can find better hotels in that area for less. Watch that when you make a choice. The location is good indeed. Just by the Times Square. But the service, the cleanliness, the room itself are not good. The worst: Wifi is not free. You have to pay a fortune! That makes a great difference for tourists that need Internet all the time to make their schedule.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in high floors. You will get a century to take the elevator, always crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We frankly were hesitant to try this hotel as the price was certainly inexpensive, especially for NYC. However, we would not hesitate to use this hotel again. It was very clean (especially since we were notified ahead of time that rooms would only be cleaned - linens changed, etc. - every other day. While certainly not fancy, the room was adequate, bed comfortable, bath room had all amenities (soap. shampoo, etc.). For being situated on 43rd street between 7th and 8th, it was amazingly quiet (probably because the air conditioner was not, but it served to keep us cool and to provide "white" noise. The staff was endlessly helpful and cheerful and the staff at the door helped us with our luggage and to get a taxi (which one time included going all the way to 7th avenue and driving back in the cab himself!). The hotel was like a small United Nations; we rarely heard our own language. For us, this just served to add to the atmosphere (again, everyone was friendly, smiling, and obviously enjoying a good time in the Big Apple.)

Room Tip: wifi available. Try to get a room floor 10 or above. Never had difficulty getting an elevator (som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments and share some great information with others. We look forward to your return trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravatai, RS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Next time I will prefer to invest a little more and stay in a better hotel. This hotel has a great Location but no comfort. The bed is good but the bathrooms are old and the towels are a joke. They seem to be made to children. There is a severe problem in the morning for waiting elevators, that also are insecure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#343 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#264 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#380 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,675 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#296 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,253 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#284 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Address: 250 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.