We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kojak Stayed Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #331 of 449 hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Kojak Stayed Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

And it hasn't changed much since...Entering the Bedford, conviently located south of Grand Central Station, the first impression is of wood paneling run amok. The very intimate, cozy, cramped, foyer with small, tight, limited seating area quickly gives way to two lumberingly slow coffin-sized elevators. The cascade of dingy browns and yellows is reminiscent of days gone by. The room was cold. Perhaps the AC permanently stuck in the window which let the 20 degree winter air fill the room, had something to do with it. The room was also smelly, which was due to the surfeit of restaurants venting into the inside of the block, in concert with that same free flowing ac. The room also showed signs of its 1975 renovation: abrasive vinyl bedcover, well-loved and slight crunchy rug, squishy plastic bathtub insert. The bathroom was nearly large enough to turn around in but would have been better suited to a half a person (vertical). The wifi was free, although painfully slow and weak. The door did a great job of creating a visual separation from the hallway while letting nearly all the sounds in. I did appreciate the kitchenette/wardrobe. There was also a flat-screen tv, from the time when big, tube tvs were made with flat screens: low def is kind of charming, perfect for watching Kojack.
A bright spot in an otherwise drab setting: the staff was very polite and always helpful, in spite of having to make do with a "vintage" booking, and filing system.
I do not recommend the Bedford.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    397
    186
    57
    43
See reviews for
221
229
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a 1 bedroom suite in July. It was very clean and the staff was very kind and helpful. There is a deli nextdoor that we ate breakfast in nearly every morning. We walked to all our attractions. The hotel was located close to so many things. I would recommend this hotel for just about everyone.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My first trip to NY. Went with 4 girlfriends and pleasantly surprised with size of 1 bedroom suite sq footage for NY. Great location - close to Grand Central Station. Older hotel, dated décor but clean and centrally located. Great place if going with a group. Elevator teeny tiny and gets a little claustrophobic feeling when many jam on and window air conditioner loud but I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Room had view of Chrysler building :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a full schedule in for a NYC weekend, so we literally just slept & showered here and we were out the door. It was a relatively budget-friendly hotel (for NYC). Great location for us as we hoofed it all around NYC.
I would say it met it's 3star rating; I didn't have high expectations. I can't do much on comparison front as I don't spend much time in NYC hotels. Sure the hotel could be modernized and sure it would cost more money, I suspect.
If you plan to spend more time in your room and care more about high end appearances, I would say look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, QLD, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I travelled solo and stayed here for 3 nights on the end of an night stay in New York City. This was a very welcome change. I had a beautiful room with everything I could have possibly needed. The room was a great size, very clean, and I had a full kitchenette. The onsite restaurant is very convenient and Blooms Delicatessan next door is also fantastic. Grand Central Chrysler Building are virtually on your doorstep, New York City Library and Times Square just blocks away, making this a great location.
I had a late afternoon flight out and was very kindly offered a late checkout, a huge help with 20hours flying ahead of me.
Staff were friendly and helpful
I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Family holiday to new York with 3 teenagers. I had checked a lot of hotels in the New York area, and we were on a tight budget. This was by far the best value and I was very glad I booked it. Had requested a low floor because one of the party has a fear of heights. We emailed the hotel in advance and were given a suite on the second floor. Plenty of room, we had a bedroom with twin beds and a living area with three sofa beds. Hotel really clean. The location is fantastic and a very easy walk to 5th avenue. Loads of places to eat nearby. Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed at the Bedford recently with three children- one baby and two teenagers. We were allocated a family room which was like a small suite with a separate bedroom area with huge bed, plus a sitting room area with two separate sofa beds. The concierge brought a travel cot for the baby plus extra sheets and a pillow.
The bathroom was lovely with a great shower, loads of towels and toiletries.
There is a little kitchenette which was great for making a coffee and sorting out milk for the baby.
The hotel is traditional and kind of no frills but we really liked it. The lifts are slow but they are practically the only thing in NY that is!
The concierge was particularly lovely and helpful- sorry, we didn't get his name.
There is a little reception area with loads of information etc and they'll store your luggage for you, no problem.
There are diners nearby for a great breakfast. We used the bagel place just round the corner and Desi Shack for dinner, which was great.
A great location, near to the Chrysler Building, Empire State Building and Grand Central Terminal.
Would recommend and would return.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 118 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style boutique hotel, traditional style - Just east of Park Ave, near Grand Central Station -Walk to United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel New York City
Hotel Bedford New York
Bedford New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.