We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Carter to your Saves list
Hotel Carter
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #376 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best location for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've stayed at Hotel Carter twice now and highly recommend it to the savvy traveler. Its right in Times Square and is a great value. You can walk out the door and restaurants, bars, theaters and shopping are just steps away. Don't expect anything fancy - this place is bare bones, no frills! But if you're on vacation, why would you want to spend much time in your hotel? This place is a great hotel for those who plan on seeing the sights all day and don't need a fancy hotel. I'd rather spend my money on other things! There's a 24 hour deli connected to the lobby and its a great place to grab a soda and sandwich while on the go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    881
    1,324
    528
    1,063
See reviews for
761
1,087
243
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Friends pick this hotel because of the price.
The location couldn't be better, central to everything. There is a sign at registration stating that you have 10 minutes to check out your room after that you will be charged for the night even if you don't stay. That sign alone says it all!!!!! Very old hotel, which doesn't bother me but it is a very dirty hotel and broken down. Smelly, dirty, bathroom door if you shut it, you had to get someone on the other side to let you out. No remote for t.v., phone doesn't work, dresser missing drawers, bedspread had very large holes,no washcloths, no soap. Overall the room looked like it needed a good cleaning. Didn't find any bedbugs and believe me we did pull the bed apart and look. You don't go to NYC to stay in the hotel room however it is nice to go back to a clean room at the end of a long day!!!!! Spend a little more money and you will be happier!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in for amenities and standards however the location does make up for it somewhat.
We stayed on the 8th floor, in the room was a very comfortable bed, small cupboard with 3 hangers, large marble topped desk (no chair) 2 old mirrors and a small shower room that suffered with mould / damp. The radiator only half worked and had been painted over so many times was as useful as a chocolate tea cup. This was November, Hurricane Sandy had just been and we were in the middle of a bad NE so we needed warmth in the snow.
Location, It is right on Times Sq really close to Hard Rock Cafe (about 50 yards max) and the subway network.
If your going to get nuts'd in a local bar want a short stagger home and not care where you sleep, this is great, anything else then look else where.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

After reading all of the reviews I was very nervous to stay here. I arrived and was pleasantly surprised! The price is so cheap for the amazing location, and the hotel itself is not bad at all. I made sure to ask for a renovated room and was given a single room (#1214) with a large king bed, flat screen tv (with 12 channels), a pretty clean bathroom, and most importantly, no bed bugs!! There was a big creepy closet that I just didn't use. And my bedding had some questionable stains so I just didn't use it. I was traveling as a solo 22 year old female and never once did I feel unsafe in the hotel, my room, or the surrounding areas. The only weird thing was my first night there I was awoken the next morning by a man down the hall singing very loudly in Spanish haha. But honestly, great location, great price, and relatively clean! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I got online to find a cheap hotel to stay in in NY. The room was a joke! It was very tiny,bed had stained comforter on it, smell was horrible, there was a giant hairball in the doorway of the bathroom. I have a video and would love to post it! Disgusting! Old and unclean!

Room Tip: Avoid this entire hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

my friend and i booked here because it was cheep and central. we then read the reviews on here and where terrified. needles to say this hotel is excellent the location is so perfect its untrue. bed was lovely and comfy (no bugs) for the price we paid we where so happy it has everything u need for a fantastic stay in new york. ok decor is a bit shabby but here it is simple u get what u pay for and this is more then value for money. ab come on ur in the big apple who wants to stay in a room or gives a crap that the carpet is old . its clean it central and new york is so great ull be so tierd from jet lag and sight seing u wont care less that the bed side table looks like it came from the antiquies road show. this place is ace its so fantastic value its untrue. oh and our room was toasty and warm. an just waking up everyday and being able to throw on any clothes an get a quick mourning cuppa whilst soaking up all the mourning atmosphere from the magnificent times sq on ur door step is priceless.

Room Tip: the little shop downstairs has great pastries and meals on the go was a local haunt for the nypd who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

my dream trip to the big apple was a birthday present from my family.The hotel was perfect ,ideal after a day sightseeing,hot shower clean bedding warm and welcoming staff,I would recommend this hotel to anyone.I read reviews when I came home I couldn't believe what some travellers were saying I'm sure they didn't stay in the same hotel!!!For goodnes sake is was a place to shower and sleep and very reasonable it was never going to be the Ritz,but it serves its purpose in a central location,well done to the staff for making my dream trip wonderfyul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Address: 250 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.