We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Nice Staff & a Place to Shower/Sleep - That is ALL” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carter

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carter
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Location, Nice Staff & a Place to Shower/Sleep - That is ALL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If your goal is literally the cheapest room in the best location and you don't care about anything else AT ALL this hotel is for you.

Pros: Excellent price, excellent location, very friendly & helpful staff.

Cons: Outdated rooms, old beds, old sheets, old towels, AC that does not fully function, lots of noise coming from all over the hotel at all hours, poor quality housekeeping only every other day, absolutely no surfaces to set anything except one nightstand, no luggage racks, no light in the closet or hallway by the closet (had to use a flashlight to see our clothes), very little walking around room, absolutely no amenities included except soap and shampoo (coffee, WiFi, ice, luggage storage, safe etc are all extra). Be aware that you pay in advance - so if you get there and hate it you are out of luck because you have already paid.

Listen, this is a very bare bones hotel that is cheaper than anything else in Times Square. The location is fantastic but there are no creature comforts and nowhere to put anything - you will be tripping all over each other and your luggage during your stay. Also, just know that nothing at all is included in the price of the room. Be aware that it's directly attached to a "Gentlemen's Club" so for me personally I would not be comfortable staying there with my 11YO daughter. With that said, I did feel pretty safe and the staff was super helpful and accommodating. Again, as I said before if all you want is somewhere cheap in a good location with a bed and a shower and absolutely nothing else you will be fine. If you have any needs or preferences beyond that stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, particularly about the Hotel Carter Team. We take great pride in our people and feel strongly they are, hands down, our biggest asset. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    738
    1,081
    459
    1,001
See reviews for
626
920
209
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location of this "hotel" is amazing - turn right out the front door and you're in Time Square almost immediately. But this hotel is not for the weak stomach - trash in the halls, dirty rooms, dirty bathrooms, bizarre noises coming from other rooms, etc. I wanted to go out in NYC for the night - got this room for cheap - went out until 3 am, came back, slept fully clothed on top of the sheets, woke up at 5:30 am and drove myself back home. So... if that's what you're looking for, it is perfect. If you intend on spending any more than 10 minutes awake in the room, may be worth looking to spend more $$ elsewhere.

Room Tip: You probably only want to "stay" here if you are going to be out exploring the city all da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Please please don't stay here. There are so many other hotels in New York. Find somewhere else - anywhere else!!

The first room we were offered had water literally pouring on to the bed. The second room whilst dryer wasn't much better. There was mould across the bathroom and cockroaches in the hall.

The first night we stayed here I cried most the night unable to sleep it was that horrible!

We read the reviews before we went and ignored them thinking - "we aren't that fussy, can't be that bad". We were wrong! Don't make the same mistake.

On the plus side the hotel was so bad that it forced us to spend every hour out of the hotel exploring New York and the location is pretty great for that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a well-located hotel; the lobby looks like a good hotel but the rooms... are horrible! The room was little, there were two beds with old sheets. We spent two nights, nobody came to make the room. Can you imagine that?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is on 43rd street which is 2min from the Main Street at time square which is 42nd street. The only advantage is thT this hotel is v close to the Main Street ad the subway. The rooms v tiny. Rooms will be cleaned every second day . Towels and sheets can b taken from the reception. There is a 24hrs eatery right below the hotel which is another good feature. But there are many options so rather spend a little more and stay in a better hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter.! I was glad to read that your enjoy the location of the hotel. Thank you again and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Hotel Carter. My 1st time was approx. 30 years ago when I made a trip with my Mother. I remember then it was a great price hotel for being near Times Square and it still is. The only negative thing I remember from long ago was the ½ block walk on 43rd Street from the Hotel to 7th ave. being very sketchy. NOT now, there is the back of the Foxwood Theatre walking towards 7th ave. and walking the other direction to 8th ave. is the Westin Hotel. It is in an excellent location and safe to walk day or night. Hotel Carter is ideal for the tourist that wants to pay a reasonable rate for a fantastic location in the heart of New York City and is looking for a clean bed and a hot shower.
I always choose a hotel to meet my needs thanks to Trip Advisor. This trip to New York City was to explore and literally be out from morning to night enjoying what New York City has to offer. A great way to experience this was to stay at the reasonably priced Hotel Carter and taking the excellent Free Tours by Foot walking tours.
My stay at Hotel Carter from July 10-13th was a very pleasant experience. I did request when booking my reservation a renovated and quiet room. And I am pleased to say room 638 was all that I requested. When checking in William was very pleasant and mentioned if I should have any problems I should let him know. The room was clean. The double bed looked more like a queen size and was very comfortable. There was a nice marble looking desk and a mirror above but no desk chair. There was a sofa chair. There was a small round table with a phone on it. There was a floor lamp but the switch on it was not working. There is a ceiling light. There was a TV on the wall opposite the bed. There is a large closet but only 4 hangars. There are about 4 hooks in the closet. It was good enough for me. Note there is no clock radio in the room. The a/c worked fine and even when it wasn’t on, the room was not hot. The temperature outside was about 28 degrees Celsius. It could be because when looking out the window it was like a courtyard surrounded by walls of windows on every side. I guess this kept out the noise as I never heard any noise from the streets and maybe kept it cool from the hot sun. The bathroom was clean but very small. You get the bare essentials. A bar of soap, a small bottle of shampoo, a few small bath towels. I like bigger bath towels so I brought my own. There is a hairdryer. The shower stall was very small. I did have to let the shower run for 2 to 3 minutes to get the water hot. As mentioned before they only clean the room every 2nd day which is fine as the room was clean and they have an extra roll of toilet paper in the bathroom which should last for 2 days.
Check out is kind of early at 11am but you can keep your luggage in a storage room for the day for $5.00 per piece. Just take note if you check out very close to 11am you will have a hard time getting the elevator. There are 3 elevators but they will be packed and it will take time. Since I was on a lower floor someone suggested take the elevator going up and then come down because every time the elevator opened it was packed with people and suitcases. Otherwise any other time I took the elevator I never had a problem. I found anytime I asked anything at the reception front desk they were all very pleasant.
Great tips for breakfast near hotel on 44th street. If you need a fast on the go cheap breakfast check out Times Deli Cafe 158 44th street between 7th (closer to 7th) and 6th (Avenue of the Americas). Order and buy your food at counter. Can take out or sit at back of deli. I had a plain toasted bagel with cream cheese for $2.75 and a small carton of milk for $1.25. Or The Red Flame Diner 67 W 44th street near the corner across 6th Ave. Very reasonable and good but can be a busy restaurant.

Room Tip: Request Quiet Renovated Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service experience and it is great to read from our guest. We look forward to your return trip to NYC and of course be our guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great value on hotel, $149 per night., but parking for my SUV was $55 per night almost next door to hotel.
No ice,coffee maker,microwave, and no refrigerator.
Small room big dresser takes up a lot of space
You have to pay for wifi, per device to use in your room.

Room Tip: Book a tour. We used comprehensive tours and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Address: 250 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Carter 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.