We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have been staying at the Carlyle for years, and it never disappoints! It is the epitome of N.yC elegance. The staff welcomes you like old friends and is attentive to every need. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The entire atmosphere evokes an era of charm and sophistication. And of course, the location is superb!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for making us your New York home away from home. I am always pleased when The Carlyle is able to play a part in our guests’ lives.

We home to see you again in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    74
    40
    24
    19
See reviews for
97
165
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our first time staying on the Upper East Side. We found The Carlyle location to be perfect. The hotel definitely feels like Old NY, very art deco and exceptional well kept. The rooms are large for NYC standards and they have done a great job providing modern amenities (like enough outlets) in an old building.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different and suites on the South side are bright and cheery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently. I am happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and hope you enjoyed the Upper East Side neighborhood. I can only hope that we will see you again on your next trip to New York.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We checked in quite early at this charming and old-style hotel and were greeted with proficient courtesy and grace. No fuss and no 'sorry your room is not ready sir' attitude. They told us to wait about an hour for the room to be 'finished', and stored our luggage. We walked to a nearby cafe, called 'Ambrosia', not knowing that it is the top cafe in the City, AND, the most expensive too. $20 for 2 cups of coffee and a croissant! Ouch! On return to the hotel we noticed the neighbourhood is chic and genteel, unlike downtown. Yet, Central Park is just there! Strawberry Field as you walk into the Park. Magical. The heat was dissipated as soon as you enter the hotel lobby, leaving the world behind. This is a hotel with history and style that the modern ones can't emulate. Even the lift has a 'lift-man' controlling the wood-panelled 'machine'. Later I learned that some floors are occupied by 'residents'. Service was excellent and the room was spacious and well appointed. Branded toiletries are a treat and the power shower a bonus. The concierge was so charming he tried to book 'The Book of Mormon' for us, but sadly it was sold out for that week. He also gave us tips about shopping and the train tickets to The Hamptons, where we were headed that Labour Weekend. Hectic you can imagine, and he even tried to use his credit card to buy the tickets for us, but we decided to take a cab to Penn Station to buy them ourselves. All in all, a top establishment that will go on forever! Unlike other transient things, e.g fast fashion, fast cars and fast chain hotels!

Room Tip: Higher floors preferred although Upper East Side is really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to New York City in September. I passed along your kind words to not only the Concierge but to the entire staff as well. They were just as pleased as I was to receive such complimentary comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlyle, your ‘home-away-from-home.’

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I should have written a review long ago. The hotel stands right in center of the Upper East
Side, surrounded by good apartments and restaurants. It's only a short walk to the Met and the Central Park. Its bar is lively and caters for the residents of the fine neighborhood.
The service is up to five-star standards. The concierges are professional and enthusiastic.
But nothing beats the hotel's atmosphere. The 83-year-old establishment once served as the "love nest" of JFK and such connection between the hotel's old and new guests is truly memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Our staff prides itself on extending only the highest levels of quality, service and hospitality and I therefore, take great pride in sharing your very kind comments with them. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Carlyle for 5 nights and on the whole, the experience was a positive one. The best thing about the hotel is the location on the Upper East Side which makes it close to most things a tourist wants to do as well as being only two blocks from the green line (Subway) on Lexington. We loved the elevator attendants and in particular we loved Frank, an older gentleman who has worked at the Carlyle for over 17 years.

The there were only three downsides to our visit. The first was the shower. As an 'over the bath' style shower, it has a glass spray shield. However that shield was ineffective as after showering, toilet and half the bathroom floor were soaked. The second criticism was that the walls / adjoining door were paper thin so we could hear even the most casual conversation in the adjoining room. This made it frustrating when the neighbours came in late and/or were louder than normal conversational volumes. The last criticism was the pricing of food and minibar. During our stay, we choose not to dine at the hotel at all and much preferred the nearby 3 Guys Restaurant and Diner which is only half a block down Madison Ave.

Overall, while it was an okay experience, if we return to New York again I think we would 'roll the dice' and try a different establishment rather than blindly return to the Carlyle

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit.

We would be grateful to discuss this issue with you further if you would prefer – please feel free to reach out directly to myself at 212.570.7187 or via e-mail at giovanni.beretta@rosewoodhotels.com or you may contact our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi at 212.570.7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Here for Christmas it's a older hotel with quaint rooms and furnishings. Service is lovely and impeccable. Not cheap but a lovely location on the upper east side and one block from 5th avenue and Central Park. Lots of beautiful places within an easy walk. worth a visit for the experience... And the old fashioned service.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I speak for the entire staff when I say thank you for staying with us over the holidays. I agree that the hotel is the ideal location for anyone wishing to be near Central Park and Fifth Avenue. I hope we will see you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Despite the the fact that this is an older property that does not overwhelm in any physical sense, our stay there was memorable, and I would say singular, for its attentive but not intrusive service, and simple, wonderful elegance that made us feel amazingly comfortable and at home. It is the best staff I have encountered anywhere in the world, helpful, knowledgable and kind. The location is just right, and our youngest son will always remember the walk from the C to the Museum of Natural History through Central Park in the Snow. There are less expensive places to stay, and we certainly cannot stay at the C on consistent basis, but, for a time when you want things done the right way, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I would like to thank you and your family for recently staying with us. I have shared your kind words with our entire staff as I know they are just as pleased as I am to hear about memorable moments created while visiting New York City.

Sincerely yours,
Giovanni Beretta
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Address: 35 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side – from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury – The Carlyle has become a “home away from home” for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 188 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan’s skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York’s posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as “Museum Mile.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.