We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 457 Hotels in New York City
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Sweet Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had a great two night stay at the Carlyle. We booked through Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts and were upgraded to a suite on the 10th floor when we checked in (Room 1020). It was a very spacious, elegant 2 room suite with 2 bathrooms and a teeny kitchen. The bed was very comfortable. The only drawbacks were no view to speak of and the bathrooms are quite small in this room. We had room service breakfast which was great though completely overpriced. A glass of oj for $11? Come on! Service was great-when I asked for a spoon through room service one was at our door in 1 minute. Not sure if we'll be back -there are so many great hotels in New York!

Room Tip: Ask about the view-our room had none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    71
    40
    24
    19
See reviews for
91
160
32
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This hotel is classic old New York yet quite affordable. The staff treat the guests exceptionally well without looking at you blatantly for a tip after every service provided. The bar is a gorgeous and the spa is small but luxurious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Carlyle retaurant is hailed as one of the last bastions of traditional haute cuisine.Whilst there were small glimpses of good food the overall experience is mediocre at best.The beef wellington was excellent but my daughters lamb was overcooked and indeed dried out.The creme brulee was not caramalised but burnt.The vegetables were soggy.
A dining experience is not just the food and this is were The Carlyle restaurant really fails-the staff were mostly snooty and reserved and we felt unwelcome from the moment we arrived starting with an unobserved/unacknowledged wait at the Maitre`d s plinth.
Save your money-there are far better restaurants in New York City.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleNewYork, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
I appreciate your initial e-mail to me and again please accept my most sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory experience during your recent dinner at our restaurant.

We have reviewed your constructive comments with our Restaurant Manager, as well as our Executive Chef, in order to prevent incidents of this nature from occurring in the future.

We take all feedback on the hotel and our outlets quite seriously and strive to improve our standards at all times. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (212) 570-7187.

Sincerely yours,
Erich Steinbock
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Great hotel with easy access to a lot of great spots for a tourist. Top notch service and beautiful rooms!! I will never stay anywhere else when traveling to the city!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My daughters and I spent three nights here in October. Usually I stay at the Surrey, but I thought I would give this hotel a try, because I heard they had renovated the rooms. The photos on the website looked amazing. I booked some sort of suite and they upgraded me to, I guess, a bigger one--and it was huge, no doubt about it. There was even a grand piano. Unfortunately, it wasn't that comfortable...or clean. The furniture was old and sparse, and it was too small for the rooms. The couch in the living room looked downright manky. Through the holes in the radiator covers (which were large and very visible from the couch) you could see big piles of lint and scuzz. The bed was lovely and the bed linens were absolutely first quality, but the lumpy brown carpet made the room feel old. And the bathrooms (two full and one half) seemed either old or improperly cleaned. There were lines of black (fungus?) around the caulking. Where are they hiding the beautiful suites pictured on the website?! Were only some of the rooms renovated? Did they run out of money and do a more thorough job on some rooms than others? And why have people employed full-time pushing elevator buttons when there is such a problem with cleaning and maintenance? That seems truly bizarre to me.

On the upside, the hotel has a great Upper East Side location, walking distance from the Met and other wonderful museums. The bar/restaurant is fun and very old New York. And the staff is sweet.

But this hotel can't hold a candle to the newer or more thoroughly renovated luxury hotels in the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed for three nights over Thnksgvg Day holiday. Wonderful old-style NYC hotel, top quality amenities (bed, soaps, etc etc etc) BUT . . . charging $15 per day for wi-fi access in a room costing almost $1,000 a night all in is too cheap for words. I think you simply have to adjust your expectations in NYC hotels. We thought we had and although we were taken aback at first with the tiny room (and especially tiny bathroom), we were won over by the top quality furnishings and the relative silence of the upper east side. The staff are almost TOO friendly (where do you see elevator attendants anymore, although I suspect they are required not so much as a luxury but more to keep the travelling riff-raff from running around on floors reserved for permanent residents). The view to the south from our 31st floor was almost worth the room price in itself, but as luxury hotels go, we have had more value for money at the Waldorf and the Standard, and the Peninsula in Chicago.

Unfortunately, elevators are also very tiny (old-style) and apparently don't have room for the usual luggage trolleys, so the bell staff sort of work in teams to move your luggage by hand - kind of weird and inefficient, but unfailingly polite and gracious. Also, the old walls are very thin, so that you can easily hear a normal conversation the the adjacent room (and when you share your floor with the sort of inconsiderate boors who ought not to be staying there in the first place and can't grasp the concept of considerate quiet at 0700 on a holiday morning, then you REALLY realize how thin the walls are, but you can't blame all that on the hotel.)

We might return for the location and the wonderful old-style class and charm, but we might also check out The Mark in the same location. Even though I didn't even use it - I had my own handheld - I was very irritated by the effrontery of charging extra for wireless in such an expensive hotel room but maybe The Mark is the same . . . ?

Room Tip: South-facing tower rooms offer wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in late september. The hotel itself is very beautiful. The rooms are very spacious and cozy. Everything about the hotel is trying to show it's class and it works. They even have men working in the elevator pressing the buttons for you (which I actually found annoying, especially since they only operate 1-2 elevators at a time instead of all 4 and sometimes you had to wait for the elevator a couple of minutes). The spa is nice. The location is spot on on upper east side and only few minutes walk to Central Park. The service level at the hotel is exceptional. This kind of hotel is perhaps not my first choice but I can understand why people like it. The biggest flaw was the sleep quality. Eventhough I was at the end of my floor I still could hear alot of noise during the night/early morning when people where walking to the elevators or their rooms. Considering how expensive the hotel is, not getting a good night sleep was a major let down.

All in all a nice hotel at a great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Address: 35 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side – from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury – The Carlyle has become a “home away from home” for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 188 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan’s skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York’s posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as “Museum Mile.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.