We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 457 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I didnt stay in the hotel, i actually live nearby but went to the spa for the first time yesterday. I have to say I have been to a million spas in NYC but this one took the cake. WOW

Service was 7 star if that was possible, decor is like youve stepped into an imaginary land. lobby was amazing.

It was the best massage I'd had in years. A bit pricy but worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for visiting Sense Spa! We are glad you enjoyed your experience at the spa. We are very proud of the beautiful rooms and some very talented therapists. I'll pass on your feedback to the team and hop you will come back and see us again.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review.

Adrian Norbury
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    71
    40
    24
    19
See reviews for
91
160
32
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a place where you truly get what you pay for. The staff are simply amazing. They always seem to know who you are, and no request is ever too trivial. All of the rooms are extremely comfortable, and views over Central Park are stunning. Simply the best hotel in New York

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I will be certain to let the team know as they thrive on feedback like this.

I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Adrian Norbury
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When i stayed at this hotel is was the best ever. Every day you got FIJI water instead of drinking tap water, they offer you there all and every night they come to open your bed up that is of course u want them to any how it was a wonderful stay there and i want to go back soon.

Room Tip: Every room is wonder full choose whitch ever on suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Carlyle.

We really appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Adrian Norbury
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Carlyle for nine nights in May 2010 having booked an excellent rate through Virgin Holidays.

This is a first class hotel offering an authentic, traditional experience. The public areas, in particular the Lobby with its immaculate black marble floors and Bemelmans Bar with its beautiful murals, are unique and worth a visit in their own right. Service is discreet, proper and quite reserved but without being stuffy or pretentious. In fact we were made to feel quite welcome and the hotel felt like home very quickly.

Our room (I think it was a ‘Classic Room’) was quiet, comfortable and very spacious with two walk-in wardrobes (amenities included the usual array of clothes hangers as well as a wooden clothes brush, full size shoe horn and golf umbrella) and a kitchen/private bar (fully stocked with top quality local products). Oak parquet floors were partially covered by a large, thick rug of high quality. Furnishings were antique but well-maintained with hardly a trace of wear and tear. The bed was large and extremely comfortable with linens, pillows and duvet of the finest quality. The bathroom was small but luxurious with powerful water pressure and excellent Kiehls products. Room service for breakfast was excellent as you would expect – superb coffee and croissants, beautifully presented.

The only criticisms I would make of the room are that it didn’t have much of a view (the courtyard isn’t very attractive) and a surcharge was payable for WiFi, although the connection speed was very fast.

A few problems occurred during our stay and they were handled competently by the staff. When we arrived at the hotel there had been an issue with the booking (Virgin had supplied incorrect dates) and a room had to be specially prepared for us. The receptionist escorted us to Bemelmans Bar where we were treated to a performance by a Jazz quartet and served excellent food and drinks on the house while we waited for our room to be prepared.

Unfortunately I was substantially overcharged at check out only to notice upon returning home. The accounts department were quick to rectify the discrepancy and compensated me for the loss I incurred due to a change in the exchange rate.

Overall this was a memorable stay in a unique, historic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed review of your stay. It appears we made a few slip ups for which I apologise, but it also seems we did manage to resolve the issues quickly.

We'll certainly share your comments with the team as they enjoy seeing feedback on our guests stay.

We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.

Adrian Norbury
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We held our wedding ceremony, reception and party at The Carlyle - the day before Sandy arrived. It was truly magic. All arrangements were perfect, the rooms looked gorgeous, the staff was incredibly helpful (i.e. they managed to find a seamstress at 11 pm on Saturday night to help us out with an urgently needed alteration for a dress) and all very caring.

During and after "Sandy", the hotel continued to provide outstanding service with staff members working round the clock, looking after the wellbeing of their guests.

Room Tip: 2209 is drop dead gorgeous, spacious and ideal for entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate you taking time to share your experience at The Carlyle. We were very proud our team made it in over the hurricane and tended to our guest's needs.

Congratulations once again on your wedding. We're so happy you chose to spend your special celebration with us.

Adrian Norbury
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at The Carlyle for a week at the end of August during the U.S. Open. My stay was absoultely wonderful. The hotel offers a true New York experience. Everything makes you feel like you are a resident in a high end apartment, not the guest in a hotel. The staff remembers your name, your room location & your preference for breakfast. Add to that rooms that make you feel truly at home & you've got a great hotel. Yes, the furnishings in the rooms do seem somewhat old-fashioned. The rooms are, however, immaculately clean & quite tranquil. I've stayed at lots of hotels in New York over the years. Some have been cheap & some have been ultra high-end. Without a doubt, The Carlyle was the most wonderful experience I have ever had at a hotel in New York. I would strongly recommend The Carlyle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
What can I say!

Such a pleasure to read you very kind review. Our team will be thrilled with your feedback..

Thank you for taking the time to write in.

Adrian Norbury
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My mother and I stayed here in March 2012 and had the most fabulous stay. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very helpful and friendly - greeting us by name in the lobby and at breakfast etc (I had the french toast which was delicious) I was afraid it was going to be "snooty" but it was nothing like that in the slightest. Our room had a lounge room, bedroom, kitchenette (which we didn't use) and bathroom. Yes the bathroom was on the small side but it didn't bother us in the slightest as it was partially expected staying in an older hotel. The room was clean, with beautiful furnishings.
Our most favorite thing to do after a big day walking through central park and lots of shopping was to sit in the bar and listen to the beautiful piano - great atmosphere and very attentive service (never had to remind which wine I was drinking and our table snacks never even got empty!) This alone is worth the stay - but certainly not the only great thing about this hotel.
Would stay again in a heartbeat if the budget allowed another trip and would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience something special in New York!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Carlyle and we are delighted that you had such a great visit. You certainly came a long way to see New York and so we are happy you enjoyed not only the hotel, but teh neighborhood shopping and our proximity to the park.

We will certainly share your experience with the team as they love to receive feedback from our guests.

Adrian Norbury
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Address: 35 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side – from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury – The Carlyle has become a “home away from home” for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 188 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan’s skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York’s posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as “Museum Mile.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.