We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in Soho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY SoHo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY SoHo to your Saves list
SIXTY SoHo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012 (SoHo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Diamond in Soho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

60 Thompson is a great hotel. The rooms, while small (most hotel rooms in NYC are small anyway), are well appointed and comfortable. Each room has a nice flat panel television, a comfotable bed, and an excellent bathroom. My only complaint is that rooms are given out based upon when you checked in (unless you reserve a suite); therefore, you could feasibly get stuck in a smoking room...but it is not that bad.

One of the best features of this hotel is its bars. The rooftop bar is absolutely fabulous!! Unbelievable views and great drinks. As they say...it is "the place to see and be seen." Try their mixed berry Mohito.

Another benefit of this hotel is that it is centrally located in Soho. Bars and restaurants are at your fingertips.

The staff is very friendly. They helped me out with a variety of issues.

I would definately stay at this hotel again. I had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    240
    98
    44
    42
See reviews for
64
223
65
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

We live in NJ and stay in the city from time-to-time to get some time away from the kids. We usually stay at a different place each time, Soho Grand, Righa Royale. This was the first time at 60 Thompson. We paid $299/nt for a King Deluxe (room #83)...

Room was of a decent size (for NYC "boutique) with enough room for a sofa with coffee table, lounge chair and work desk... Great bathroom (though no bath tub). Good size and very clean. Overall, everything was super clean and well kept...

Staff was great. Professional, courteous, yet approachable and "real". Not pulling a muscle to push that 'elite' vibe...

Location is perfect. In the middle of SOHO on a quiet block...

Both the restaurant (Kittichai) and 2nd floor bar were top notch. Restaurant was actually very reasonably priced, can't say the same for the bar, but both delivered great experiences...

Overall, we will stay there each time we go to the city. I was just very comfortable with every aspect of the stay. Unlike lots of boutique hotels nowadays that deliver an inconsistent experience, 60 Thompson pulled it off...

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

Stayed for a long weekend in a deluxe king size room and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. We arrived early and found we could check in without delay. Our room was of a good size for New York and the only small criticism was a couple of cigarette burns on the carpet. However, everything else was of a high standard with a smart bathroom and the bed was extremely comfortable.
We had reserved a table in the hotel restaurant for our first night and this was confirmed to us on check in. The meal itself was excellent as was the service. In fact we found the service to be second to none throughout our stay from all of the staff and could not fault this at all. At night we came back to the room to find the bed turned down and a plate of miniature pastries and brownies, together with bottled water and ice, left for us.
The two bars in the hotel, the Thom Bar and Rooftop, were both great and we spent most time in the Thom Bar which was always busy with a cool vibe. My wife also took a particular liking to the Lychee martinis which are something of a speciality here.
All in all we had a great stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

My fiance and I stayed 2 nights in the 60 Thompson in the last week in May 2006 and it is definitely the place to be.

We stayed in a deluxe double which was comfortable and clean with a massive flat screen TV, fully stocked mini bar and some lovely toiletries in the bathroom.

The hotel has a guests only, roof top bar which has some fantastic views over the Manhattan skyline. You can clearly see the Empire State building and watching the sunset from here is truly idyllic.

The hotel is slap bang in the middle of Soho which is teeming with trendy bars, resturants and boutique shops. It is also within walking distance of the Spring Street subway and Broadway and the shopping is great so have your credit card handy!

This hotel, however, will always have a special place in my heart as my boyfriend chose the hotel's roof top bar to propose to me. The hotel staff, who were in on the secret, were great. They brought champagne and generally treated us like royalty. We finished our evening in a small resturant across the street from the hotel called the Country Cafe. The lady who ran the place was lovely and when she heard our news, she promptly brought more champagne!

The concierge service downstairs was invaluable as after a hard days shopping, you can forget wading through the guide book for a nice place to eat. They can recommend some great local places and fill you in what's happening locally. They also helped us out with transport back to the airport.

The hotel also has its own resturant but we did not eat here. It also has a bar called Thom which is open to the public and is supposed to be very highly rated (we didn't actually go as we spent our evenings on the roof top.)

No breakfast included in the price but there are delis a plenty in the local area and a great pizza place, Ben's Pizza, at the top of the street.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in New York and a fantastic stay at 60 Thompson, I can't rate it highly enough! The staff were great and very helpful, and our room was fantastic, and ready for us when we arrived on Thursday morning. We had dinner at Kittichai on our first night (try the chocolate ribs!) which was delicious. We had never been to NY before and the location of the hotel was so perfect, close to all the great shops and some fantastic restaurants. We can't wait to go back to 60 Thompson and are hoping to make it an annual event, we really wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

I have to admit that I was a little turned off by the fact that we had to wait for our room to be ready (at 6pm at night), and being told that we were being given a free upgrade which turned out to be false. Add to that we had a room that smelled like smoke all night long (it was a non-smoking room but must have been beside a smoking room), and I probably wouldn't go back to this hotel for it's price (nearly $400 Canadian with taxes).

All the bad out of the way now, I have to say this hotel has got it all if you don't mind the price. The rooms are incredible. We love the flat screen tv, comfy bed, and stylish bathroom. The lounge is so hot and trendy we felt like celebs having some pre-dinner appetizers and drinks. The food, by the way, is out of this world there too!! Breakfast in the restaurant was top notch. Can't complain about atmosphere, location (soho!), nor the food.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

Excellent concierge team.

Rooms a little shabier this time round. A non- matching and badly marked chest of drawers seemed at odds with the design focus to which the welcome pack alluded. Maintaining the design focus is a challenge which needs continuing investment and it is not clear whether this is recognised.

Returning to the room at 2pm and after 4pm to find the room unmade was disappointing. Reception seemed surprised I found this substandard. The only staff visit to the room was to check the minibar which seemed a misplaced service priority. Having a room prepared before dark does not seem an excessive requirement particularly when vacant since early morning.

The fact that I have not received a reply to my note to the manager makes me question whether feedback is valued or whether it is perceived to be important to say that it is.

At just under 500USD per night it could have been better. The reviewer who paid 200USD got the bargain.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY SoHo

Address: 60 Thompson Street, New York City, NY 10012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trailblazer in the boutique hotel world, the streamlined SIXTY SoHo-cobblestoned blocks from the NoLiTa, Chinatown, and TriBeCa neighborhoods-is at once Bohemian-chic and luxuriously sophisticated. Nestled in downtown's most stylish district, famous for its pedestrian-friendly culture-and-retail scenes, SIXTY Hotels's flagship has become the place for savvy locals and international travelers to liaison in style, whether its meeting over craft cocktails in the understated Bar, taking in the surrounding cast-iron architecture at the al-fresco guests-only Above SIXTY SoHo 60 rooftop lounge, or slipping into mood-evocative restaurant for romance and cuisine. Kittichai is now closed. A new restaurant debuts in Winter 2015. All guestrooms recently renovated. SIXTY SoHo is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
60 Thompson New York City
60 Thompson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY SoHo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.