We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“group visit to NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“group visit to NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We visited this hotel with 10 people, everybody was very pleased with the quality and service. Only one remark about an unfriendly (night) operator !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    409
    191
    63
    46
See reviews for
245
248
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location a short walk from the amazing grand central station & near the chrysller building too. It is a little pricey but that's because of where it is. Our rooms were on the 5th floor 2 of us had a suite with a living area, small kitchen space, cupboard then a bedroom with 2 single beds another cupboard & an adequately sized bathroom, & a tv in the living area & bedroom. The other room had a large space with 2 double beds, small kithchen space, cupboard & bathroom, both rooms were kept very clean. The Pershing square across from grand central is great for breakfast.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

After contemplating many hotels we finally settled on the Bedford. It is very average and I believe overpriced. Nice sized rooms and good location but that's probably all its got going for it. Stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The beds were just terrible. We all had backache! Had to walk through the bedroom to get to the bathroom which was hopeless when one of our party goes to bed early and the other 3 of us had to fumble our way in the dark just to brush our teeth. Grand Central Station is very close which was a bonus as we used the subway to get everywhere. Sorry to say I cannot recommend this hotel and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at the Bedford for three nights 24th to 26th April 2012. We had a standard room on the 8th floor. Room was fine but bathroom could do with a makeover but it was very clean. Our room was quiet and had a view of the top of the Empire State Building. The location was great, two minutes from Grand Central Terminal and in easy walking distance of practically everywhere. Blooms Diner on the corner was great for breakfast, good food and fast service. Would stay there again, good value.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is located a few blocks away from Grand Central station. The area is fairly quiet and safe. We took a shuttle bus directly from JFK and it dropped us off on the corner of Park Ave and 41th St...minutes away from the hotel. The location is superb for business and pleasure. There are many fine restaurants around the area and we had no trouble sleeping at night even though our room was on the 4th floor facing 40th St.

WIFI is offered free throughout the hotel, but I got the best reception in the lobby. There is a restaurant connecting to the hotel but we did not try.

I was impressed by the size of the room. It was large by NY standards. I noticed the room was renovated. There was also an ancient electric stove and microwave in our room.

The only thing that bothered me was the mattress. It was lumpy and uncomfortable.

The service attitude was not the best I experienced but they were able to deliver my requests with late checkout.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was in great location but the rooms were quiet gross to say the least. In our first room we had there were 2 tiny little single beds and the comforters were very dusty and then to make matters worse we had what they call (water Beatles) running around the floor. The staff made it sound like it was no big deal I thought otherwise. Switched rooms right away it was a little better in major need of renovations, ended up sleeping on the pull out couches as the beds were not up to my standards(which are not very high I might add). They is was a 3 star hotel I have no idea where they got that from. I was not impressed with my stay here and unfortunately would not recommend to anyone.
Pictures on the website are very deceiving as well.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The room was large, comparing to Manhattan, but the maintenance level was very bad. The bathroom door could not close, the stove did not work and the mattresses were so old we could hardly sleep on. The air condition was so noisy, we turned it off for the noise, woke up for the heat and turned it on and vice versa.

The location is great. Few blocks from everywhere. You can walk to the Empire State building, times square, the UN headquarters and the Rockefeller center. A cab would cost you less than 10$ to any other Manhattan attraction, so don't bother to use the underground (the nearest station is two blocks away, but very large one and you can walk there for too long).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 118 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style boutique hotel, traditional style - Just east of Park Ave, near Grand Central Station -Walk to United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel New York City
Hotel Bedford New York
Bedford New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.