We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the films!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just like the films!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went to the Carlyle for my first trip to New York. My partner had been to NYC a few times but never to stay in somewhere like the Carlyle. It really feels like you've stepped into an old film with its elegant furnishings, beautiful 30s-40s interior and attentive service.

Our room was clean, stylish and comfortable with a fabulous view across Central Park. The shower was incredibly powerful,just what you need after a long trip from London. The plumbing was a bit dodgy sometimes but it hardly seemed to matter as there was hot water aplenty and wonderful Kiehls toiletries to enjoy.

A highlight was a visit to Bertleman's Bar which has a lovely demi-monde feel with its gorgeous painted walls and subtle lighting. Chris Gillespie added to the retro ambience with beautiful piano playing, even playing some Rogers and Hart at my request. I feel honoured!

Staff could not be more attentive or helpful. All in all a wonderful place to have as a base for exploring New York. I really did feel like an old movie star. Thank you. x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
On behalf of the entire hotel, I would like to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York. It thrills me to know that you enjoyed your stay with us from the attentive service to the ambiance and live music of Bemelmans Bar. I can only hope that we will see you again on your next visit.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    81
    45
    26
    20
See reviews for
104
178
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is our tenth or so semi annual trip to NYC and we have tried other hotels, but the Carlyle is a consistently gracious place to live for a week at a time, while also being a good value. Hotel management attempts to maintain a classic residential "feel", while making guests feel unique and pampered.

Room Tip: Request a room away from construction "zones" or HVAC systems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your continued support of The Carlyle over the years. It is always a pleasure having you with us and I look forward to welcoming you both back on your next semi-annual trip to New York City.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just another wonderful stay at this beautiful nyc landmark with outstanding service. We were upgraded to a larger suite with a grand piano which my husband loved playing! The breakfast buffet in the gorgeous dining room was delicious and we loved having drinks at Bemelmans listening to the incomparable Chris Gillespie.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us again on your recent trip to New York. It is always a pleasure! I’m thrilled that your husband enjoyed the piano in the suite. Did you know that all of the pianos in our guest accommodations were at one point played by Bobby Short?

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to your New York home-away-from-home.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our recent stay at this grand hotel lived up to , if not exceeded our expectations. Our superior king room was beautifully decorated, spacious, and surprisingly quiet. We slept in twice during our stay due to the peace and quiet in this oasis of calm, in the heart of the upper east side. Walking distance to exceptional dining, Central Park, and great shopping, but there is a car service if you want to wander a bit further afield. Thanks to Lori in Bemelmans bar, and Waldo the concierge who made our stay even more enjoyable with their wonderfully personal service. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I was beyond thrilled to learn that we not only lived up to your expectations but also exceeded them. I shared your comments with both Lori and Waldo, as well. Thank you for taking the time to recognize them both.

It was a pleasure having you with us, and I speak for the entire staff when I say; we look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlyle in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I came here after purchasing a TravelZoo dinner voucher. Typically, when purchasing one of these types of vouchers, I have gotten used to the restaurant short changing me on the amount that they offered. That did NOT happen here. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of choices I had for Appetizer, Entree, & Dessert. The wait staff was extremely courteous and I appreciated their making small talk with us and other tables (it showed they had personality). I ordered the Crab Cake and Lobster Thermidor. All I can say is WOW! The crab meat was so extraordinarily fresh, and the sauce that accompanied it was delectable. However, the Lobster dish transported me back to when I was a child and Thermidor was my absolute favorite dish to have at a local restaurant (that has since closed). I truly appreciate the dining experience here and look forward to coming again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for dining with us this past April. I am in complete agreement with you regarding our Crab Cake and Lobster Thermidor. I immediately shared your comments with our restaurant and kitchen staff, and they were just as pleased as I was to receive such complimentary words.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I've been to many hotels in New York. But this is the best.

Discreet, stylish and elegant. It's obvious to see why this hotel is favoured by celebrities.

The meticulous attention to detail is astounding. From the welcoming chocolates and champagne to celebrate our anniversary, to our beautiful room, we were treated like royalty.

But the best thing about the Carlyle is the people who work there. All its staff are wonderful. But its concierge is the best I have experienced at any hotel. Waldo and Dwight, take a bow.

One bad thing about our stay is knowing that every other hotel I'll go to in the future, won't match the standards of the Carlyle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Your kind comments have left me at a loss for words. Our staff prides itself on extending only the highest levels of service and hospitality. Therefore, I take great pride in sharing your comments with them, especially with our concierge.

Thank you for your support and I can only hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Carlyle in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel is outdated, dirty carpets,motel furnishings,unattentive staff,rooms smell old and musty,dirty curtains,creaky floor boards,furniture look like they came from thrift stores headboard was very dirty and i took a picture,tiny bathrooms .Waited in the bar for a drink 20minutes,waiter forgot what we ordered came back after 20min.This is not a 5 star hotel,Hardly ever a doorman in attendance.Unless you shell out $800 and up in a Tower room, it is a dump,compared to the Pierre for the same price room were we usually stay,do not recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I can only hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences and disappointments you experienced during your stay from the overall condition of your accommodation to the slow and forgetful service you received at the bar. It is simply inexcusable and I have reviewed your comments with our team who are addressing the issues.

We would be honored to speak with you more in-depth regarding your stay. You may ask for my office directly or reach out to our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi, at (212) 570-7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
(212) 570-7187
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Address: 35 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side – from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury – The Carlyle has become a “home away from home” for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 188 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan’s skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York’s posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as “Museum Mile.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.